Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bank House Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Buxton > Bank House Farm Reviews

Bank House Farm
Hulme End
No Hartington
Buxton
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK17 0EX
Tel: 01298 687333
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 135 Reviews
                8/10 from 135 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  135 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: WendyMorris 3 reviews from this member

 A long week end at this site was both enjoyable and a little 'smelly'!

Wayne the owner, was very attentive and helpful.

Our pitch, in the second field, was in a pretty spot but rather further away from minimal washing / showering and toileting facilities than we expected.[400 metres]

These were insufficient for the number of occupied pitches this weekend [at least 40] which was a shame and let the site down. No water on the second field either. Hopefully it's on its way soon.

The close proximity to the Manifold Inn and the local shop were great.The Devonshire Arms in Hulme End served very good food.

Very quiet at night / nearby road quiet at night.

Cycling / Walking the Manifold way is easy work through beautiful countryside, thors cave is also a stunning site.[approx 4 mile walk from site.]

We took the local bus to Buxton [Market Square]-5 per adult, 2.50 child return trip. An attractive place with pubs, restaurants and shops a plenty. The pavilion and park are a pleasant space.

We would visit this site again, especially mid week to avoid long shower / washing up queues. The location is great, local environment beautiful. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The_Jeepster 9 reviews from this member

 We stay at this campsite for one night just before the Easter weekend as an introduction to camping for our two children and would definitely recommend it. Lovely and quiet, with a good pub just across from the site and a fantastic little shop about 300 yds down the road.

The site is divided by the road that runs down form Hartington to Humle End (not a very busy one). We stay on the main site so cannot comment too much on the other but it looked very flat and had lots of space.

Most of the main site is slightly sloping but there are some nice flat pitches down by the river. There are no hookups as yet and only one water tap up by the toilets and washing area.

The showers and toilets are a bit basic but clean, just watch out for the cold taps as they tend to splash water everywhere when pushed down to far.

BBQ's are allowed as long as you use one of the fire bricks (slabs) that are dotted around the site.

A nice quiet site in a lovely location perfect for a couple of nights away. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jay1303 7 reviews from this member

 We were very impressed with this campsite and would definitely recommend it. The location is good if you're interested in walking. There is a great pub over the road but be warned, I would recommend booking if it is a busy or bank holiday. We pitched in what we now realise is the main site. It's a good sized field with nice pitches by the stream. There are 2 toilets and 2 showers (for ladies, don't know about the mens). They also opened 3 more toilets for females when it was busy. The toilet/washing area could do with being refurbished as it is a bit of a squeeze around the sink area. The showers could also do with something like a stool to put your clothes on. The owners are very friendly, helpful and accommodating. It is a quiet site. A big bonus was that we were allowed to have a fire in our barbecue - it's not camping without a campfire! 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ben Tent 8 reviews from this member

 We spent two nights over the Easter weekend at Bank House Farm. We stayed on the second field as the main site was fully booked. We chose a great pitch near the river. The views of the Peak District were lovely. The couple running the site were friendly, helpful and were around and about if needed. The only negative was that the facilities were on the main site and there was a busy road bridge with no pavements, to cross to get to it from our field. This wasn't too bad in daylight hours, however, we weren't keen on walking over the unlit bridge with our 4 year old in the dark. Perhaps they could add a couple of portaloos and a drinking water tap in the second field. There were ample toilets and two showers per male/female. They were always clean and to a good standard.

We visited the Manifold Inn, next to the site. The food was good and reasonably priced. They start serving food at 6.30pm. We also used the village shop at the other end of the second field. This had everything we needed. There were some nice trail walks walks and a visitors centre about 200 metres past the village shop. Overall, we would visit this site again but try and book the main site due to having to cross the road bridge to use the facilities. Having said that the second field was much more spacious and offered room for the children to play. Wayne came around the site about 10pm ish ensuring all was quiet and it was. However, there was a little background noise from the site behind the pub but this didn't spoil our stay. We really enjoyed ourselves and would recommend it for families. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Patrick Jones 3 reviews from this member

 My wife and I have regularly stayed at this site for the last 20 years. During that time it has had its ups and downs.

The good news is that the campsite has been acquired by a young couple keen to maintain the essential attraction of the site, but also seeking to make sensible improvements rather than wholescale changes.

The location is wonderful - a field by the river Manifold at the head of the Manifold Track where you can cycle in safety down a disused railway line past at least two waterside cafes. What's more there is a pub with excellent beer and bar meals just over the road from the site. There is trout fishing in the river and you are 5 minutes away form the Tissington cycle trail.

The campsite is generally quiet and well maintained. There is nothing fancy about the site (no hook-ups as yet), just an area for communal facilities - showers,loos, washing-up basins with hot water and a covered area for use in poor weather. This area is being upgraded to include more ladies loos. The new owners are an exceptionally welcoming and friendly couple and can't do enough for you.

We have stayed in sites up and down the country over the years and I can safely say that Bank House Farm is up there in our top three favourite campsites. We don't go there for all the razamatazz of a developed site but for the peace and simplicity of a lovely site in a great location - and it looks set to stay that way in coming years 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Micktina 1 review from this member

 We stayed here a few times this year and found the managers John & Tracy very helpful.

The site is kept very clean and tidy, again the managers are very pro active and interact with customers.

I found the last comment to be unfair as there is not actually a dog walk, they let you use the far field so you don't have to walk over the road the the other field, so they are doing you a favour.

The toilets and showers are kept very clean and do need updating, but this is a small thing as if you love camping and the outdoors then this site is located in one of the best places for this.

We wanted to go on walks and found them very helpful and copied some walks for us and advised where to go etc.

We felt very safe as John & Tracy do security checks at night etc and make sure everyone are happy 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lisa m 3 reviews from this member

 We have just come back from a Bank Holiday weekend with 3 other families. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves on this campsite (although the weather could have been better!)

We arrived to a fairly empty site and the managers said we could pitch where we liked as long as there was enough space between tents.

We managed to pitch all families together and even have a gazebo which was nearly blown away!

The site is very basic with only a couple of toilets/showers for each sex. However, I never had to queue for these even though the site got busy! The children had fun in the stream running past and the visiting ducks to the tent often had people shooing them out! There is no shop on site, however, there is an 'Arkwights' corner shop just over the bridge from the site which seems to sell everything! The pub opposite did not have any room for us to book a meal - apparently you have to book a week in advance for bank holidays.

We visited the cheese shop in Hartington and 'Thor's Cave' which is not for the faint hearted. The steep steps and climb up to it are not easy! All in all, we had fun and would say this is a typical rural campsite with basic facilities but very friendly managers where nothing was too much trouble! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Charliedog 2 reviews from this member

 This is a nice site with beautiful views and friendly staff but I feel the need to clarify a few points.

There is some road noise (depending on where you pitch) but the babbling river generally drowns this out so it's not much of a problem.

The pub is wonderfully close BUT it can get extremely busy. This is not your local quiet boozer but a lively food pub where you can struggle to find a seat especially when they have karaoke on!

We had to pay 2/night for the dog but the gate to the exercise field was locked and the staff told us they didn't have a key. Unfortunately our dog is too big to lift over a high gate / wall and not quite big enough to jump over so I'm not sure what we were paying for really.

Although I told them we'd never visited before I did feel like I was interrogating them in order to get necessary information such as the dog field and location of the drinking water supply.

The toilets are 'adequate' and much better then some sites but there's no chair in the showers so it took some serious ballet to get my trousers on and feet dried and back in my wellies! The push taps are absolutely dreadful as they flow into small sinks at incredible pressure if you try to put your hands under them water just goes everywhere and I suspect this is why the toilet block smells damp.

All in all though the price is reasonable and the area's excellent for walking. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kiwi62 1 review from this member

 The site is 2 large fields - lower with the stream running beside it and more sheltered and the upper with better views but more exposed. Loads of flat sites along the river. There are also other spots where just one unit can get if you want seclusion.

Good pub over the road and handy shop about 400metres from the campsite entrance. Life is taken in hands when exiting the campsite by car as on a nasty blind bend.

Toilet blocks are a little small, with only 2 toilets & 2 showers for each of male and female, if whole site is packed but I cannot imagine this really happening as was not even half full on the best weather weekend of the year. Bank Holidays may be different. Facilities were always kept clean and well stocked.

Had a great stay here in a very pleasant campsite with very friendly and helpful managers. Have camped a lot around the world and this is one of the best sites I have been to in the UK and will definitely be returning. Hopefully soon. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JMFish 1 review from this member

 This was my first camping trip - I went with my husband, 2 children and one other family.

The site was a beautiful big field with a stream running through it, it was clean and green and felt like the countryside. The children loved having the freedom to roam.

The toilet block was very well placed and very nicely looked after - even with a full site it was kept clean and pleasant. 2 toilets and 2 showers (electric and excellent)but no queues.

There was a covered area to eat in case of bad weather but we didn't need it, and washing up facilities with hot water.

Bins were handy and emptied frequently.

I would say that this was a well run campsite with extremely friendly wardens.

In fact within a couple of hours of arriving my youngest had been sick - arggh - but the warden was wonderful and took her coat (the main casualty) and washed and dried it for the following morning - 5 star treatment - we felt safe and well looked after.

The area is great - the Manifold trail is just nearby and there is a handy shop, tea shop and pub to fall back on. 


Previous     135 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bank House Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bank House Farm?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Bank House Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Buxton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2567 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement