Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Henlow Bridge Lakes

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Bedfordshire > Henlow Village > Henlow Bridge Lakes > Reviews

Henlow Bridge Lakes
Bridge End Road
Henlow
Henlow Village
Bedfordshire   (Browse area)
SG16 6LN
Tel: 01462 812645
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 200 pitches. 6 Lodges. 6 Cabins. 3 Pods
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 112 Reviews
                9/10 from 112 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  112 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rogerandjulie 1 review from this member

 Just got back from Henlow Bridge Lakes. Easter weekend. Lovely site first time visit, showers and toilet block very clean and nice and warm, radio playing is an added bonus in the background. Staff on site are very helpful and friendly, go out of their way to help. Childrens play area looked very nice, although our children are too grown up for that. The grounds are laid out nice with nature in mind all very organic. Little noise from railway and main road but we went fishing so that realy didn't bother us at all. Fishing was very good, the swims are nice and flat and large, so you don't have to struggle with banks and slopes with lots of fishing gear. Ducks and Drakes are extremely friendy. Love the fact that your water is right next to the electric hook up, very handy. Large feild with a goal post for those budding football players. Very nice walks around the perimetre for dog walks or just to go for a nice walk in the country side. We will be back again soon. Keep up the good work, and a site worth visiting. 


Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fisherwidow 10 reviews from this member

 Just come back from Henlow Bridge Lakes and can only agree with the majority of previous reviews. Unfortunately we picked the wrong time to go since they are currently making two more lakes and with site traffic during the day the roadways were a bit mucky. Apparently they should be finished in a couple of months. Not really much of a problem - the major problem for us was the noise from the railway line. They were doing something to the lines and there was constant noise from about midnight until 4am which kept me awake - earplugs notwithstanding! However a very good site - especially the footpaths which are very handy if you are going to Champneys Henlow Grange for any pampering! Apparently the site will be running a cafe soon which we believe will be in the main facilities building for now and they may build a separate cafe in a couple of years time. 


Date of Visit: November 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Poppyandskipper 14 reviews from this member

 What a great site! Had a lovely weekend, flat pitches, water and electric on each pitch. Very well maintained and extremely clean. Site Warden very friendly and helpful.

Had great meal at 5 Bells in Henlow - with £5 discount from caravan park - excellent food! Noise from road and railway line hardly noticeable in the van - suspect when trees and shrubs have grown they will buffer this noise somewhat.

Owner has plans for shop and tea roon in the future which will make this site even better!

Altogether a site we would strongly recommend and will certainly revisit next year! 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Weluvmotorhoming 1 review from this member

 Stayed for two nights recently, warden very friendly and helpful, pitches gravel hardstanding, nice and level with water tap and electric meter to each pitch. Electric cards £1. 00, we used £1. 60 over the two nights inc tv, laptop, blown air heating, electric kettle etc so very reasonable. Amenity block excellent, spotlessly clean, with showers, basins, laundry room, dishwashing etc. Site three minute walk to Arlsey train station with frequent trains to Hitchin - nice town for shopping, Welwyn Garden City, or even London. Obviously given position some road and rail noise but it certainly didn't disturb us. Ate out one evening at The Crown in Henlow which is approx 10 minute walk from site, food and service excellent, would definitely recommend. All in all a lovely friendly little site we would certainly not hesitate to stay again. 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kipperkid 26 reviews from this member

 Attractive little site, mostly hardstanding but some grass. 2 pitches suitable for disabled.

Plenty of water taps, pitches all have electric, I think some pitches you pay flat rate per night, where we were was metered (worked out much cheaper than usual cost of ehu - we used £2-worth in 2 nights and we were cooking on electric as well as using heated floor).

Pitch fees: we paid £17pn for 2 adults and motorhome but it varies depending on length of stay and time of year.

Facilities block is surrounded by hanging baskets and potted plants - looked lovely.

The area around the block is lit at night, facilities are open during the day but locked at night (£20 cash deposit required for key to these and the site gate).

There is a small library area with books for sale/exchange, tourist info stuff, walks leaflets and a desk area with seats, electric sockets and wifi if you want to use your laptop.

Lights and radio come on automatically when you enter the block. Disabled facilities and baby change. Washbasins are not in cubicles and are too close together - if they were all in use it would be very crowded!

They also have rally field and meeting room available for hire. Camping pods looked very nice with their own bbq and picnic table.

2 Fishing lakes, both have access for disabled anglers. It says fishing is available on the river too, but that looked seriously overgrown with weeds/reeds to me (non-angler!). Shop is angling stuff, not groceries, although it does have hot/cold drinks and ice creams.

And yes, the site is located where the A507 crosses the main railway line so unless the wind is blowing the noise away from you, you will always hear traffic noise (does calm down at night and wasn't noticeable inside the van).

If you like to relax on site during the day and value quiet, this may not be the site for you. It does, however, still manage to feel a peaceful and relaxing site. I'm not a great fan of Leylandii but I do wonder whether this might be a suitable location for a row of them to block some of the noise out, if it could be done without putting the whole site in shade!

I have no children so take the child friendliness rating with a pinch of salt - it won't accept the review without it! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jtjames 2 reviews from this member

 Visited on 27th August. Greeted by Keith, very helpful. Pitch very nice, completely level making it a very easy set up. Toilet/shower block lovely, very clean. Great Digital TV, all channels available. Electric is paid on a meter, only paid £1, used about 70p. Individual water hook up. Drainage & rubbish facilities extremely clean, all new. Small shop in site but everything else is a drive away. Slight motorway traffic noise. Good fishing facilities if you are into that, small pitches for fisherman with a great lake, unsure of cost as we are not fisherman. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Jeanne56 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed on the august bank holiday. Wardens were first class and the site is immaculate. A new shower block has been built with piped music, a reception area with a library etc and it was excellent. The downside was the noise the A 507 was a constant noise and very busy. The railway line is nearby and it is a mainline to kings cross with lots of trains which come by at great speed every few minutes. Apart from the noise the site is well situated for walking. A short walk to both villages with dog friendly pubs in each and lots of footpaths with a good stock of maps in the reception area. The site is real bonus if you are into fishing just take your ear plugs! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cheekychiquita 3 reviews from this member

 The site is a small family owned site, you are greeted with a friendly welcome, shown where to pitch and then you have to go back and pay! What a refreshing change to the money grabbing sites that think of money before people.

The views are amazing, the people fantastic, and the help is 2nd to none. They told us where we could walk the dog on and off the lead, and I must say I canít wait to go back as the dog enjoyed it as much as we did.

The facilities, WOW hot water in the washing up area, with washing machines, tumble dryers and a tv to watch, ohhh and I didnít see anyone use it while I was there only us. The showers were clean and loads of hot water, yes you have to press a button but it was free and hot. Toilets were very clean. So clean in fact that when my husband went to take a shower they had closed them for cleaning.

The site was immaculate; the people wonderful, DEFINITELY BOOK this one

There are 2 reasons that people might not book but this did not bother us

1 £20 deposit for the key for the toilets, they are open during the day only locked at night

2 There is no food in the shop

At the end of the day this is camping, if you canít survive without a shop maybe you should book a hotel, THIS IS AN A1 RATED CAMPSITE 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mrtilly 2 reviews from this member

 Have been to this campsite on many occasions and have enjoyed it immensely.

This year the modernisation has turned this into one of the best sites I have ever visited. The pitches are brilliant, the staff are superb, and the facilities are second to none.

I would recommend this site to anyone.

The new toilet block is as good as any I have been to there are even lowered sinks especially for children. For the first time ever I have seen a TV fitted in the washroom so customers can watch TV whilst doing their washing 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: NottinghamIron 1 review from this member

 We stayed here from Friday-Monday of the bank holiday weekend. We arrived after the gates were locked after being stuck in traffic but the warden was happy to let us onto site and was still very friendly.

We were in the side field with two other tents, and even though the A507 and East Coast Mainline are nearby the noise isn't really noticeable.

We were primarily there to fish, and the facilities are excellent. £10 for the day, and staying on site we were able to get the best spots before those off site arrived after 7am.

Good walking routes surround the lakes and fields, plenty to do even if you don't fish. We went to the Engineers Arms in the village to watch the football on Saturday night, but there were plenty of other places we could have chosen from. There's also a Morrisons and Tesco within 10 mins drive.

We'll definitely go back here. 


Previous     112 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Henlow Bridge Lakes child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Henlow Bridge Lakes?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Henlow Bridge Lakes dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Henlow Village      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Bedfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3437 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement