Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Barnard Castle > Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Dockenflatts Lane
Lartington
Barnard Castle
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL12 9DG
Tel: 01833 630228
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01/03 to 02/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 110 Reviews
                9/10 from 110 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  110 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Leonadas 3 reviews from this member

 Just got back from 2 night stay at this site. Quiet and friendly. Can only state what others have already said about the facilites and staff - 1st rate. Although not cheap at £21.00 per night. Great walks within easy reach of historic Barnard Castle and Bowes museum,well worth the effort. Not a lot for older kids but younger ones liked small safe play area. If you don't like horses stay on the site, theres millions of them everywhere! The site staff are quite strict about noise after 11.00 but that seems reasonable and they were very pleasent with it. All the other campers were also friendly, all in all a good site. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: AD36 3 reviews from this member

 A lovely site in beautiful unspoilt countryside.  Excellent and spotlessly clean facilities, including dish washing area;  laundry; mother and baby room; electric hookups; some hard standing pitches and a dog walk. 
 
Friendly Site Managers who take pride in the site.  Not a large site, but split into different areas by hedges, small play area for children near the far end of the site, where families with children appear to be pitched, away from the traffic, although near all facilities.
 
A good walking and cycling area.  A walk directly from the site goes to Barnard Castle which has a wide variety of shops. 
 
Plenty of places to eat out, we had a very good meal at the Fox and Hounds in Cotherstone, we went mid week when it was fairly quiet, and judging by the number of phone calls we overheard, sounds like you need to book a table if you want a meal there at the weekend. 
 
One of our favourite sites, which we return to regularly. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Anorak 11 reviews from this member

 A fantastic site. The wardens were very friendly and helpful. The site is level and well spaced out. We stayed midweek so it was fairly quiet but as we left on Friday, it was beginning to fill up quickly. The toilets and showers were spotless, as was the washing up area.
There are loads of lovely walks all around, and the town itself is very quaint. There is a rookery on the trees near the site so you get an early morning wake up call for free too!
One of the best sites we have stayed at for getting away from it all, lovely.
 


Date of Visit: March 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Sahara 17 reviews from this member

 From the minute we got there the management were very friendly and helpful.  One of the managers walked around the site with my husband to see which pitch would be the best for us.  The manager pulled our FC onto the pitch for us, as we were newbies.  He helped us put up our awning and lent us a rug as we realised that there was no groundsheet, so that we didnt get mud in the camper.  He was brilliant.
The site itself was very clean, and had hedges to make it more private.  The toilets where very clean and stayed like that all weekend.  The showers where great.  There is a shop on site. 
We tried to book on this site for mid April but was fully booked, which I think speaks volumes for its popularity.  We will be going back 


Reviewer: Sara Whitfield 3 reviews from this member

 May 2005
We were first time campers and the site was great. Very quiet and relaxing. Facilities were fantastic. Great showers and loos, exceptionally clean. People on site very helpful and friendly. Small park great for our 3 year old son. Nice to see kids enjoying themselves at all ages. We will be going bak wothout a doubt! Thanks for a great weekend! 

Advertisement

Reviewer: Welsh598 1 review from this member

 March 2005
This was our very first time camping, and although the weather was very poor, we really enjoyed it. The facilities on site were to a very high standard and the staff were excellent and very friendly. We will definately be visiting again. Highly reccommended! 


Reviewer: Andy D 9 reviews from this member

 Mid July 2004
This site is quite isolated. However, Barnard Castle is just a drive down the road though and loads of little shops to browse in. If you want a relaxing time please visit. I visited with 3 children under 7 though only 2 swings and 1 slide they were very happy. The showers and WC are first class, piping hot water and very clean. The Wardens are very helpful as you would expect from the C & CC. For drives out to other little towns, walking and visiting High Force GREAT. All in all I hope will be there again this year.  


Reviewer: Simon+Andrea 1 review from this member

 July 2004
A nice quiet site to relax.

After buying our first tent the Father-in-Law asked if we would go camping with them.
As they were already "Camping and Caravanning Club members" they picked this camp site as it was not too far from home for our first weekend camp.

The site was great to get away from the hustle and bustle of town life.

On the whole the site facilities (which are very clean) made this a gem.

We are now members and will return to this site in future. 


Reviewer: john&lynn 8 reviews from this member

 June 2004
Excellent site to get away from it all. All pitches are level, toilet facilities etc superb all in one block, very limited childs play area, one slide, 2 swings and not much room to kick a ball round.
Very isolated up narrow track, nothing else there except riding school next door, no pubs in immediate vicinty or shops, most are 2 to 3 miles away.
Site reception sells ice cream and the odd pint of milk or eggs but very little else, on the whole a very clean peaceful site, with some lovely walks from the site.
Would recommend for anyone looking for a peacful relaxing break. 


Reviewer: ahill92 8 reviews from this member

 2003
We have visited this site a number of times as it is so good.

The location is excellent and the facilities are top class.

Barnard Castle town centre is about a 20 minute walk away where all essentials (beer) can be bought. Don't forget to visit Bowes Museum

Highly recommended. 


Previous     110 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Barnard Castle Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Barnard Castle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5677 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement