Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of York House Hotel And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Whitby > York House Hotel And Caravan Park > Reviews

York House Hotel And Caravan Park
Back Lane
Hawsker
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4LW
Tel: 01947 880354
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 131 Reviews
                8/10 from 131 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  131 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MandiNKel 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 3 nights.

The location of the campsite is ideal.

The campsite is tiered, we were on the bottom tier which has portaloos at the end, which could do with being kept a bit cleaner. The main toilet and shower block is rather small considering the size of the site, and in the morning rush you can be queueing quite a while.

The first day there it rained which brought out the midges and there were loads of them.

The pitch size is rather small compared to the other sites we have been to.

The local pub serves lovely food and is warm and friendly. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Woodys37 2 reviews from this member

 Nice enough site in a pleasant area.

Pitch was the the smallest we have ever experienced (and we had booked and paid extra for a large pitch!) We could hear neighbours both sites breathing and we had to park our car elsewhere.

Showers ok, but could do with more sinks and/or washing cubicles.

Nice to have a bar on site and the children liked the play area, but the pitch size would stop us from returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Flush 6 reviews from this member

 Spent 3 nights over the August Bank Holiday weekend here.

A neat and tidy site which seems to be well maintained. Has a pub on site which does food and accepts children till 11pm. Wonderful base for exploring the surrounding area. Excellent playground for the kids and a spacious dog field. The things that put us off though.

On arriving at the site, we were shown to out pitch and then proceeded to be told about all the site rules and regulation, and the consequences of breaking them. We were told to pitch as close as possible to the next tents and indeed asked to turn our car around so it did not take up pitching space. This was due to the site being fully booked, however, our terrace never filled up during the whole weekend. Our tent, and that of our neighbours was stuffed up in a tiny area and a resultant huge space next to us all unoccupied.

Our pitch was in the bottom terrace, which whilst nice and sheltered offered no views whatsoever.

Facilities were reasonably clean, however the hot water ran out every time I and my family needed a shower. The washing up facilities are simply not adequate for a site this size. 2 sinks and 1 drainer is not good enough, compounded by the fact that the hot water was the slowest running I have ever seen.

By Monday morning the bins were overflowing, not something I want to see on a camp site. If you know you are going to be full it stands to reason that you arrange for extra bins to be hired for the weekend.

The facilities block is in the middle of the static caravans and Touring Van pitches, but a good distance from the tents. Surely this is the wrong way around ?

Overall, I think for us the bad points outweighed the good points and would probably not return. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BikeBabe 1 review from this member

 Just spent 10 nights at this site with my better half and a small dog.

Location wise it was excellent for exploring the Whitby coastline on foot or bicycle, being a short walk to High Hawsker village where the bus service is excellent to Whitby, or to the cycle track which forms National Cycle Network route 1 with nearby cycle hire centre.

We never tried the on-site Hotel for a drink or food as the menu did not appeal to us, rather we found the Hare & Hounds pub in High Hawsker excellent, serving very good food, a selection of real ales and dog friendly. We were most impressed with Whitby generally for it's dog friendliness and since coming home have discovered that this website www.Doggiepubs.Org.Uk lists the dog friendly places that we also discovered locally.

Site itself is clean and tidy, staff in Reception friendly who gave us a map of the site. Stock in shop rather limited, would like to have seen an emphasis on locally sourced products.

As seems often the case, the tent pitches are located the furthest distance away from the site facilities, with static caravans etc with their own facilities positioned the closest! Areas for tents are landscaped so that pitches are level. I was gutted to discover the first morning that there were no hair dryers in the ladies toilet block and it's such a basic piece of equipment, that I didn't think to check before booking.

The pot washing facilities were located in a separate room which got very hot and cramped if another person came in to do do their dishes too. This was also where a hairdryer/shaving point was provided but there would be very little room to dry your hair or shave here, no mirror and you had to buy a token from reception to use the hairdryer! Not sure what the hygeine Police would say about drying hair where food utensils are being washed up! I resorted to squatting under the warm air handryer in the ladies loo's to dry my hair each morning. Considering we paid 100+ to stay as long as we did, we found the facilities rather 'mean.'

On the plus side the showers were free, very clean and no restrictions on the hot water apart from the mild annoyance of having to keep pressing the button to keep the water flowing.

Dog walking field was brilliant with wonderful views towards Whitby. Number of dog poo bins did not correspond with the site plan.

Re-cycling facilities limited to glass bottles.

Overall a nice site. Location compensates for the facilities 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Simon 78 3 reviews from this member

 This was our 1st visit to York House but it won't be our last. The site is well situated just of the main road and is about 5 miles from Whitby town and 3 miles from Robin Hoods Bay. The views going into Robin Hoods Bay are stunning.

The site toilet block is very clean and tidy. It also has a pot room with laundry. We had a pitch with electric hook up, which was well shielded by hedges and trees. There is a playground for the kids and a special field for dogs to be walked in. They also have special brick structures for you to use disposable BBQ on.

We like the site so much that we are planning to return for our wedding anniversary. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gillian haigh 1 review from this member

 Great site with friendly staff. Childrens play area and dog walking area. All very well kept including the shower and toilet block, there are also plenty of showers, toilets and basins. The site also had gates to stop intruders getting in in the night which were locked (peace of mind)

The hotel/pub serves good food and a lovely beer garden.

Only downfall is no power points in shower block for hairdryer.

Will be returning to this site very soon. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stemet 10 reviews from this member

 Very convenient site for Whitby and surrounding area. Staff friendly and helpful. A large camp field with EHU available. Some pitches on caravan field have quite severe slopes, difficult to pitch level if the slope is across the 'van, and no chance pitching porch awnings. Much easier when the slope is along the 'van.

Dogs are most welcome, with a huge secure exercise field. There is also another play/sport field for children. Toilet and shower block with pot wash is modern and generally clean, for which you need a key, deposit 5, but didn't seem to get the attention during the week when less people on site than at the weekend when full. Shop on site sells most essentials and gas prices are the cheapest I've paid for a long time.

Walking from the site is easy, with an old rail track into Whitby (2.5m) and down to Robin Hoods Bay (3m). Very convenient pub on site, with another across the road in the village, both with good food. All in all, a very comfortable friendly site, (if you can get level) and helpful staff. Have booked again for later in the year. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Robo111 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for may bank holiday weekend. Pitched on top tier with EHU, good sized pitch. Site and toilets clean, there was a problem with the water pressure in the showers but was told that this would be fixed, also ran out of toilet paper in ladies toilets
Staff friendly and a good hotel on site. We would come back 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Campervan64 3 reviews from this member

 Visited this site for two nights for Whitby goth. Toilet block and washing facilities where modern and clean, lots of free hot water. Site is well maintained and it is obvious they are investing in it. There is a hotel and restaurant on site with a nice beer garden but we didn't use this facility. It costs 1.95 on the bus into Whitby from the village which is just about a five minute walk away or about 6.00 in a taxi. I would highly recommend this site and we will definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Happycamper1234 2 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a long weekend away before the children go back to school. Really nice site, good facilities, good showers, shame the toilet block isn't heated. Great location we divided our time between Robin Hoods Bay, Scarborough and whitby.

Wonderful for families, staff really helpful and friendly. So pleased I re-booked before I even left. 


Previous     131 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is York House Hotel And Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to York House Hotel And Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is York House Hotel And Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Whitby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3853 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement