Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Merthyr Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Harlech > Merthyr Farm Reviews

Merthyr Farm
Merthyr Farm
Harlech
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL46 2TP
Tel: 07779579225  or  01766 780897
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 14 EHU pitches, 10 non EHU
Open: 8th May Until 20th September 2020

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 111 Reviews
                10/10 from 111 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  111 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We regret that our site is currently closed because of the advice and implications surrounding the outbreak of Coronavirus.

To enquire about a booking later in the season or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Juanban 1 review from this member

 Stayed for 3 nights at the end of August. Site owners are lovely and very helpful. We stayed in a tent in the non hook up field and it was extremely windy. So much so that I slept in the car one night as I was convinced that the tent was going to take a trip in the Irish sea - which is just down the hill from the site.

Will definitely go back next year with my caravan because the site itself is just beautiful and is in a good location. Can only reiterate what other campers have said about the views - astonishing. Very reasonably priced and just a short drive to Harlech castle, Portmeirion, Porthmadog.

Toilet block is basic but very clean and the showers were not powerful at all.

The local shop is open until 10o'clock - this is in Harlech and it sells a good range of those camping essentials you are likely to forget. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Davilla 8 reviews from this member

 Just stayed for 4 nights, and we loved the place, the views from our tent were breathtaking and the owner was very helpful. The facilities were basic but ok for a farm site. We stayed in the non hook up field and had a fairly good pitch. Good walks from the farm and had a fridge for keeping things cool which was good. The cost was very reasonable as well, we paid £40 for the 4night. We enjoyed our stay so much we will return soon. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paulieccc 1 review from this member

 I stopped here on a solo bicycle tour at the start of July.

After cycling 100km that day I was not at all pleased at the size of the hill getting up to the farm, I thought it would never end.

I must say when I got to the top the views were absolutely breathtaking! Well worth it.

Owners were very friendly and I even got a spin to the town for a beer after my long day.

At 5 pounds a night it was a bargain too.

I will return one day, but hopefully with a wife and kids and not a damn bicycle! :) 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Louisecroome 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site up in the hills away from the busy coast. But not too far to drive down, about 10-15 minutes down to Harlech.

Amazing beaches all along coast and short drive to Portmeirion and Portmadoc. Great views of the coast from up high and very safe for children to run around and play.

The showers and toilets were very basic, but I think they were goingto update them this year. Cows all around in the fields which was lovely to look at.

There were a few hook ups. Would definitely go back again. There is two ways in so if towing a caravan just check which way in would be best as it is a narrow lane with no passing places. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wet Waters 4 reviews from this member

 Despite timing our stay for possibly the worst weather in months, this has to be one of the most picturesque sites we have stayed at. High up above Harlech, the site has amazing views across the bay to Port Merion, Porthmadog and beyond to Cricceth.

The facilities though basic are warm, clean and more than adequate and the showers are hot and have both stools and hooks for clothing which is a rarity. There is a handy and large fridge freezer for everyone to use and there is plenty of hot water for washing up.

The couple who own the site are welcoming and were more than willing to help us put up the awning (I think they felt for a 6 month pregnant woman trying to haul an awning up!).

We will return to this site (though we may wait for better weather!), and our 3year old daughter loved seeing the sheep that kept appearing in the field. My husband and I also got our amusement from a fluffy tabby cat that shouted hello through the awning to us.

All in all a lovely no frills site. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andrea baker 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site for 5 nights and had a great relaxing time.

Every pitch is spacious and all have fantastic views and ever changing scenery.

The owners are very friendly and more than willing to help you should you need it.

If you follow your sat nav you will turn onto a little country lane that is very narrow a steep which is fine if like us you only have a tent, However if you are towing a caravan or trailer then you ignore the sat nav when it tells you to turn and carry on through Harlich and out along the cost road where your sat nav will send you up a much wider country road that is fine to tow up. This adds a few miles onto your journey but is a much better option.

Being ex-caravan owners we would have found this 2nd route no problem.

I promise you will not be disappointed  


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Daveycrockett 2 reviews from this member

 This site is a true gem. As soon as you leave the main road and start to climb towards the farm, you pass through a small wooded area. When you enter the clearing the views take your breath away. After about a mile and half you reach the farm entrance where you are met by sheep and cows roaming freely

The site is spread over 2 fields electric and non electric, there are no worries about space as it only has 14 pitches and each pitch has a view to die for.

There is a plaque on 1 of the pitches from someone who camped there for over 30 years sadly they have passed away it reads "Just what the doctor ordered" never a true word has been spoken.

The site has 2 showers with red hot water, toilets sink area for washing and also a fridge freezer to keep the beer chilled. Bryn and Lizzie who run the site are 2 of the nicest people I have met they cant do enough to help, as this is a working farm they are out working all day but still have time to stop for a chat and a drink {lol).

You are only 3 miles from Harlech and the beach so even though you feel you are on top of the world civilisation is on your doorstep if you want it, but once you hear the silence and see the views,staying put is the best option.I could go on all day about this site there are no minus points. The best thing is to go there, I promise you wll not be disappointed. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Richardandcathy 3 reviews from this member

 The number one asset of this site is the view, the pictures don't lie - it's like being on top of the world. It can get a bit windy up there at times.

We had one night in the last weekend in june and paid £12 for two adults and an 8 year old. There were eight tents and one caravan pitched during our stay so things were very quiet.

There is no road noise, you are miles away from the main road. The last few miles of road leading up to the site is both steep and narrow - not for the faint hearted if towing something.

The site is two fields attached to a working farm - the owners took it over last year and are gradually making improvements. At the moment, things are quite basic, there is a small shower and toilet block (clean and tidy apart from the odd insect) but no washing up facility (we used the disabled toilet basin). Showers were free but I think they are intending to introduce a charge.

There is a single stand pipe in one of the fields for drinking water. There seemed to ba quite a lot of pitches with electric hookups but we did not use one. There are facilities for recycling. There is no shop of any kind - nearest in Harlech.

We had a BBQ, which seemed to be fine as everyone had one. Then we sat and watched the view of the sun going down over the Western sea. It was fantastic.

We were lucky with our pitch, some of the field is gently sloping, if you don't mind sleeping on a slope that's fine. We like flat pitches and did manage to find one.

Locally, this is a lovely spot. The beach behind Harlech is great with a cheap car park near by with plenty of spaces. Miles of golden sand suitable for sand castles. There were some lovely cafes and restaurants in Harlech itself as well as a theatre for that evening treat. You can see right into Portmerion from the site. Barmouth is 8 miles away and snowdonia is not much further.

We will be returning. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Topmasher 2 reviews from this member

 We have just spent the most idyllic weekend at this campsite. We are a family of 4, our children are 7 and 4 and we have a small dog. I cannot begin to tell you about the views, they are breathtaking. The owners make you feel very welcome.

I would recommend this site to anyone. The prices are very reasonable. It is not on a beach, so there is a car ride and a small walk to get onto Harlech beach, but that was lovely too, not too crowded.

The only downside is that the shower facilities are very basic, but that would not put me off going again, in fact I have already been checking the diary. The owners have said they are investing in the shower block next year.

There are no amenities within walking distance, that could be a bad or a good thing. It certainly did not affect our holiday. Absolutely wonderful, the nicest campsite we have ever been to and can't wait to go again. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Liz+rob 2 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic place! We made a last minute booking through this website for this site for ourselves with a caravan and friends with a tent and having not seen any photos set off not knowing what it would be like. To say we were pleasantly surprised would be a massive understatement to say the least.

As soon as you turn down the driveway to the farm you are greeted with the best view from any campsite that we have ever seen (and we’ve been to quite a few!). The location on top of the hill above Harlech lends itself to spectacular panoramic views from the Llyn Peninsula right across Snowdonia to the Rhinogs behind you.

The owners were around to great us and were very friendly and helpful- we were made to feel very welcome. It is a small grassy field with room for only about 10 caravans (with hook-ups) and another grassy field next to it for tents. It wasn’t busy when we were there so we put the tent on a pitch next to the caravan. If it was full though the pitches are pretty big so you could easily have a caravan and tent on the same pitch without feeling at all cramped.

The facilities are fairly basic but were nice and clean and well maintained and were more than enough for the size of the place with two hot showers and three toilets. There isn’t a washing machine at the moment but the owners are looking to put in a laundry room in the near future which will be a welcome addition to the site. We stayed longer than we had planned to and were starting to get low on clean clothes!

If you are looking for a small, quite beautiful site then look no further. We had a holiday the kids will never forget- they got to feed lambs and loved going to take carrots to the horse every day. Both Harlech & Llandanwg beaches are only 10 minutes away and there is plenty to do in the surrounding area. We’ve already booked again for the summer holidays! 


Previous     111 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Merthyr Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Merthyr Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Merthyr Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Harlech      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Stratford Caravan & Motorhome Show 26/06 to 28/06
Over 350 new and used caravans and motorhomes, camp over with 3 nights of fantastic live entertainment, bar and food ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1874 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020