Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Flodabay Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Isle Of Harris > Flodabay Farm Reviews

Flodabay Farm
4 Flodabay
Isle Of Harris
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS3 3HA
Tel: 01859 530353  or  07767 751847
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 3
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 131 Reviews
                10/10 from 131 Reviews

Photos (15)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  131 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: H Belles 3 reviews from this member

 If you want complete peace and quiet, a real taste of Harris with fabulous food and service this is the place to go!

Total privacy and tranquillity with the option of amazing home cooked food to eat on site or take home, a must visit if you are in a motor home or camper.

I travelled alone and felt totally safe in my isolated site (as requested), every effort was made to meet my requirements. The service and friendliness is what I have come to expect on this truly magical island. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Happy Roamer 5 reviews from this member

 On the Golden Road on the east coast which is a remarkable drive and very different to the west coast. The 2 spaces overlooking the bay have their own picnic tables and fabulous views. I spent 4 nights here and thoroughly enjoyed it. Tony and his family are very welcoming and helpful with eggs, bacon, sausage, smoked salmon, oatcakes and ready to cook pollack with dill and butter. All delivered to the door and delicious!

This site is a must when you are visiting Harris, not least because there is a CDP point. No shower/toilet block but motor homes/caravans have their own so it wasn't a problem. Steep access but motorhomes cope with it easily - if in doubt, phone Tony for advice.

There are 2 lochs with trout fishing and a rod is offered if you don't have one. Young children would need a lot of supervision but older ones who would appreciate the fishing would find this site unique.

The Harris Tweed company at Grosebay are a must see. The best tailoring outside of Saville Row and local weavers supplying the tweed. I now own 2 jackets! Superb local art cafe worth a visit along with other artist galleries.

Nothing is too much trouble and this site deserves to be full all the time. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lisa81 9 reviews from this member

 Amazing site with beautiful uninterrupted views of several bays on east coast (we had pitch one).

Had electric hook up, water and waste facilities. Toilets planned for next year.

What makes this site so good is the friendliness of the family running it who go out of their way to make you welcome. They can provide cooked meals and home made produce. We can highly recommend the pork & Apple sausages, venison sausages, oatcakes, rhubarb & ginger jam.

Little tee for golfers which our young son loved and owner even gave him extra balls when we left.

Two inner lochs with walks.

Surreal site, just amazing and so so friendly. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: PeterandSue 2 reviews from this member

 What a gem!

The owner and his wife could not have been more helpful and deserve all the success that should come their way. This site is worth visiting in its own right as well as being handy for the ferries from Leverburgh, and the boats to St Kilda. Without their help in looking after our dog we would not have been able to do the wonderful trip to St Kilda. The family looked after our dog from 7am until 8pm and did a great job. We had a delicious meal delivered to our door and bought some of their shoreline eggs, smoked salmon and bacon. All very good. The views from plot 1 and 2 are amazing, looking out across the coast. Plot 3 looks inland and is still pretty amazing. If you enjoy total peace and quiet with wonderful scenery, this site is not to be missed. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brysi 1 review from this member

 We made our first visit to Harris & had a great time. It was helped by the weather and sites like this one at Flodabay. The proprietor was very accommodating over the phone and gave us information about his facilities. When we met him and saw the site it was everything he described and more. It is a small site with space for 4 motorhomes or 3 and 1 caravan. On the top site you have a lovely view across the bay to Skye. It is one of the few sites in Harris that has toilet waste facilities; there is water and electricity but no toilet or shower block. This did not bother us as we wanted a quiet scenic place to spend 2 nights.

The owner offered to loan us fishing rods to use on his lochs. There are 2 lochs which he has clearly sign posted and one of them has otters living in it but we were not fortunate enough to see them. He is a good cook and makes his own sausages, which you can buy along with home cured bacon, fresh eggs and he also prepares and seasons fish for you to cook yourself. This is not the full extent of his culinary talents as he prepared different meals for other campers to cook in their vans and he even delivers them to the door. We enjoyed his sausages, fish, eggs, scallops and king prawns. There is even a herb garden at your disposal; fresh mint and chives added to our culinary experience at Flodabay.

There is a restaurant close to the site, in walking distance and others not too far away if you wish to take your van out. The site is hard standing and is protected by a gate. Just before reaching the site we had the pleasure of watching seals sun bathing on some nearby rocks and we enjoyed walking into Manish Township and sitting in the bay with the sheep and birds. It was also a pleasure meeting teh owner and the 3 teenage children. We have no hesitation in recommending Flodabay and hope to return there again some time. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Shirl56 7 reviews from this member

 We spent the last night of our Hebridean holiday in this site - and we'll be back. The setting is stunning, only 3 pitches and breathtaking views from them all. Electric hook-up, fresh water, grey waste and CDP (one of only 2 we found on the entire island!). No toilet/shower block yet - in the planning stages. Tony, the owner, made us very welcome and pointed out the hill lochs to me - a keen trout angler.

Each pitch has its own picnic table and benches and we ate dinner surrounded by the 'lunar landscape', views across the sea to the other islands and birdsong all around.

After dinner I set off with my rod to explore the lochs. Guests at Flodabay have exclusive free access to these lochs. Walking was difficult as the heather is really deep in places but it was worth the effort to spend time tempting the trout. I like to fish dry fly and there were plenty fish rising. I got a few offers but these Hebridean trout were too fast for me. As my friend in Lewis often tells me, 'That's why they call it 'fishing' and not 'catching'!'

We hope to return next year to experience again the tranquil beauty of this place. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pat and Bob 6 reviews from this member

 With only 3 pitches on 40 acres of moorland here is peace and quiet at the extreme. Beautiful views over the Bays of east Harris from 2 pitches and shelter in the moor on the 3rd.

Water, electric hook-up and Cwd are the facilities, but this site is unique on south Harris in having a chemical waste.

The welcome is supreme, with eggs, home smoked salmon and home made oat cakes amongst the offerings.

Access is from the minor road that is narrow. The track up to the pitches is steep but our motorhome had no problem.

There are 2 lochans on the site for trout fishing. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: AlixSarah 1 review from this member

 We had a fantastic stay here, Harris is a beautiful island and the site at Flodabay is in an amazing location. We were blessed with great weather, and had fabulous views from the site across the Minch to Skye. We heard cuckoos calling all day (and just about all night!), and saw the resident golden eagle fly over.

The pitches are up a steep hill, but we made it up with our VW Golf and little caravan.

The eggs, sausages and bacon from the farm were the best ever.

The site has everything you need - drinking water, grey waste disposal and CDP.

The owner lent us his fishing rod so we could fish in the lochs on his land - we didn't manage to land one but a big one got away! He couldn't have done more to make us feel welcome, he and the other owner deserve every success with the site. We hope to return to this lovely spot. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Truediamond 86 reviews from this member

 What can you say about this mini site? It's certainly different. The three pitches are perched on top of a rocky outcrop, two face the sea while the other looks inland. Driving up the track is an interesting experience but once you get up there, the views are splendid- down to the sea and across to Skye. We did see seals in the bay below the Site but missed the otters.

If you're happy to walk or bike, this is a marvellous chance to experience the lunar East Coast of Harris. If you want beaches, head for the West. There's plenty to see on this coast but you have to make an effort to look for it. The fortified Church at Rodel is well worth a visit.

We had no trouble with hook-ups, grey or chemical toilet disposal and thoroughly enjoyed the oatcakes. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Apachemot 3 reviews from this member

 Business card left on our motorhome in Stornoway for Flodabay Farm Motorhome Park. Decided to go for our last night on the island. Was not what we expected. You drive up a steep track to get to reach the site. Plugged into hook-up from cable under an unturned basin with a rock on top. Fresh water, grey waste and CDP on site. Felt a bit like wild camping but cost 20. 00 a night, if you had a view over the bay on one of the two top pitches I believe it was 25. 00. Two private lochs if you were fishers and a range of meats, fish and eggs for sale as well as evening meals delivered to your door. We didn't try any of them. Business card I found a bit misleading, Motorhome Park consisted of 4 rough hardstanding pitches on the top of the hill, Peaceful haven, it was, only one other vehicle on site, and the view didn't match the view on the card! Everybody to their own but this site was not our cup of tea and would certainly not return here again. The owner was pleasant and chatty. 


Previous     131 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Flodabay Farm child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Flodabay Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Flodabay Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Isle Of Harris      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5909 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement