Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Crows Nest Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Crows Nest Caravan Park Reviews

Crows Nest Caravan Park
Gristhorpe
Filey
Scarborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO14 9PS
Tel: 01723 582206
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: Tourers 50 - Tents 200
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 222 Reviews
                7/10 from 222 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 10 miles   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  222 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Melltracey 1 review from this member

Just returned from 3 night camping (tent) this is our 4th year had fab time, ticks all your boxes.

Kids loved the play area. Plenty of room to play football and cricket.

The campsite very clean and tidy, the showers had constant hot water, although toilets and showers very dated.

Shower cubicles quit small. For tent users could do with another toilet on camping field if you camp near the top sea bit can be a trek. Shop well stocked.

Campsite had lovely atmosphere at tea times kids playing bbq, s going a very family friendly site. Will be back next year.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Susantez 2 reviews from this member

Just back from a long weeks stay here with friends in their touring caravan,

On arrival checking was a simple process and we were given a map of where to pitch our caravans, we booked last minute and they still managed to put us in pitches next to each other.

We were at the top of the site which seems to be quite new and with a new toilet block,

The size of pitches was ample but could of been further apart we had a corner pitch that gave us a bit more room than others, the pitches are level and on hard standing so take your rock pegs and they were fully serviced with water, EHU and plug in waste if you have that sort of thing and there is also a tv aerial point too.

The toilet block was clean and tidy most of the time however at the start of the bank holiday weekend it slipped in standard but was soon cleaned after just a short time, more the fault of careless campers and not the staff,

The site is a good base for all the local attractions and there's a good bus service just at the entrance, there is a pub down the road that served nice food just near the main island before the site.

The only downside to this site is we were at the top of the site next to the tents and the noise was quite loud even late in to the night with people shouting and playing music, this didn't bother us to much as we were in a caravan but if we were in a tent then I think I would of lost my temper with a few people,

The club house seemed ok though we only went in one night to watch boxo the clown who was really entertaining for my 6 year old boy (he loved it)and he was on for at least 2 hours, we used the swimming pool on one rainy day costing 2 each and was worth it, not a massive pool but still ok for little ones.

The on site chip shop was good and the portions were big enough to fill your tum!

Would of been nice for the club house to serve food but they don't (might be an idea for them to do this in the future)

All in all this is a large site that is family friendly and gets busy but is in a great location

We would use it again

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mks19710 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 3 night stay which should have been 4 nights but we just couldn't stay another night. On arrival we were explained where to pitch on a map, we were then told to just look for a space with an EHU and pitch there.

When we drove down to the area we could not find anywhere to pitch until we went down a very small road and found somewhere behind another tent (allocated pitches would be handy). We were then told by our neighbour that they were using our hook up point because they had reported that there's was not working but no one had been out to look at it, they then complained again and it was sorted.

We were pitched opposite the play area which I must say was very good for kids and very safe, the only problem is there is no 10. 30 quiet time on this site and there were kids still on the swings at 2. 00 am, this made it not a quiet site at night.

The shower blocks were dated and grubby, the toilet doors were covered in graffiti with the seat lid on one was snapped in half and also the locks were broken and often had no toilet roll. In the ladies there was no proper lighting as it just flickered, the hooks on the shower doors did not hold anything so the things fell on the dirty floor. There were empty beer cans left on the window sills much like there was litter all over the site really.

The disabled shower in the ladies did not work properly the water had just trickled out.

The drinking water stand pipe was right next to the waste bins so that was not very inviting and the were bins were always overflowing.

The site itself where the the static vans were was very clean and well looked after but the touring tent area was stuck down the back and this needs addressing as it is the people in tents that need cleaner facilities than most others in statics.

The positives we can say is that the shop was well equipped, the fish shop served nice fish.

North Yorkshire is a beautiful place and this site is situated well for Scarborough, Whitby, Robin Hoods Bay, Filey and Bridlington.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lesley501s 3 reviews from this member

Just had a fantastic 2 nights at the Crows Nest, we had an electric tent pitch which are all located round the children's play area. Our 2 children (ages 4 and 2) loved it, we could happily sit in our tent and watch them play it was great.

Just a little noisy at night when trying to put our young children to bed but what can you expect people are on holiday. On the Saturday on arrival it was quite windy so we were glad we located around the play area as it is a little lower than the main tent field nearer to the cliff. Thankfully our tent made it through the night but did wake a few times.

Facilities are fine, they are clean but not 5 star but they serve there purpose. Did not use the showers so can't comment just felt they were a little too far away especially if you were in the upper tent field, but this would not put me off.

Just had one occasion at the pot washing where there was no hot water and only 3 sinks so could get a little busy.

We did use the pool which only cost 2 per adult and under 5's must be free, it was great only us and 2 other girls in, it is small but our children loved it great value for money.

We also saw the magic show on Sunday night which our children also thoroughly enjoyed. Did not want to come home we had a great time.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Millie-06 8 reviews from this member

We stayed here for two nights at the end of July, we were lucky enough to get pitched alongside the hill near the washing up sinks and facing out onto the camping field as this area was more sheltered -

this campsite lets you pitch wherever you want so its good if there are a few of you going together but not so good if you get a large group next to you and can be quite noisy, although all seemed quiet by around midnight when the various groups or individuals turned the music off or down.

Before then it seemed like a free for all with different types of music booming from different directions.

It was quite a walk to the toilet block and this site would definitely benefit from a new block being built on the tent field which is so big it would hardly take any space up, also although cleaned out at least 3 times a day this couldn't help disguise the fact its outdated and smelly.

We started using the block on the tourer section as this seemed a bit nicer. The playground was very good and shop seemed well stocked although cant comment on the other facilities as we didn't use them.

We shopped at Morrisons which is 10 minute drive away or there is Tesco in Filey.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jill24 2 reviews from this member

First visit to this camp site with my husband and two children aged 8 and 9. It will certainly be the last visit!

The Toilet/shower block was very dated and very dirty. The rubbish bins were over flowing, and there was no hot water at the pot wash area. The camping area was very over crowded, generally I don't think they could cope with the volume of people.

Rubbish littered on the ground, even empty shampoo bottles etc just left on the shower floors! I know that this isn't the owners fault, but it needs addressing.

On a positive, the camp site has wonderful views, and a great play area for the children, however so do other camp sites. So I will not be going back.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Michelle11 2 reviews from this member

This is a quiet site. The chippy is good, as is the shop. The staff are friendly and polite

On the downside the shower block is awful, the showers are either boiling hot or freezing cold, I wouldn't let my kids use them

The rest of the camp is nice, also there is no baby changing facilities.

The entertainment was ok, the kids enjoyed the magician

The pitches are ok, a little cramped but the site wasn't full, so we still had space

The camp is in a good position for visiting Scarborough and Filey

There's a petrol station nearby and the circus is within walking distance

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Biker7921 2 reviews from this member

We arrived to a very 'cold' reception but proceeded to the pitch of our choice within the campervan area. We weren't told as we arrived the on site shop, albeit quite well stocked, was only open from 0830 till 1100 each morning, the on site bar opened at 1930 till 2300 for one of our 2 night stay, the other night it was closed, no explanation, just a note in the window,

the on site swimming pool did not open, neither did the on site fish and chip shop or the burger van that was also on site.

We chose this site for it's amenities as I am on crutches therefore cannot walk very far and my wife wanted to be able to walk the dog, go for a swim, go to the bar, get some food without cooking and generally relax in an environment that I could amuse myself.

As it turned out she had to look after me more than usual or leave me in our van alone.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Angads 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 3 nights over the weekend for my sons birthday. There were 4 of us with 2 tents and they let us pitch where we liked because they were not busy.

Camping site very well kept and clean. Toilets and shower blocks were clean as well. My son loved the play area which kept him amused for a while.

Turned up to the clubhouse to see sat nights entertainment, to be told they had been let down and there was no entertainment, not the owners fault I suppose.

Didn't use the on site shop, the chip shop was o.K.

Short driving distance to scarborough, filey and bridlington.

View out to sea from campsite is amazing.

Definitely would return again, only hope for better weather next time.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Brownie1 1 review from this member

Crows nest is a lovely clean,well kept park and during the day is quiet although can get noisy at pub closing time.

We stayed in a static caravan not rented from the site and it was a lovely homely caravan.The children's play area is safe from cars and dogs are not allowed on it although children do need to be a bit streetwise to play on it as some of the children are a little rough.

The shop is decently priced and well stocked although we didn't personally think much of the fish shop the burger van on site is much tastier.The swimming pool is clean and warm.

Although we were in a static one of the kids wanted to use the toilets whilst we were in the laundrette but decided against it as they were dirty.

The cliff walks are refreshing and good if you take your dog.

Beautiful views of scarborough from the cliff edge.

Previous     222 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Scarborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4348 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019