Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of High Bank Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Blackpool > High Bank Farm Reviews

High Bank Farm
Hardhorn
Poulton Le Fylde
Blackpool
Lancashire   (Browse area)
FY6 8DN
Tel: 01253 890422
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 1st April Or Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 113 Reviews
                8/10 from 113 Reviews

Photos (2)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  113 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Houndwalker 9 reviews from this member

Must agree that the site has very basic facilities. We won't be going back as when we were there bank hol weekend queues were terrible for the showers and toilets. Owners very nice but need to invest in facilities. No hot water to wash up and only wash up area is in ladies loo. Hens running around amused the kids and the eggs looked great. Location ideal for Blackpool and area but some may find entrance 'tight' with the stone posts.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: B.S.14 1 review from this member

Just come back from a 2 night stay at High Bank Farm, what a great little site and value for money, £12 a night for 2 Adults and 3 children, (no charge for under 4's), including electric hookup. Athough the amenities were basic this was no problem and we had a wonderful time, especially the children, even though there were only two swings they had no problem sharing with other children on site. They also enjoyed playing in the small wood next to the site and the freedom to run around and play safely.
The site owners were very friendly and it seemed that nothing was too much trouble for them, even helping to park the caravan, We were recommended an excellent Chinese takeaway that delivered for £1. There is a Somerfield supermarket in Poulton which is only a short distance away and quite a pleasant walk. We will definitely be visiting this site again.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: G.W.02 2 reviews from this member

Just come back from High Bank. One thing if going with the sat nav when you go under a very low bridge it's only 10ft high ,don't go left if your sat nav tells you too. We ended up in a farm yard, the people are used to it. It has a little mini roundabout there so bear right at the bridge .High Bank Farm. The toilets are something to be desired but the place is quite nice. You get used to the main road eventually (speeders) There's a shop about 1/4 mile for bread etc. There was a slight problem with the campsite the owner had his dog wandering around off lead & if you have a timid dog it can be off putting as I thought all dogs had to stay on lead. It cost £9 for 2 people with electric at Bank holls .We enjoyed our stay & will be back next year hopefully. My dogs have never walked as much & went on strike the 4th day of being there!

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lesley/Ian 31 reviews from this member

We have used this site four times in the past four years, the last time in Sept 2007, we came across with friends for the fireworks.

The site is small and very basic, in a small field behind the farmhouse, some of the farm buildings have also been converted into holiday apartments, some of our family used them one long weekend when we were in our van on site and the one they had was lovely! They have about 30 pitches max, and they accept tents too.

I agree with the previous reviews the entry is tight, but the road is not a busy main road and we have had no problems in or out with our large six berth caravan and four wheel drive, but they could do with re-siting the stone gate posts further apart just to ease the access a little. Just take it steady and you will be ok.

All the pitches are grass and a few of them do slope so remember your chocks, but it does have a gravel road around for access to pitches.

The electric does require a long lead depending on which pitch number you are on, we have a 25m cable all the time so no problem for us.

The owner is very friendly and helpful, one of the first times out with our van we were struggling with the reverse and out he came and hopped in and backed in our van for us, a second time during a wet period they had a small tractor on hand for people struggling to get off the wet ground with their outfits. They sell eggs and cakes from the conservatory at the back of the farm house and you leave your money in the honesty box, it's a really nice throw back to a time when people were honest!

Now on to the facilities, the last tine we used this site they had two o/side loos in the middle of the field and in the entrance to the ladies there was a washing up sink one loo and one shower and hubby says, one loo and one shower in gents, they were always clean and tidy but, it was really the only thing letting this site down. Now one of the 2009 reviews says they have new facilities, I would be really interested to see what they have done in way of improvements.

We have never had any problems with road noise or noisy neighbours, or noisy children! We have children of our own and our kids play, but they have been taught how to behave and do respect other peoples privacy and likes and dislikes.

You can walk in to the village and there are some pubs, and there is a chain pub in the other direction which is good for food and you can walk to into Poulton from here too.

The main thing to note here are the fees:Pitch fee £5 per night, Adults £ 1.50 per night, Children £ 1.00 per night and £ 3.00 for a 16 amp electric hook per night, we went to a HAVEN site last year(against my better judgement!)and we only got 6amp hook up there! and no charge for awnings. So basically for a van,hook up, family of four and awning it is only £ 13.00 per night and it DOES NOT vary for 'seasons'. What more can you expect.

