Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Highlands End Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Bridport > Highlands End Holiday Park > Reviews

Highlands End Holiday Park
Eype
Bridport
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT6 6AR
Tel: 01308 426912
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 180
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 132 Reviews
                9/10 from 132 Reviews

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  132 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bobr 2 reviews from this member

 One of our favourite sites, only a 45 minute drive for us so I suppose we are very lucky.
Facilities are very good, shower block is one of the best we have used.
If you are a sea-food lover, in West Bay go down the road to the left of the George pub, as the road turns to the right there is an out-door seating area for a little outlet that sells sea-food platters- not licensed, but you can nip back to the pub and bring your drinks along, taking the glasses back afterwards of course- prices vary but the quality is fantastic, Lyme Bay crab, lobster, prawns, mussels etc. Recommended!
The site can be windy, but it is one of the highest spots on the Channel so you take your chances, in settled weather the sunsets are fantastic, the beach at Eype is good for snorkeling, the site is on the Coastal Path with lots to do in the local area.
Give it a go, try the cider! 


Date of Visit: June 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Doughty 3 reviews from this member

 Excellent. Other half's 1st camping trip and now I think he has been spoilt. Food excellent and reasonably priced. Shower block faultless.
Location spot on. Ideal for days out to Monkey world & Durdle Door. Coastal walks into neighbouring towns bliss. Close to Supermarket (Morrisons I think). Friendly staff. The fire brigade memorabilia was slightly odd but it takes all sorts. Childs play area,pitch and putt.
Loved every minute. There was a caravan convention whilst we were there but our little 2 man tent was made to feel welcome. 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: FUSCHIAVIC 1 review from this member

 Have caravanned at this site for the last 10 years firstly with my own four children and now 3 out of 4 have got their own rigs and small children we still all go together on the same weeks and this site makes a great family holiday. The site is clean, the showers / toilets are excellent. Plenty for the children to occupy the time. But at the same time it is very peaceful for those that want it.
The people who own and run the site will help you with any thing you ask. The scenery is the best in the area. As long as I caravan this is the place for my main holiday
 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Photian 1 review from this member

 Stayed here over the early May bank holiday. Lucky with both the weather and the site! Lovely, well maintained pitches with immaculately clean toilets/ showers. Helpful but unobtrusive wardens and good play area for the kids. The pool (extra charge applies) was good and the bar/ restaurant reasonably priced and child- friendly. Our first visit but definitely not our last, I would thoroughly recommend Highlands End. 


Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bumbleecors 4 reviews from this member

 Visited site for 3rd time in 3 months! Wardens and staff were only too happy to assist with putting up my tent, however no need as other campers helped me! Assistance greatly appreciated!

Staff could not have been more friendly or helpful as was waiting for a friend to join me from Lake District! No problem about arrival time as long as were quiet and did not disturb other campers! Weather was superb and both of us will definitely be back at Highlands End in 2006! Lots to do in surrounding area! Recommend Abbotsbury with the Swannery in particular! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tiamar 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a very pleasant week at Highlands End Farm. The reception staff were very helpful both on the telephone and on arrival We had a hard standing pitch with electric hook up, mains water and drainage. . Manoeuvring the caravan was slightly difficult, as there is not much turning space between the rows of other vans. The grass area was also very soft from previous heavy rainfall.

The views were fantastic, over looking West Bay ( famous for the harbour lights series on tv. ) to the East and Eype to the west.
Beware !!!!! of the winds . We had a very sleepless night with a constant battering from high winds and rain. The caravan rocked! Next day saw a number of damaged awnings. Our advice would be don’t put an awning up unless you really need to, the winds can come from no where.

The park has a very nice good size indoor swimming pool, which is reasonably priced similar to what you could pay at a leisure centre. There is also a well-equipped gym. The bar and restaurant produce good food and has a very interesting collection of fire brigade memorabilia, which includes a full size old fire engine! which keeps the children amused.

The shower and toilet blocks are well maintained, although I feel there might be a struggle for showers if the site were full with tents etc. The tent field is some distance from the shower block, which could be a bit of a bind.

Over all a very good site that gives value for money and one that we will be happy to return. 


Reviewer: Kacrat 2 reviews from this member

 September 2005
Highlands End is a bit of a jekyll and hyde of a campsite regarding the weather as it can be really lovely when the sun is out and all is calm but then the wind gets up and all hell breaks loose as the wind blew over our wind breaks on more than one occasion. My other concern was with the camp warden after on consecutive nights a small party was making too much noise in the early hours we asked the warden to tell them to keep it down he basically said that there was nothing he could do to stop it. But apart from thata very nice site.  


Reviewer: Kpmkane 8 reviews from this member

 August 2005
This large site has the best views we have encountered camping. It is situated on a clifftop, overlooking the cliffs, the sea and Bridport. However, it's location has some downsides. Being in an exposed location it is subject to extremes of the elements. When the wind blows... it BLOWS. Whilst setting up out tent in a fairly strong wind, one of the staff told us that the previous day (24th August) they had lost 20 tents in a gale! He said that the site had gone from full to almost empty of tents in a single day. During our stay, we experienced an electrical storm where two nearby tents were seriously damaged.

The site itself was busy over the bank holiday weekend and the toilet and shower blocks were placed under a great deal of pressure. At one point there was a total loss of water supply and on another occasion the drinking water tap produced white cloudy water which did not clear after settling. My main complaint about the site is the distance of the tent field from the toilet / shower blocks. Other than these negative points, the site compensates with positive aspects.

The club had a more than adequate menu and bar and the children were well catered for with play areas and swimming pool. The site was kept very tidy and clean and the shop was well stocked. Worth a visit just for the views, but make sure you take some storm ropes!  


Reviewer: Admiral 3 reviews from this member

 July 2005
Probably our favourite site on the South Coast, been twice this year, spacious pitches, spotless facilities and wonderful views. Beach at EYPE within walking distance and Westbay and Bridport close by. Excellent dog walk.On site shop had all the necessities. Friendly and helpful staff. Will be going back next year. 


Reviewer: Philyfuse 4 reviews from this member

 August 2005
Great views from our Pitch. Very clean, and the whole camp had a spacious feel to it. Fantastic walks close by and the club provided a relaxing evening when required. I was a bit concerned at the small number of showers/toilets, but despite the site looking pretty full this didn't cause too many delays. The new access road is a bonus, wouldn't have fancied the old one.

Overall a cracking site in a lovely part of the country...we will be returning. 


Previous     132 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Highlands End Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Highlands End Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Highlands End Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Highlands End Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bridport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3549 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement