Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Brecon > Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park
Pencelli
Brecon
Powys   (Browse area)
LD3 7LX
Tel: 01874 665451
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 10th Feb - 30th Nov

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 144 Reviews
                9/10 from 144 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  144 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: March 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sakimbrey 10 reviews from this member

 Overall a Very Very Good Site.

Very Clean and well thought out design of site.

Small car park at entrance next to well maintained duck ponds with waterfall.

Facilities cleaned daily and of top quality.

Only down point is they have limited super pitches though (approx 10), which is what we prefer. We felt that in peak season they would be at a premium - as they were all in use when we were there in March. Luckily we had booked previously.

Nice local public house five minutes walk down the road from the site - basic pub grub.

Brecon and Radnorshire Canal runs alongside the site, however not visible from the pitches as the site is slightly higher up - but great for walking or cycling along.

Pleasant and very friendly wardens, always willing to help.

Very good indoor tourist information point with website access and local history information. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Crofter 2 reviews from this member

 If you cannot do without entertainment, clubs and bars, or your radio, this site is not for you.  Radios are not allowed, there is no entertainment or bar and you must be quiet between the hours of 10PM and 8AM. If, on the other hand, you want nothing more than to relax in quiet, peaceful, surroundings. Where the noisiest things you will hear are the bleating of sheep in the surrounding fields, the sound of children playing ball, their parents and friends chatting and the occasional passing tractor, you will love Pencelli Castle as we did. 
 
We stayed in the Meadow, which is reserved for tents.  It is the furthest field from the toilet block etc. But well worth the 5 minute walk to be in such a lovely place. You can pitch wherever takes your fancy and it doesn't matter what size your tent is either, so spacious is the field.  There are no marked out pitches so some choose to pitch under the trees on the canal side of the field, others like to be in the middle of the field where you have a wonderful view of the surrounding hills while others like to be under the shelter of the hedge on the side adjoining the quiet country road. The space available is great so that you never have somebody else's tent too close for comfort.
 
The facilities of this site are second to none. Pristine toilet blocks with 5 separate cubicles with washbasins  as well as spacious shower cubicles. The washing up room is good, with 4 sinks with dish draining racks and an extra sink for food preparation.  There is also a drinks machine in here.  Next to this is a passageway leading to two family/disabled bathrooms. These again are really spacious, clean and well-equipped with even a baby bath and potty.  There is a coat and boot drying room and an information room with leaflets telling you everything you could want to know about the area.  In this room there is also a computer and four or five large fridge freezers. Here you just put your food in a bag labelled with your name. No charge.  There is also a room with, I think, 2 washing machines and a spin dryer. There is a play area but this mainly appeals to younger children.  There is room to kick a ball around here but if you are staying in the meadow, there is plenty of room to play there anyway. There is a small shop stocking only the basics but the post office at Talybont can supply most other things.
 
The pub down the road is good.  We had a lovely meal there although the menu isn't vast. Its garden backs onto the canal.
There is so much to do in this area that we shall have to go again - and maybe again.  You can hire a boat from nearby Talybont and poodle along the canal on it, climb mountains or take less strenuous walks on the hills around the Libanus Mountain Centre or along the canal. Visit the spectacular Dan Yr Ogof show caves where there is also a permanent diinosaur exhibition set amongst lush tropical greenery. Ride a horse at Cantref where many other events are also held for children, swim at the Leisure Centre at Brecon.
 
This site is a joy to visit, the surroundings are beautiful and the staff are unfailingly pleasant and helpful. We shall definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tracylynn 5 reviews from this member

 Just returned from another wonderful week. We love the site. The facilities are superb as always. The meadow was lush and the flowers all around the site beautiful.
The shop was well stocked, the showers were very hot and toilet block spotless.
Comments from previous travellers are correct.if floors are left wet, its only because people cannot be bothered to use the squeegee after they have used the showers. It takes 2 seconds to wipe the floor after you have used the shower!
I have recommended this site previously and I continue to recommend it. We will be back very soon.
 
  


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nicky1 2 reviews from this member

 We spent 5 days here with our four children (1,3,5 and 7) on our first ever camping trip and I thought this site was FANTASTIC.  The grounds were beautifully kept and the showers and kitchen/washing up area were immaculate.  We had a massive pitch, although spaces did fill up once the jazz festival got under way.  It's a safe site for kids and the staff are all very helpful.  The shop had a good selection of the basics.  The walking information book that has been produced by the owner has some useful walks/cycle rides, although be warned if you are doing any of these with small children the timings are completely out - make sure you leave longer to do them.
 
In regards to the queues for the disabled/family bathrooms I think the previous reviewer has been slightly harsh.  It is normal at busy times for there to be queues and floors will always be slippy in a wet room environment.  The owners have provided large squeegies to remove most of the floor surface water and if water remains, it is inconsiderate users, not unthinking owners that have caused this problem.  What might solve the problem would be to have a disabled only toilet as well as the bathroom facility.
 
Overall, I think this site has been sympathetically designed and as said before it is  fantastically maintained.  


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Danmad 1 review from this member

 Have just returned from Pencelli Castle.  This is a very  attractive and well spaced site with clean facilities.  However, the disabled facilities were both inadequate and dangerous. For the duration of our stay the floor was very wet and slippery -as this facility is also used by families .  There was no control on the use of these facilities, and unfortunately were even used by able bodied teenagers. My mother who is paraplegic was kept waiting 20  minutes before she could visit the toilet and have a shower.   Every visit involved a queue of various times.  This site is fine for able bodied individuals, but is not disabled friendly and should not be rated as highly  for this reason. The safety issue  in both disabled toilets because of the floor condition is  of concern and should be rectified with the use of a radar key for all disabled guests.
I should like to conclude by noting the polite and friendly nature of the staff who  could not help with the queues for the disabled toilets and the wet slippery floor.  I sincerely hope that this safety issue is rectified before there is an accident.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: GeoffandJen 2 reviews from this member

 Just back from a long weekend here. A lovely tranquil site set in a peaceful area of outstanding beauty. We had a pitch in the Oaks field, which had a mix of tents and caravans, close to the amenity block.
The toilets / shower facilities were the best we've seen, very clean. The shop was very limited, with normal camp site prices, but the staff were very helpful, and our children loved the playground and the deer in the adjoining field. The site is kept in an immaculate condition, and the borders would put to shame some of the best kept gardens. Even the sun came out for all 3 days! Will definitely book again. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Melaniedgreen 4 reviews from this member

 I thought this site was fantastic !
It is well laid out and very attractive gardens throughout. Lots of wildlife around - squirrels and ducks ( all very tame ! ). Small pretty looking pond with fish. Beautiful views of the surrounding countryside.Situated in a small, quiet village.
Owners and staff very helpful and friendly.
Pitches vary in size. I asked for a 'large' pitch ( with electric ) for my 9 man tent and we had plenty of room.
Small but nice looking play park for children ( although possibly a bit far from some pitches for children to go unaccompanied - but I guess this will depend on their age ).
Small shop / reception area selling essentials.
Showers and toilets always very clean. Free hot water and a free hair dryer. Separate facilities available for disabled.
Dish washing facilities again very clean and adequate. Fridges and freezers available for your use.
Local information room very informative.
I stayed here when the site was full but it never seemed crowded and I never had to queue for showers etc.
I would DEFINITELY recommend this site and will DEFINITELY return myself. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AndyMP 5 reviews from this member

 Excellent site, catering for caravans, mobile homes and tents with or without EHU.

Location: Perfect for adventure in the Brecon Beacons and Black Mountains. Situated in a peaceful village with a reasonable pub. The site has direct (although steep) access to the Brecon and Monmouthshire canal. The place is teaming with wildlife. The nearest supermarket is a short drive to Brecon, Although neighbouring Tal-yBont has a good village shop, (and a couple of pubs to boot).

Site: Good size pitches, though number of "marked" pitches for large tents and caravans are limited. (This is a good thing! :-). The main tent field is large, gently sloping with well cared for grass and there is oodles of space for kids to run around. There are also picnic tables dotted around the site for all to use.

Facilities: Toilets, showers, laundry (including drying room), washing up room and information room including 4 big fridge freezers and internet access are all top notch. (Although I have to admit the piped soothing music began to grate after the 2nd day!). The camp shop was limited but had all the essentials.

Overall: A cracking site in a peaceful location with easy access to all the outdoor pursuits in the area. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andyroberts 9 reviews from this member

 The facilities on this site are the best I have seen, they seem to have thought of everything. Its in a lovely, scenic location, and has a small park for the kids.

Well located, just 5 minutes from the main A road that will get you all the places you will want to visit. 


Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BigMona 97 reviews from this member

 A very popular site, tried to book here twice before but was always full, managed to get in on our third attempt!

We had a hard standing pitch near the toilet block and it was of great size. It had hook up and water and drain.

The toilets were great and deserve there Loo of the Year award. Good little shop, sold great ice cream!

We paid £19 a night, not the cheapest but worth every penny. No dogs, great! 


Previous     144 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brecon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6214 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement