Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Amerden Caravan & Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Berkshire > Maidenhead > Amerden Caravan & Camping Site Reviews

Amerden Caravan & Camping Site
Old Marsh Lane
Dorney Reach
Maidenhead
Berkshire   (Browse area)
SL6 0DZ
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 50
Open: Closed For 2019, Reopening 2020

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 161 Reviews
                9/10 from 161 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  161 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Anita Eady 1 review from this member

We have returned from our second visit to the site and it was just as good as the first one. The owners are very friendly and keep the site immaculately clean. Though there is no club house or swimming pool, our eight year old rates it as one of his favourite sites - and so do we!
The location is good for Legoland and Windsor, and the motorway didn't bother us (despite the fact that we live in a rural town and are not used to much noise).
The path along the river is lovely, if only to stroll along and look at the houses of very wealthy people! A note about the car boot sale held close to the site - it is expensive to get in at 2 per person!

Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ksb2803 1 review from this member

Wonderful campsite with friendly and helpful owners! 2 min walk from the river, weir and lock. Modern and clean shower block! We have been here at least 8 times in the past 3 years and always had a great experience. We have been to about 6 other campsites of various sizes and this one is one of our favourites. Children always meet new friends and play on the small park area together. Also, excellent value for money.

You may read in other reviews that it's near the motorway so you get traffic noise. You can hear the road and this would usually really bother me but because the noise is constant (more like having a hairdryer on a low setting)you get used to it and it doesn't affect us.

Sainsburys just up the road and Legoland 25mins away. We will be using this campsite for many year to come!

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kalnsal 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a 3 night stay here with our 2 children. It was the perfect base for a surprise trip to Legoland. We also enjoyed a lovely walk down the bank of the river Thames.

Toilets and shower block were very clean with plenty of hot water. Also free use of a microwave (handy when you arrive back late from a full day at Legoland!)

The play area was a fab way for the boys to amuse themselves while we put the tent up.

People have mentioned about the noise from the M4 although neither us nor the children found this a problem and were situated at the motorway end of the site.

A gem of a site - I just hope there is space when we want to visit again!

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lara1 11 reviews from this member

WOW! What a lovely little site, ideal for weekends. Such friendly site owners, facilities are absolutely great, spotlessly clean. They have a summerhouse with microwave, fridge, freezer and ironing board (iron available at reception) for use by campers. Big showers. Vending machine whose prices don't rip you off. Picnic tables / benches dotted around. Usual dishwashing facilities with bowls and wash liquid.

Level pitches in a lovely old orchard. Owners gave us a big bag of cooking apples and the recipe for Apple Crumble!

The 3minute walk to the Thames was lovely down a little lane with a large field to one side. Bray Lock is really picturesque, our little one loved watching the night disco boats go through the lock (midnight walk at 8.30am,she loved it)!

Sainsburys close by for the essentials instead of trying to fit them all in the boot.

Windsor/Windsor Castle a few minutes in the car, where you can have a great day by the river or on it.

Will definitely use this site again when we want a weekend break last minute.

Yes, there is a definite drone of traffic from the M4 (I think) but you do get used to it, becomes dull background noise.

The small children's playground is nice and well maintained.

All in all a brill little site, well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pipsqueak13 2 reviews from this member

My family and I went to this campsite so that we could visit Legoland Windsor as it is only seven miles away, but we did not go as the campervan broke down and had to be towed to the garage - we left the tickets in the glovebox!

The owners and support staff were extremely helpful - they even lent us a spare tent!

The facilities were great - there is a fridge, freezer, washing up facilities, tumble dryer and a microwave. There is a vending machine by the washing up sinks selling crisps, chocolate, sweets and drinks.

The toilet block was very clean and the free showers were spacious with hot water in the ladies. There are 3 showers, 3 toilets and a hairdryer (20p).

My sister (eight) enjoyed the play park - we were pitched right next to it in the middle of the site. The grass is very well kept and there are tall hedges and trees around most of the site. We walked to Maidenhead (about 2 or 3 miles away)a nice walk and there are horse chestnut trees - lots of conkers had fallen. We would recommend Dave's Place (or something like that) cafe in the town centre, good food and reasonable prices.

As other people have said, the heathrow plane noise is very loud when you are trying to get to sleep, and the M4 is close by - ask for a pitch at the other end of the site where the road noise isn't as bad.

A great campsite, would highly recommend.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Thebrowns10 3 reviews from this member

Stayed for 5 nights at this site as near to family. This site is small but nicely laid out, with all types of units mixed together. It is well kept and wardens were extremely helpful when we had a problem with jockey wheel on arrival.
The toilets and showers very clean and temp of showers lovely once it reached temperature. One little item that all campers appreciate - lots of lovely hooks on the inside of shower doors! Also disabled shower cubicle had seat in it which my husband really appreciated.
Under cover dishwashing place, fridge and freezer facility for campers and also laundry facilities. All in all facilities very good.
The location great for London, nearby Windsor, Legoland, and if you love cycling or walking right along side the Thames towpath. The only negative was the M4 noise. It is constant and can be instrusive to sleep as it does not diminish at night. So as long as you go there aware of that no problem. Very nice site.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Suz56 2 reviews from this member

Lovely site if it wasn't by the M4 and under a flight path! Picked it as the site was close to legoland and intended to stay for 2 nights. We left after one night as it was too noisy to sleep. Toilets etc all very clean, friendly staff but would definitely not stay here again purely because of the noise.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Freeatlast 2 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site as the previous reviewers have described. The whole site and especially the toilets are very clean and staff friendly. The site is small, even so there are some bays separated by hedges. The site is very well tended with the grass kept short.

The motorway noise could be intrusive as the site is so close to the M4, though mostly it was a dull rumble. It is under the Heathrow Airport flightpath but the aircraft noise stops at night. The noise is a reminder of what life was like when we used to live near here!

It is close to the Thames and the many attractions to the west of London, and is just a short distance from the M4 junction. It is also in an area where there are few campsites. There is a large supermarket a short drive away.

A great site, we will certainly go back there.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Sharondisney 1 review from this member

Have Just returned from a 3 night stay at Amerden. We chose this site as it was so close to Legoland. Site itself is well maintained and toilets/showers were very clean with plenty of hot water. The river is a 5 min walk from the site and it is a very pleasant walk with some lovely views, however this did not make up for the excessive noise of the M4 which is literally NEXT to the camp site. It's such a shame as it is a lovely site. But the constant noise is too much and we did end up leaving a day early as we needed to go home to be able to sleep past 5am!

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: S.Cator 1 review from this member

Have just come back fom spending 4 days/3 nights at Amerden camp site, can not rate it highly enough we will definitely be going back.

The site has fantastic facilities toilets and shower block very clean, excellent washing up facilities, washing machine, tumble dryer a must when you have spent a day at Thorpe Park and you come back with wet clothes! microwave,fridge and freezer

The people who run the site are so helpful nothing is to much trouble the live in a camper van next to the reception so are always on hand great when you turn up and find you have left your gas behind and the shops have shut for the day.

We spent one day at Legoland for the younger one and the following day at Thorpe Park for the older ones excellent site situated close to both attractions giving short travelling time and maximum attraction time.

The only 2 criticism's we had was the site is just off the M4 so you have back ground traffic noise and the other was the planes taking off from Heathrow you only tended to hear them when the site was quiet ie.At night-time.

One thing I would recommend is that you ring the site direct to book a pitch don't book via e-mail the lady who own's the site answers those. She lives in the house and does't have the diary you need to speak to the people who run the site, they are not the same people.

Fantastic site and people who run it.We would highly recommend it to anyone.

P.S our children did not use the play area as they are to old but it look very good and we saw lots of children using it.

Previous     161 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Berkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2463 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019