Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Lyme Regis > Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park
Rousdon
Lyme Regis
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT7 3XW
Tel: 01297 442227
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 143 Reviews
                9/10 from 143 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  143 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LES LEWIS 1 review from this member

 Owners and staff very helpful and friendly, given a choice of pitches on arrival.The pitches are very spacious with ample water and electric supplies. The shower blocks are very clean with plenty of hot water. Reception and shop seem to be open all hours, with all the basics available. A child friendly site with play park facilities, my only minor criticism of the site is the lack of a larger green for ball games. All in all a first class site without premium prices. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campspye 1 review from this member

 This is almost a perfect site. Very well maintained and laid out but managing to appear casual and welcoming. This is achieved by having a number of small hedges which face alternate ways so that caravans do not appear regimented and have their own little private area, but at the same time the camp is open and accessible to everyone.
There are three toilet blocks. The main one is in the centre of the field, made of brick.A second block at the far end of the field is on a brick plinth but made of wood showers in this block are individually entered from the outside. Behind the Reception block is the very best though. In this block are just four rooms, housing in each a toilet, a wash basin and a shower with mirror and shaver points.
I was lucky enough to be sited near this block and every morning it was like walking into your own bathroom! All the toilet blocks are clean, well maintained, tiled throughout with free hot water. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tony1701 2 reviews from this member

 On arrival to the site the staff were very helpful to two novice motorhome eejits allowing us to borrow hook up lead which was godsend for fridge. The site is to be recommended for its cleanliness and first class facilities lovely flat spacious pitches.
The coastal walk from Lyme Regis to Seaton is a must if you are up for a challenge hahahaha. Do take survival kit. Shops and eating places are plentiful in Lyme Regis scenery outstanding,fossil hunts for the kids. One of our personal favourite areas will always be back love it. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Carolbay 11 reviews from this member

 An easy camp site to find with a nice wide entrance. Garage next to the site (no noise heard). Not a huge site (with no club house which we do not mind) and very pretty with hedges and shrubs separating the pitches. Friendly and helpful reception from the owners and staff. Shown to our pitch by Margaret driving a type of golf cart and she was keen to see that we were happy with our pitch, suggesting several places. She put us in the lower field as it was quieter (I think because we had no children with us and are seniors). Good hook ups, 4 to a pole and looked well maintained.
The reception is close to this part of the site and had a nice shop. Modern built facility with two wetrooms (toilet.Wash basin & shower all in one) for ladies and one for gents, one for disabled. Washing up facilities. Another larger block with tiled floor and more single showers and toilets etc was in the upper field. All very clean when I visited.
Plenty of fresh water stand pipes dotted around the site and several waste water and toilet disposal points. Play area for children near the upper field which looked nice and from the sounds emitting from it, was fun. Saw several dogs taking their owners for a walk in the specified dog walking area. No noise at night.

Sidmouth has, on the cliffs on the Exmouth side of town, a series of interlocking beautiful gardens with a cafe/restaurant. A white painted Jacobs ladder (steps) lead down to a narrow coastal path where you can walk into Sidmouth with the steep gnarled stone clifs one side and the sea crashing against the rocks on the other. Quite spectacular.

Will certainly use site again when in this area. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sharon Woodley 1 review from this member

 This was a lovely campsite about 3 miles outside Lyme Regis. The site was quiet and had a small children's play area, but also had plenty of grass space for the children to play football. The toilets were clean and the showers clean, hot and included in the price. The site itself was very reasonably priced and the receptionists friendly and helpful. It has a tourist information room and a small shop. We didn't go into the local village, but we went into Lyme Regis which is lovely. Just one warning - if you arrive late and plan to buy fish and chips make sure you get into Lyme Regis before 10.00pm as that's when the chip shops shut. We ended up at a Kebab shop in Seaton, about 6 miles further west! Also, don't camp near the children's play area - inconsiderate parents seemed to think it would be OK to let their children play on the equipment, screaming and shouting at 7 o'clock in the morning.

However, this is a site to be recommended. We'd certainly go back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mags1971 1 review from this member

 We stayed at the Shrubbery and the beginning of July and had a great time apart from the weather. Our two grandchildren loved the playpark and open space. We have stayed before but the park has been updated with new reception area and shop. The toilet blocks are well lite even during the night. Facilities are well taken care of and staff are always friendly and polite, great family park and the surrounding area is very picturesque, Lyme Regis, Seaton worth a walk about and the Pilot Boat Inn (lyme Regis) do a lovely lunch. We will certainly be back. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Schuee 5 reviews from this member

 Have just come back from Shrubbery, we found on arrival the staff very friendly and helpful, we were give a choice of pitches with EHU which the lady took us all to, so we could decide. The site is very flat and very well layed out, we found all the facilities kept spotlessly clean and were very close to what it looks like a new shower / toilet block. The showers near to us comprised of four individual upvc doors which lead into an enclosed room with seat and a shower enclosure, which you could lock behind you, very secure!

The kids enjoyed the brilliant play area, and crazy golf and as always made friends straight away.At the beginning of week it was fairly quiet only two tents, and majority of caravans of which I believe there was a rally, though the site never seemed crowded, more tents arrived towards the weekend.

There is a basic shop onsite for the essentials however there is a garage two minutes walk away which stocked further items.

It was the first time we had been to Lyme Regis, and found it was a lovely little place to wander around, full of little streets and quaint shops, we used the beach nearly every day and the kids loved it, nice golden sand area which I believe was imported and safe to paddle in.

The surrounding area is lovely we had a day in Weymouth, and visited the Seaton Tramway, though we found this a little steep 25.50 for 2 adults and a 7 & 4 year old, however we enjoyed it also Beer was a lovely little place.

All in all we will definetly be booking again to go to Shrubbery, and have told all our friends about how nice a time we had. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andy Wilson 1 review from this member

 Stayed for a long weekend at the end of May. What a great find this site was. Very well laid out with excellent facilities as described in the earlier posts.

This was our first visit to Lyme Regis, which is really nice and not very touristy. Not the best beach for sun bathing as it's pebble but nice for walks in the evening. There is a small imported-sand area near to the cob/harbour but I should imagine it would be very busy in the Summer.

Fossil hunting is the big thing on the Jurrasic Coast and we were not disappointed. My son came home with a big handful and would have tried to carry off the dustbin-lid sized ammonites he found had he been strong enough!

Hoping to go again in the Summer. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kimbos5 5 reviews from this member

 We visited this site the first bank holiday in May! Just 2 adults and one 4 man tent!

A fantastic site! We loved it!

The pitches of flat, the majority with electric hook up and tap very close by!

We were one of the only tents on the site that weekend, as nearly all the others were campervans and caravans. The lady owner seemed surprised by all the motorhomes that weekend!

Not so many families, more older couples with seasonal pitches. All very friendly!

The facilities were great. 3 toilet and shower blocks which were heated. Washing up sinks and chemical toilet disposal. Everything kept spotless!

There is a childrens play area. The shop has a few essentials.

Only a short drive from Lyme Regis which has a lovely beach etc.

We are definitly going back to this site! 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tcroft 2 reviews from this member

 My family and I stayed here for a week on spur of the moment, I phoned them the day before and managed to reserve a pitch!(a week with virtually no rain shock horror ;) The site is clean and tidy with great shower/toilet facilities. (There is also a laundry area with washing machines etc.) The kids play area was great my 5yr old loved being able to go to the toilets and play area by herself. The shop is well equipped from the usual essentials to some nice treats. They also freeze your ice packs for you for a very small fee (I think it was something like 10p each!) By a road which has the odd car on it, which you only really notice at night, but soon get used to. The staff were lovely and very helpful. It is nicely located with a 5 minute car drive into Lyme Regis, best holiday I've had in years, will be going back this year 


Previous     143 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lyme Regis      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6041 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement