Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Drumroamin Farm Camping & Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart > Drumroamin Farm Camping & Caravan Site > Reviews

Drumroamin Farm Camping & Caravan Site
1 South Balfern
Kirkinner
Newton Stewart
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG8 9DB
Tel: 01988 840613  or  07752471456
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/04/2023 to 31/10/2023
           01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 132 Reviews
                10/10 from 132 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  132 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Anyab 2 reviews from this member

 A great site. The owners promised a friendly welcome in their leaflet and that's certainly what you get. They were so helpful and keep the place spotlessly clean. The shower block was like being at home and every time I went in they were cleaning in there.

The site is big and even though we were there at the same time as a big school trip, we were never disturbed. It also has the bonus of a lounge room equipped with pool table / TV / magazines etc. Plus I liked the fact that there were drinking water taps all over the site.

The only small drawback is that it's quite rural. No pub or shops within walking distance and the nearest pub in Kirkinner is a little ropey. So pack a BBQ and all you need and relax when you get there! 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mcgeezer 2 reviews from this member

 We have also just returned from our latest visit to this site, and it seems to get better each time.

We have a large tent [Vango Diablo 900XP] and had no trouble in setting up, with the sun canopy, in the large 10m pitch which is the standard for the site. There are 20 pitches with hook-up if I recall correctly.

With all the facilities for the kids, we didn't need to leave the site for 4 days other than to replenish stocks for BBQing and relaxing [wine/beer etc].

The owners keep the site in a spotless condition, and I have yet to stay at a site with cleaner/better wash facilities / toilets / showers.

A 5-star site in my opinion. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jordan brown 1 review from this member

 Lovely friendly stay with great views from the site, although the weather helped. A great opportunity to meet some lovely and enthusiastic people, with the owners treating you almost like family.
Despite the poor make-shift croquet pitch we had an amazing game anyway and managed to beat Geoff Bell (The uncle). 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fsrc 1 review from this member

 Just back from our second camping trip. 2 Adults, 2 kids, aged 12 & 3. Arrived at the campsite and got to choose our own pitch, all pitches were flat and facing various ways which gave us a good choice in where we wanted to pitch.
We chose the top of the field near the new play equipment. At other end of the field was situated the toilet, shower and washing area with the tv/games room next to this. Outside this block was an additional play area with sand pit and basketball hoop. The field was well laid out with drinking taps at all four corners and bins throughout the site.
The whole site was well maintained and spotlessly clean at all times. The kids loved this site with plenty to keep them both occupied and we were relaxed with the beautiful views.

This site is very rural but yet still local enough to get to the surrounding areas where there are plenty of small towns. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dadsjack 4 reviews from this member

 My wife and I have just spent the Easter bank holiday here and cannot recommend this site enough.

A very level site and although the bank holiday was dry the previous weeks had been wet, but the site is quite good at draining and posed no problems.

The facilities are second to none, totally and utterly spotless loos and showers. Free showers with mega amounts of room and hangers for clothes. A common room which was heated ,with free tv, sofa and chairs, books and tourist info. The owners are very ,very nice people who cannot do enough for you.

The area is very rural and is the forgotten corner of Scotland, some lovely places to visit, handy for the galloway forest with its abundance of cycle paths and footpaths, like stepping back in time at times. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dxc02 13 reviews from this member

 Drumroamin is a lovely family friendly site, there are some beautiful views and easy walks from and around this site. Lesley and Ralph are always on hand to tend to your every need, the refuse is collected twice daily, the family room, toilets and washing facilities are second to none.

We can't wait for August 2009 to return. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ski_tzo 2 reviews from this member

 We only intended visiting this site as a stop on on our way from Stranraer to Edinburgh but we were shocked by what we got for our money!

The owner, a very friendly lady, seemed to be permanently cleaning the toilets and the showers were better than at home.

If it rains (its Scotland) Bladnoch distillery is near by, were you can do the tour which is cheap and there is also wigtown which is packed full of bookshops

This is a great site at a great price and I would definitely recommend you try it 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dxc02 13 reviews from this member

 Drumroamin is a top class family run site, we (2 Adults & 2 Boys 15 & 10) arrived in very damp conditions with our tent, we had a rather damp week in general, did this put the dampers on the 10 day stay, NO. This amazing site drains very well, there is a heated shower block, utility room (Fairy liquid and sponges provided)and family games room to dry yourself out in! The blocks are cleaned twice daily and checked regularly, rubbish bins around the site are religiously emptied twice daily too. Lesley, Ralph and family are excellent ambassadors for camping sites, which others could well learn from! Nothing, and, I mean Nothing was too much trouble for them, giving us change for the pool table after 10 pm being only one of the issues.

If you're heading for this area, this place is a must! Locally Wigtown is full of book shops, where many bargains can be purchased, worth a visit even if you're illiterate! It's lovelly. Bladnoch is close by, nice pub with decent food, this is opposite to a distillery, tour not value for money, but, still worth a visit. Isle of Whitorn is about 10 miles away and has St Ninians chapel which has a world famous pilgrimage annually. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tony.cliff 12 reviews from this member

 This is one of the nicest sites we have stayed at in a long while. Well kept grounds, clean toilets and showers with copious supplies of hot water at no extra charge, washing and drying facilities, even washing up liquid supplied at the three dish washing sinks. There are wonderful views over wigtown bay and we were also lucky enough to see the young Osprey family struggling to fly in the wind. Kilsture wood only one mile away has a couple of walking trails, one at 3.5 miles and the other at 1 mile. The owners were extremely helpful, (thank you so much for the fresh bread roll delivery). There is also a very welcoming visitor room, free exchange library, tv and loads of local information. We look forward to the next visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PARKSIDEGROUP 2 reviews from this member

 WOW! What a campsite this is! We arrived having never camped before, but could not be more pleased with what Drumroamin Farm had to offer.

As before reviews have mentioned the owners Leslie and Ralph do everything to make your stay.

The Toilet blocks are that clean you could eat your dinner off the floor, their is washing up facility to wash not only your dishes but the clothes as well,

Kids have a great time looking out of the tent at the cows in the next field, chickens and ducks walk past the tent, big pitches,

A great site and the owner is just wonderful, she was always cleaning every time I seen her she was in the toilet block,

I would recommend anybody to visit this site, I had 3 children (8, 2, 1 and a greyhound and they all found something to do) 


Previous     132 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Drumroamin Farm Camping & Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Drumroamin Farm Camping & Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Drumroamin Farm Camping & Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newton Stewart      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan Motorhome and Holiday Home Show 01/02 to 04/02
Held in Feb 2024, caravans, motorhomes, campervans, holiday homes, lodges, tents, boats and accessories all in one destination. Find out more!

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5523 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2023


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
2023 Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £200 each PLUS a 2023 Christmas Day Star Prize worth £919

Open Today's Window



Advertisement