Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bunree Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Fort William > Bunree Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Bunree Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Onich
Fort William
Highlands   (Browse area)
PH33 6SE
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 104
Open: 16/03/2024 to 05/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 112 Reviews
                9/10 from 112 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  112 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Finby 1 review from this member

 This site is a real gem!. You can park a stones throw from the waters edge and the views are fantastic. Some of the sunsets we saw there were unbelievable. The site has all the usual facilities, i.e. hardstanding and grass pitches, all with hookups, showers, toilets, laundry, veg prep etc. (The washrooms used to have little pot plants in them to brighten them up, but not any more as people kept nicking them !).
The wardens are friendly and helpful. Directly across the road there is a waterfall half way up the mountain. The zigzag path has seats to rest on at various places, so the climb is'nt too bad. A short walk up the road is the Corran Ferry, free to foot passangers but (I think) about a fiver to take your motorhome across (price list at entrance to ferry). This is handy if you want a shorter route to Ardnamurchan point and the Fishnish crossing to Mull.
Three miles away (South) is Ballachulish village. This is hidden gem as it has a comprehensive minimart (Co-Op I think) that sells just about everything you need, from newspapers to groceries including tobacco and alcohol. Going South is the busy but very pleasant town of Oban (about 30 miles of pleasant driving), complete with Tesco store and a good variety of shops. Going north (10 miles) is Fort William with a Morrissons store and various other shops, however the emphasis seems to be on outdoor gear in most of the shops.
I would thoroughly recommend a visit to this site. We go there most years. Book as far in advance as possible as the site is very popular during the summer months. If you want a lochside pitch its best to arrive early! 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Evans CE 1 review from this member

 I had seen pictures in caravan club magazines and had always wanted to go there. I was not disappointed! Fantastic scenery, helpful staff and friendly people. About a mile down the road towards Fort William is the Corran Ferry which takes you across Loch Linnhe, free to foot passengers. We crossed on the ferry and walked opposite the caravan site on the other side of the loch. Watched the sunset over the mountains from the site. Hope to visit again sometime! 


Date of Visit: January 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Flyinghaggis 11 reviews from this member

 We were here a couple of days after New Year for 2 days. We could pick what pitch we wanted and as with the CC the pitch was a very good size. Your are right at the Loch and the views are beautiful. Good playpark. The toilet block and showers were spotless and they were cosy. There was also a drying room which came in handy. There was a wee information room with info on the surrounding area, places to eat etc. There was also a room with a pool table in it which my husband and litle boy enjoyed doing at night. It is a about a 10 min drive into Fort William, it has a Morrisons and enough shops. If you are into hillclimbing this is the place to be even just walking as the scenery is lovely. We will come back here, but not when it is midgie time as there will be plenty. 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MatthewJW 6 reviews from this member

 What an amazing site. The views on a clear day are wonderful. We went for a front row pitch, which meant we couldn't but the awning up but it was worth it. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Fort William was about 10 minutes in the car with a good shopping centre as well as Morrisons.

On the main road turning left at the gate there is a ferry crossing which is worth a visit on board. They don't charge for passengers but £5.20 each way for a car. The crossing is about 3 minutes in total and there is a pub straight in front which serves good food and drink.

Jet planes can be heard and seen quite often from the site. They roar past but are great to watch.

There is a chip shop van which comes every Monday & Thursday night. I would avoid this. Waited over half an hour for chips because they were busy and they were not very good. Would go back as missing the great views already. Enjoy the site. 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Tashtoo 3 reviews from this member

 Would agree with everything here, the site is beautiful and immaculate - a credit to the wardens. We were here for the Mountain Bike World Championships in Fort William and the site is an easy drive from there. The views over the lock are wonderful. The two local pubs do great food and both were reasonably priced.

The showers are the best I've seen with plenty of hot water and in pristine condition, the midges were very few and far between (can highly recommend Jungle formula repellent) and the only let down is the visiting fish and chip van - very poor quality. Wish we'd read the comment in the visitors book before we had them! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lilaclynda 3 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from this breathtaking site,it is so beautiful.

The toilets and showers are excellant ,as is all other usual ammenities easily accesable for visiting fort william ben nevis etc,or just taking in the local area on foot is spectacular.Although we didnt have a dog many dog owners used this site as dog walks were very good we had no problem with midges although we were concerned after reading other reviews before we went. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Boblynn 9 reviews from this member

 This is a really nice site with great views and good facilities.  Usual Caravan Club standard, spotlessly clean and friendly wardens.  I would definitely recommend this site to anyone who wants to tour around this area of Scotland.  It's only 15 mins from Ft William and about the same to Glencoe.  There are also some good short walks right from the site in a nearby forest.  We really enjoyed our week and will return.  The nearest shops are about 10 mins away in Ballachullish, and a Morrisons in Ft William, so come well stocked.  The site have milk and rolls and toilet chemicals as well as maps.  We did pass a shop about a mile or so south of the site in Onich, but didn't go in.  I would check it out before relying on them having what you want.  However Do not get fish and chips from the van that visits the site.  We did, and they were awful. Be warned. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Billy coutts 15 reviews from this member

 Our second time here but still as special as first time you get to site entrance and see wonderful view of mountains and Loch Linnhe. Here for 5 nights this time. Standards and wardens still same - first class! Cant wait to visit again before end of summer. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jennifernn 17 reviews from this member

 I would endorse what other reviewers have said. Excellent site with usual CC facilities. Fairly open, but the wind helps blow the midgies away!
Well positioned for exploring the area. Take a trip up Aonach Mor on the cable car, drive further west via the adjacent Corran ferry, pop down to Oban. Plenty to see and do. Large Morrisons supermarket in Fort William and plenty smaller shops too.
 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Geordiehussar 2 reviews from this member

 This was our first trip up to the highlands, and I have to say, we were blown away by the wonderful scenery. Absolutely stunning. As for Bunree campsite, brilliant. The location is wonderful, peace and quite, (apart from the odd Tornado, F16 , Hurcules planes zooming up the Loch, but that is really great to see also. We found the campsite staff very helpful and friendly, More than what we could say about the natives, (might have something to do with the world cup being on that week and them not being invited :O)??

The sites facilities were 1st class well worth the 5 stars. We will be back soon. 


Previous     112 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Bunree Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bunree Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Bunree Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Fort William      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


26983 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement