Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Flodabay Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Isle Of Harris > Flodabay Farm Reviews

Flodabay Farm
4 Flodabay
Isle Of Harris
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS3 3HA
Tel: 01859 530353  or  07767 751847
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 3
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 118 Reviews
                10/10 from 118 Reviews

Photos (15)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  118 in total, now showing 111 to 118                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: JohnRW 4 reviews from this member

A fascinating site with great views. Perhaps a bit windswept but very quiet.

The owner cannot do enough for you. We ran out of gas and he sent us off to enjoy ourselves whilst he got us a cylinder. What a great guy.

We arrived on site on a wet afternoon and it started to snow. Fancy waking up next day with snow on the hills and a cuckoo singing!

We can recommend staying here.

The eggs are good too.

Pity we did not see any otters but the seals were playing in the harbour.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Army 5 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 3 nights over the Easter holidays. The site is absolutely fantastic, there is hardstanding for 3 caravans or motor homes, two of the pitches over look the Minches and the Isle of Skye. The views on a clear day are stunning, and so is the wild life. We watched seals basking in the sun down in the bay, and there is a resident eagle that passes by almost every day.

There is electric, water, and chemical waste disposal, and your own picnic table. What more could you want?

The owners of the site are very friendly and accommodating and made sure that everything was OK for us. They sell home produce including eggs, sausage, and bacon and it's good!

The Isle of Harris provides some very contrasting scenery from the amazing Caribbean like beaches on the west and the very harsh rocky moonscape on the east. Never been anywhere like this before ever.

Would highly recommend this site if you find yourself in these parts.

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Iain Trayner 1 review from this member

Great site, absolutely beautiful. It's got everything you would want in a Hebridean campsite, 23amp hook ups, water supply, waste disposal. The trout lochs are very peaceful and a pleasure to fish - they are also suitable for swimming in the summer, as is the bay itself. The view from the 2 front pitches is astounding, it was our first trip in a caravan and we will definitely be back! Tony was very helpful, met us at the gates and guided us up the steep gravel road to the site. Thanks for a great weekend.

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stewandjan 1 review from this member

Incredible location, to die for, perched on hillside overlooking the Minches. Waste disposal, water on site and electric hookup. Just room for two places on the front. Lochs for trout fishing close by and sea fishing possibilities close by. Owner can't do enough for you - home baking, fishing rods, advice and word of a small golf range among the heather and an upcoming toilet facility! It's a must.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Katedrew 2 reviews from this member

Stayed at Flodabay farm for 5 days. The site is at the top of a steep drive but the views are stunning - overlooking the Minch and Isle of Skye.

The site is in 30 acres of unspoilt scottish countryside, together with two lochs which can be fished if required. There is Water and Electricity available and Tony is currently arranging for Chemical Waste disposal point to be installed.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, as did our two little dogs. The owners really looked after us, supplying us with fresh farm eggs, prepared fresh Herrings and home made Oat Cakes - best we have tasted - he once was a Chef!

For anyone visiting Harris we would certainly recommend the site.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mrs kelly 1 review from this member

We stayed at Flodabay farm for three nights in June of this year. It is a small family pitch which can take three motorhomes. The little site is at the top of a steep hill but the motorhome climbed it easily. On reaching the top you have the most stunning view over the bay to the mainland.

The site has electricity, and water is provided by Tony and Sharon from their croft at the bottom of the hill whenever needed.

At the moment there are no elsan facilities but that's not a problem as the ferry terminal at Leverburgh has chemical toilet facilities and is only a 15 min drive, so not a problem.

Tony and Sharon are very friendly and accommodating. They have fresh eggs and we were given mackerel freshly caught which was delicious. Would return again with no hesitation. An excellent base for exploring the island.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Loulou56 1 review from this member

We stayed at Flodabay farm for six nights, and as the previous review said the access was very steep, but once on the site the views are magnificent, the site has only two EHU and Tony was adding an extra one when we were there.

There are areas for camping and as previous review said Tony has further plans in the pipeline.

Tony and Sharon were very welcoming and could not do enough for us, if we needed water he would fetch it for us, (he also lent us his fishing rod - for which we lost his spinner in the loch)

The produce that they sold - home reared bacon and sausages with free range eggs the colour of the yolks being almost 'orange', we were also able to buy freshly caught fish.

As previous review no local shops, the nearest was approx 15 mins away or if you wanted to shop at Tescos it is in Stornaway approx 1 hour +

The highlight of the week for my husband was swimming in the bay with Tonys son and the seals, a tad cold but worth it.

If you are happy with peace and quiet, and golden sandy beaches, little and at times no traffic then you should give it a try.

A fantastic holiday from the welcome, the views and the peace, all run by a Peter Kay double, both Tony and Sharon deserve to do well and success with their venture

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rowenacorlett 1 review from this member

We stayed here for 3 nights while touring the outer hebrides in May. The access is steep so you will need to ensure your vehicle is appropriate to get up to the site. Having said that once you do you will be well rewarded with a glorious view. You are looking out over the Minch towards Skye and inland over the hills.

The owner, Tony, couldn't have been more helpful. At present there is electric hook up but water has to be brought up from the farm below and there is no waste disposal (nearest Tarbert ferry terminal not that far away) Tony has plans though so its worth checking with him.

We had their shoreline eggs for breakfast - lovely - each day! best to have other supplies on board as no shop near.

You can fish in the 2 lochs if you wish and Tony will even supply you with a rod.

All in all a magical spot highly recommended.

Previous     118 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 118     Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3807 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019