Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - South Lea Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

South Lea Caravan Park
The Balk
Pocklington
Pocklington
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO42 2NXCheck Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 132 Reviews
                9/10 from 132 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  132 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The staffy clan 5 reviews from this member

Spent three nights at this site and must give Nicholas & Louise full marks for the way the site is run&priced can,t say a bad thing about this site. The (RITZ) shower block is clean no sorry spotlessly clean (cleaned twice daily) with as much hot water as you need. The owners can,t do enough for there guest,s the local information they give is first class i.e. doctors,vets local pubs,take aways,the list is endless. The dog walking area is the RITZ OF DOG WALKS and their even provide poo bags & poo bins on the dog walk (so no excuse for not cleaning it up) The park for kiddies is great.
This site is well worth a visiting & must be put top of the list for anyone visiting Yorkshire Wolds or just a weekend break in York. We will be using this site again and again next year.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jo-annB 1 review from this member

Had A Fantastic weekend here, First time camping since a child! Really feel we have been spoilt now having found such a great site the first time. Took our son who's 9 forgot at times we had him, he just played football on the fab play field, we camped on this area too and it was fab just to see kids having fun (not so good at 7am) The showers are squeaky clean, the couple who own the site (Louise and Nick) really work hard you will see them out and about all day,  Louise's mum was also on site to help out,  Its a pretty place to stay with pocklington only a couple of minutes away by car, you can't walk as the outside road is very fast without a footpath. York is about 20 mins away with lots to do. The only downside to our stay where the little corn flies who joined us, they don't make a noise and are very tiny its just me I'm a wimp. Give this site a go and I'm sure you too will be recommending it.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ShazCav 1 review from this member

Been to this site 3 years running and still do not have a bad word to say about it!
Change of hands hasn't affected the quality of service on this site at all.
lovely toilet block kept clean at all times.
Helpful and friendly owners. Well kept grass and a sizeable dog run and playing area for the kids.
Quiet at night with a relaxed and chilled out feel.
Pub nearby does pizzas to collect but they were a bit undercooked.
Would recomend this site to all! five star all the way! :)

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MJS100 1 review from this member

We recently visited the UK from Finland, from a quality standpoint South Lea was by far the best campsite we used. The showerblock was immaculate and cleaned more than once a day, the pitches are roomy due to the large overall size of the park. The facilities are good with a large well stocked childrens play area. Overall the campsite is maintained to a high standard. The owners are professional and extremely helpful. This is based on a stay of several weeks not a couple of nights, and also measured against other campsites visited and used(briefly) local to South Lea.

The location is perfect for an extended visit to York and its many attractions, its on the A1079 20 minutes drive to York city centre, or there is an easy park and ride closer. Also a good base for Yorkshire and esp the East Riding. Good local shopping plus 45 minutes from Leeds city centre. If you are visiting York, Yorkshire, East Riding we can thoroughly recommend South Lea

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dwassell 3 reviews from this member

Excellent site starting from a very warm welcome and after a quick explanation regarding site rules etc.
We were directed to our pitch which was level and spacious.

The toilet / shower block was spotless.

The play area was huge and included football nets, basketball hoops as well as swings slide and climbing frame. The kids loved it and I would recommend this site to anyone.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Joeandkev 6 reviews from this member

What a fantastic site!, just returned from a weekend here spent with friends in their camper van. As we had children the owner located us over looking the childrens play area, which was excellent . The pitches are large and well spread out. nice and level with well kept grass. There is a lady that comes round in the morning selling milk, juice and newspapers and even the ice cream van came in the evenings! (to my friends delight as she went back to childhood and ordered a cider ice lolly!)

The toilet block and showers are very well kept and extremely clean. lots of hooks on the back of the doors to hang up your clothes.
There are some nice personal touches to the place including books and magazines in reception to borrow. Very safe with a barrier at the entrance.

Nicely placed for the centre of Pocklington and if you leave the site and turn right and then take a left it is great for cycling.
Excellent tv coverage.

We had a really good time and will be returning, I have no problem in recommending this site to anyone. Well done, keep up the good work.

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The 2 Alis 5 reviews from this member

Excellent site, first class toilet block, lovely well mown lawn and lots of hanging baskets. Large grassy pitches. Fiendly owners who obviously take great pride in their site. Ice cream van calls in the evening. Daily delivery of milk, eggs, juice and papers. Security barrier (£5 refundable deposit). Very good dog walk. Couldn't fault it.

Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Saahjane&jason 29 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 5 nights during half term. What a lovely site, level well spaced out pitches an excellent dog walk and spotless facilities.
The owners who took over in January were extremely helpful we asked about "safe" places to take our son cycling and they recommended Dolby Forest which was wonderful, they enquired after if we had liked it which was really nice. Couldn't recommend this site enough and will definitely be telling our friends!

Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andrew&Tracey 6 reviews from this member

Just back from spending 3 days at South Lea. It now has new owners and all I can say is 'what a lovely lady' that now owns the park. We pitched our tent right on the edge of the play area which was great as we could sit and watch the kids playing and not have to worry about where they had wandered off to. It wasnt noisy here either as most of the children went back to their units around 9 o'clock at night. The actual play area could do with a bit of a revamp but my children were happy enough playing there.

They have a small paddock area near the owners house where you can pitch but there are no hook ups in that part but the other 72 pitches all have hook up points. The campsite was as usual extremely clean and well looked after. There was hardly any noise at night from other campers either which could have been down to the fact that it was extremely cold.

This is one of the nicest campsites we've stayed at in the last few years and are quite happily going back again for a week at Spring Bank. The toilet and shower blocks are always well looked after and very clean.

Pocklington itself is only a 5 minute car drive away and has a somerfield. Theres also plenty of pubs and places to eat. Theres a small market held on Tuesdays aswell. You can walk into town but theres no pavement for the first part of the way and the road is extremely busy so I wouldnt recommend walking with small children or pushchairs.

Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Patc1 1 review from this member

This was our first visit to this site and we were delighted. The site was full as it was Easter weekend but it was very clean, very quiet and ideal for all ages. it is very close to Pocklington town which has a choice of places to eat and a selection of shops.
The children's play area on the site is ideal for young children and does not disturb people in their caravans.
The Wolds is a lovely area for walking and driving.
We will certainly return to this site.

Previous     132 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2635 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019