Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Midbrooks Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Trowbridge > Midbrooks Campsite Reviews

CLOSED: Midbrooks Campsite
Southbrook Lane
Steeple Ashton
Trowbridge
Wiltshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 117 Reviews
                9/10 from 117 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  117 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Laser 2 reviews from this member

 A really wonderful site. Within minutes of arriving we were bottle feeding lambs, collecting eggs and feeding Molly the pig. The facilities are basic but extremely clean and we were able to buy fire wood for the evening, so rear on many sights. Charming surroundings, cream teas in the summer house by request and very welcoming owners. We will definitely be going back. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Evenslisa 4 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from this fantastic, affordable campsite with my mum and dad, sister and boyfriend and my husband and two girls, aged 11 and 7.  This is the most relaxing, friendly campsite we have ever stayed on with the owners making us feel more than welcome.  My children loved feeding the chicken, ducks, lambs and of course Molly the pig.  It was a lovely experience for them to get so close the to animals.  The pitches are spacious and the loos and shower kept clean and tidy.  We visited nearby Caen Hill Locks and popped in to Trowbridge for our shopping.  At night, we had lovely bbqs followed by log fires which really made this site different to forestry sites where even bbqs are frowned upon.  I would recommend this site to anyone with children - and to anyone who enjoys cream teas on the decking watching the world go by!  Will definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pete + Beverley 1 review from this member

 Second year running at this wonderful site, the first with Polly (14) and Alfie (9).  It is the perfect site for relaxing and enjoying the simple things - the animals were the real highlight, for Alfie especially, and he absolutely loved his job of letting the chickens, rabbit and ducks out in the morning and putting them away in the evening.
Alan and Sue were such excellent hosts that we didn't want to leave to go home again.
This is a really friendly, welcoming and relaxing site, but one that is still close enough to many places to visit - Longleat, Stonehenge, Wells, Glastonbury, and numerous other places of interest for everyone.
Thank you for making out holiday so enjoyable. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Calahonda 1 review from this member

 Just spent 4 nights at this lovely, lovely site the previous reviews are all accurate and well deserved. The owners make you so welcome and generously share their little piece of heaven with you. We found everyone, campers and locals, so friendly (the nicest man came and fixed our car).

There were three of us, myself, husband and 13 year old daughter and we all had just a wonderful time. We particularly loved star gazing by campfire and feeding time with Alan and his little band of followers, 'mollybuckets' in hand, was just a gorgeous sight.
The toilets and shower were immaculate a little busy at times but enjoyed chatting to my fellow campers while waiting on the lovely garden seat provided.

Electricity - didn't miss it - I do miss the animals and lovely views though! Go there. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lees family 1 review from this member

 Lovely week spent with Alan and Sue, wonderful hosts!  A great base for exploring all the area has to offer - Longleat, Stonehenge and many other interesting places within easy reach.  The children thoroughly enjoyed helping out with the animals, especially Molly the Pig and the chickens.  Highly recommended. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Humes 2 reviews from this member

 What a lovely little site! This was our first time camping, we booked short notice and after staying here we are hooked. The owners are really nice, the site is lovely and clean, the children loved the animals (and so did we), they especially liked feeding Molly the pig and collecting eggs from the chickens.It was lovely to be woken up by the cows mooing in the next field. The toilets and showers are lovely and clean. It was great to be able to buy some wood and use one of Alans fires and have a campfire, toasted marshmallows, yum! When we left here we went to a much larger site as we had already booked it, and all four of us wished we had stayed at Midbrooks.
 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nick Williams26 1 review from this member

 First time camping so not sure what to expect as we have 2 young children under 6. Midbrooks is a fantastic & idylic part of the country for first time or experienced campers. Alan and Sue are perfect hosts who were keen to involve the children in the feeding of the farm animals, especially Molly the pig, this was a highlight of my children's first time camping experience. The main reason for going was to visit Longleat which is only 10 miles away, so perfect location. The campsite itself is very clean and has all the amenities you would want, shower, drinking water, WC etc. Everyone enjoyed themselves and Midbrooks has given me and my family the camping bug. We hope to return next year as there is so much to do, I just hope it's not full when we come to book. We will certainly recommend this site to our family and friends.
 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LGHeritage 11 reviews from this member

 Really peaceful campsite perfect for familys. Owners, Alan & Sue, really friendly, and the children loved helping to feed the pigs and collect eggs from the chickens. One shower and one toilet on site (an extra loo would be useful) absolutely spotless. Only 20 minutes from Longleat.
Highly recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Scwatson 1 review from this member

 We didn't want to tell anyone about this site because it is too good a secret, but we promised Alan and Sue that we would leave some feedback.
For a family camping break it doesn't get much better than this little corner of wiltshire. Relaxing, fun and enjoyable. Alan was a bigger kid than our three girls! and Sue is so helpful. 10/10 we will be back 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jesterman 2 reviews from this member

 Don't go it's truly grim - grumpy owners, awful site - do your self a favour and give it a miss! Honestly it's awfully and truly terrible!
 
Okay - it's not. it's a little bit of heaven - so much so that we stayed there I think 5 times last year and just went there last weekend. It's as far removed from day to day life as you could wish. Kids will love it (most if you can weedle them from the TV) - the sky is HUGE, the Stars twinkle and your Camp Fire warms you on the coldest of nights.
 
Lovely walks if you buy a Land Ranger Map - the Long Arms ( Local Family Name) about 15 minutes stroll is very nice Pub. Pop into St Mary's Church  - it's a cracker  - buy the local village guide book inside; it provides a insiders view of the Village.
 
Keeble Airfield is very close - watch Gilders soaring most days  - there's a Vintage  Fly In the last Bank Holiday in May .
 
Alan and Sue the owners - excellent hosts. Any Man who collects old Triumphs and Bubble Cars/Land Rovers gets my Vote - any Women who would put up with it even more so.
 
5 Stars - just don't tell anyone. Pleeeaase!  


Previous     117 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4514 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement