Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of York House Hotel And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Whitby > York House Hotel And Caravan Park Reviews

York House Hotel And Caravan Park
Back Lane
Hawsker
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4LW
Tel: 01947 880354
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 114 Reviews
                8/10 from 114 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  114 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The cartwrights 5 reviews from this member

We booked late and had to stay in the overflow section which isn't split into set pitches. There was a lot of rain and the puddle was getting closer to our tent as the weekend went on. It became very boggy on the grass but it would have been the same anywhere.

There was a portable loo in our section, because it is the furthest from the toilet / shower blocks but we preferred to walk to the main block. We found the facilities to be really clean, especially given the weather. We always judge sites by the shower / toilet facilities and these were very good.

There is a shop on site but there is a good supermarket in Whitby, and a good Tourist Information centre which is crucial when the weather is bad.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Boo+3 1 review from this member

Just had a lovely weekend at this campsite, lots of other sites full but they were very accomodating and put us in the overflow field!

The toilets and showers were always spotless and lots of hot water in showers and washing up area - so I'm told by OH!

Staff were friendly and helpful!

Just booked to go back in two weeks

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: EML78 3 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for 2 nights at the end of May as it was well placed for visiting Whitby and Robin Hoods Bay and the many attractions of North Yorkshire.

I would say its a fairly large campsite. When you first drive on to it there are many pitches around a large field and then to the right of this is a bank which has been tiered for tents at three levels. There's not much of a playground, but the few swings on the site kept my daughter entertained. We also found the warden very friendly and helpful.

Toilet block was spotlessly clean whatever time of day you went and also appeared to be brand new. Inside there were plenty of loos and about 4 shower cubicles, with very hot water. The only thing I was disappointed with, was that there was not any separate sink cubicles and there were no hairdryers or sockets to plug my in, but this is just a girlie thing!

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and will definitely return again soon.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mitch230158 1 review from this member

Excellent site, showers hot and clean and will return. Very close to Whitby. Power failed a few times, however reception fixed it asap also the van on pitch 4 has a key to the fuse boxes.

First time here but definitely will return. Plenty of room. Owners very welcoming. Toilets and showers very good. I would recomend this site to anyone. Buses are regular to Scarborough, Robin Hoods Bay and Whitby for those who do not want to drive or walk.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Greendragon 1 review from this member

First time here but definitely will return. Plenty of room. Owners very welcoming. Toilets and showers very good. I would recomend this site to anyone. Buses are regular to Scarborough, Robin Hoods Bay and Whitby for those who do not want to drive or walk.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sharon963 8 reviews from this member

A wonderful, clean site with very nice owners who rang the AA when we locked our keys in the car (even though we interrupted their tea, sorry), just watch out for Mr Grumpy the litter picker-upper. The showers are free, hot and clean and so are the toilets, 5 deposit for the key which you get back (if you don't lose it).

The tent areas are very secluded and well maintained with electric and water points close by. The play area has just 4 swings and is in the middle of the caravan field but it could do with being up dated. We've never been back to a site but we will definitely return here lots more to see and do in Whitby.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cwynnjackson 1 review from this member

Just returned from a fun few days with family group, with 4 tents, 6 adults and 8 children. Arrived early but was told we could pitch no problems.

Also site has a hotel for the less hardy which ment our parents could also join in the fun

Toilets clean and nicely furnished,only 4 showers but never a queue, pot wash clean, mens toilets had odd smell and strobing light I am reliably informed.

Play park just swings but plenty of space in field for games, we had our own sports day.

All in all a nice family friendly site will recommend to friends and return myself.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Peteandtrace 3 reviews from this member

Whitby is a great area. Loads to do and very picturesque. Kids love it.

Stayed on this site for 3 nights, bank hol weekend. Pleasant enough, not particularly made pretty, but pitches good size and flat. Toilet block looked new.

First night fine. Second night, all the electricity went off for over two hours. A member of staff came round and said we were all using halogen heaters too much and it had tripped the electricity. We sat in our trailer tent and froze. Eventually it came back on. A member of staff came round and said we all had to keep consumption very low or it would happen again like it did last Easter??! Next morning, it went off again. Member of staff reset it with a key. 3rd night, I put our halogen heater on, (one of only two electrical appliances we were using). A member of staff came round checking up on people, looked into our tent, and came up to the window and said we had to turn it down low, or it would trip. Again, said it was caused by campers using halogen heaters too much, inferring it was not their problem. I turned it down but was annoyed, as we only had a draughty trailer tent not a warm caravan and felt we may have needed heating more than others. An hour later a different member of staff came past to check campers were keeping everything turned low.

Having purposely booked a pitch with hook up, and paid for it, this whole farce annoyed us a lot, we did not steal a weekend away from stress to face this type of thing. Each time staff complained that campers overload the circuit. Are there too many pitches to cope with the supply? You should not advertise something you can't deliver. On leaving, you have to get the deposit back for the toilet key. The member of staff just gave me five pounds and didn't even say goodbye or wish us a safe journey. Never had this problem before in 5 years of camping. The electrics, and customer service approach need a lot of work. We will not be staying at this site again.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gillfurniss 4 reviews from this member

Just back from a fantastic weekend at this site. Weather helped as it was glorious but site is really, really good. The showers must have been refurbished since last year as they looked brand new and they were also free for as long as you liked.

The site is very friendly and although slightly sloped we had no problems at all. The little shop was adequate for supplies and there is a hotel which you can get breakfast and evening meals in. They are licensed and there isn't a bar but a tv room which we were told we could use. Also nice sitting out area both back and front.

The only trouble we had was dragging ourselves away. Plenty to do round and about. Next time we will hire bicycles from the old station just down the main road to Whitby.

Also the pub in Hawsker is really nice and food very good too.

Cannot wait to go back.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Juliehope62 1 review from this member

Found owners very friendley and approachable. Site very good. Tent pitches set out well. Plenty of water points. Brick bbq areas good idea. Very large clean dog area. Toilet block spot on.
Loved our stay definitley will return, have already reccomended to friends . 10/10.
Close to Whitby, Scarborough Etc. Ideal base.

Previous     114 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Whitby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan Motorhome and Holiday Home Show 06/02 to 09/02
In Glasgow - Over 200 companies will be showcasing their products and offering visitors show only discounts and offers. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3500 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020