So, to sum up, if you want a touch old fashioned camping, in a beautiful rural spot within striking distance of Blackpool and not want to pay excessive fees and now with new facilities (apparently) what more can you ask for. We will certainly be using this site again in the future.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sandram17368 3 reviews from this member

The site itself is very nice with good size pitches and the owner is really peasant.

A great location even if you fancy a long walk into Blackpool, took us about an hour.

My only gripe was the toilets and shower block, it was rather dirty when we arrived and still hadn't been cleaned 4 days later.

I didn't say anything to the owner as he was very nice but we would've stayed longer if they had been cleaned.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Go-green 1 review from this member

We didn't quite believe we were outside the place to start with as the sign says High Bank Farm B & B with no mention of camping or any camping signs.

However, after realising that the entrance to the site is on the right of the buildings we were pleased to discover a very pleasant and quiet site with four chickens that have free roam around the field.

As said previously the facilities are basic but we really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and value for money - just £7 a night.

Also, the owner of the site was very friendly and helpful and also trusting as there is eggs, jam and cakes for sale next to an honesty pot.

We were recommended to go to the nearby town of Poulton Le Fylde (about 10 mins walk) for a meal/drinks which was very nice and made a change from the sprawling Blackpool centre.

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jwoody 6 reviews from this member

Just got back from a 4 day break to this site.  This was the first time we had visited and would go back again.  The owners are friendly and the location is great for Blackpool, Fleetwood and Lytham St Annes as it is only 4 miles from Blackpool.
 
As previously said there are two toilets and one shower per sex.  The washing up sink is in the room next to the ladies shower but it wasn't a problem.
 
The pitches are generous and you can easily fit a caravan, large awning and car onto one.
 
There is no playground but there are a couple of swings.  This was no problem for our boy (age 5) as he loved playing in the small wood with other children. 
 
There are recycling facilities ie bins for glass, plastic, paper and general waste.
 
Previous reviews have mentioned the "very fast and poorly visible main road".  This is not the case.  We have a large caravan and whilst the entrance is narrow it was no problem to enter or leave the site.  The road is not a main road but a "B" road and visibility is fine.
 
As you enter the site there is a board with your name and pitch number on but we did not find this a problem.  If anything it enabled us to go straight to our pitch!
 
Dogs are very welcome and there is a good circular walk 100 yards from the site.  Ask the owner for details.  If you have male entire dog be aware that the owner also has one and keep an eye on your dog.
 
Overall a good site with no frills and well worth the money.  We will be visiting again soon! 

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daisybev 12 reviews from this member

I stayed at this site for one night which without medication I couldnt have stayed longer.

I was glad to be in a tent as the entrance was a little hairy to navigate and as you leave its on to a very fast and poorly visable main road.

The site itsself is nice enough and as has been said before a short drive to both Blackpool and to lytham st annes.
The pitches are marked and if you have a larger tent could find them a problem, there is a bank of 4 EHU's per 3 pitches so the outer edges need a long lead.

Two toilets per sex and one shower each there is a washing up sink but its in the ladies !

Nothing more friendly than coming out of the shower to clean your teeth to a big open glass window and some chap doing his washing up! the washing up sink does need moving.

The farm sell cakes and home made jams.

The major draw back of this nice little site is the fact that the traffic runs right past it I have NEVER slept on a racing track before ! and wouldnt do it again.

Another thing IMHO I saw as a potential problem is that as you enter the site there is a massive board with your name and pitch number on it, a little too friendly should anyone want to use that info.
To finish on a high though there is a pretty little wood on the site and a warden the owner is a really nice guy.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Elliott350 1 review from this member

Just got back from an Easter break very good site for a weekend, basic but clean and owner very friendly. Two swings for children, dogs very welcome. Only criticism we had was you need a long length electric cable to reach hook ups but not too big of a problem. Shower block on site of which was one shower, one toilet and one wash basin for women and the same for men, plus one toilet each on actual field, but all clean and no queues, would definitely go back for a weekend.

Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hanks 2 reviews from this member

Just got back from High bank farm. The site is basic but has all you need if you do not want a shop, club, or entertainment. I cannot fault this site for camping at budget prices as it is so cheap and the owners are so very friendly, nothing is too much trouble and you are only a short bus or car drive into Blackpool so you do not need all the fancy stuff of the commercial sites.
Can be a bit muddy in wet weather but it was the end of october, I can't see that being a problem in the summer. I would definitely use this site again, especially only costing £6.50 per night for 2 people at anytime of the year.
Forget it if you want a Haven type holiday this is grass roots stuff and very very good too!

Previous     113 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Blackpool      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2230 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019