Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hoburne Cotswold

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Cirencester > Hoburne Cotswold Reviews

Hoburne Cotswold
Broadway Lane
South Cerney
Cirencester
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL7 5UQ
Tel: 01285 860216  or  01425 282358
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Static Caravans Only
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 141 Reviews
                8/10 from 141 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  141 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mandie@home 8 reviews from this member

 A great site with helpful staff.
 
Facilities were good.  2 of the shower blocks have been updated for this season with the remainder being updated for next season.  Plenty of hot water, not many showers in a block though I think it was only 3.
 
Hard standing pitches are fantastic with little hedge rows for boundaries and plenty of grass for pup tents or lounging around on.
 
Club room was very big and the entertainers were good.  There is also a sky TV lounge and a two lane bowling alley.  Food is served in the club area.
 
There is an out door swimming pool but this did not open until whit week.  There is an indoor pool with a large slide, it was quite warm during our visit.  Unfortunately we did not get to try the sauna and steam room. 
 
Next to the indoor swimming pool there is a large kiddies adventure area with climbing frames and ball pits, there are 2 pool tables and a cafe.  The food got the thumbs up from our crowd.
 
Other facilities include fishing (very hard), shop, crazy golf, outdoor play area, sports court, pedalos, and very helpful receptionists.
 
There is a local bus service taking you to Cirencester and Swindon.  There are local pubs but these were expensive.  Also locally are more fishing pools and a water park with various water sports available. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Peachb 1 review from this member

 Just spent an excellent week in the Cotswold's, park is very good, well set out with four spotless toilet and shower blocks. (Only complaint was no hot water to the sinks in the blocks but they had just been refurbished and the showers were fine).

Great little pool complex with an outdoor pool which opens later in the year. Good little play area adjacent to the touring pitches. With tennis courts and crazy golf to hire if wanted. Evening entertainment catered well for the kids with plenty of dancing by the team. Entertainment complex very clean with a 'no smoking policy' although it got very busy during the Easter weekend. On-site shop well stocked and not overpriced.

All in all good base to use with children when visiting the Cotswold's. Keynes country park just down the road, and The Cotswold's Wildlife Park is not too far away and worth a visit. Bourton-on-the Water is also a must. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bikerlady 4 reviews from this member

 This was the first park we took our tourer to. Back in 2005. Very pleasant Warden who help us pitch up as it was our first time. The park itself exceeded all expectations. Lots to do for kiddies under the age of 10 but for teenagers there isn't a lot. Showers and Toilets clean and warm. Entertainment very good if you like bingo! Restaurant very busy and expensive. On site shop has everything you could need and more.
Overall we have visited this site since then 7/8 times, great base for the Air Show in June. Would defiantly recommend. Not a quiet holiday but we like it that way. 


Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rachael Groves 7 reviews from this member

 This was our 2nd visit to this campsite. We returned because the kids had such fun although we would never have contemplated coming anywhere like this before we had children!
 
This is a large commercialised site with lots of statics, however it is perfect for a winter break with children. There is a fantastic swimming pool & small indoor play area. Outside there is crazy golf & a play area.
 
There was a great kids club twice a day & a kids disco in the evening with the various characters from the park.This wouldn`t normally be our type of thing but I can`t deny that the children loved it.
 
The toilet facilities were adequate, warm, & clean.
 
My only gripe with this site is that you are not allowed on your pitch until 2pm but had to be off by 10am & the wardens made sure you were! After a bad night with a poorly child we were a bit slow getting packed up. At 9.50am we still had our awning up & we suffered the wrath of an extremely rude warden which was quite unecessary & quite frankly put a bit of a dampner on the holiday. Having said that we will be visiting again as everyone had such fun. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nappy 1 review from this member

 Excellent site, 4th visit this year and we love everything about it. Large pitches, plenty to do for the kids and a great Entertainments Team. On our first 2006 visit in March, Donna the Entertainments Manager remembered us from last year - our young son always gives a lasting impression. it's a pity Donna won't be there next year, she is moving to Hoburne Park in Christchurch. We will definitely be back there next year to meet the new team. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Harwoody 11 reviews from this member

 Well signposted, easy booking in procedure with friendly staff. Pitches are pre-booked but if you haven't been here before, it could have done with a member of staff taking you to the pitch. All tarmac & level pitches, with a fair distance between units.
Toliet & shower blocks in fair condition, could be improved with more effort. Entertainment was excellent with a great indoor pool (outdoor only open in high season) & nightly acts in the bar / lounge.
We used the restaurant every day, but as there were six in our party, we struggled to get a table to seat everyone. Most tables were 'open' to the noise from the entertainment area or the skittle alley, which made this area rather un-welcoming.The restaurant would be my major criticism, which is rather annoying as the food was fairly good (a bit expensive though).
The lakes around the complex offer pedaloes etc. And the indoor play area is very good for the little ones. Two of our party hired one of the pine lodges, which were in excellent condition and a really good size. These were well equiped and are a good option if you wish to take along relatives who do not have a caravan of their own. Playground was excellent and was locked up in the evening to avoid older kids causing a problem. 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Angelfish1 11 reviews from this member

 Just spent a week at this site. Don't go for a peaceful weekend! It's busy and there was a lot of noise at night. (including the road!) Its a great place to meet up with friends. Loads for the children to do. Not easy getting a sunlounger by the pool! It seemed really well run. Several shower blocks that were fairly clean with lots of hot water (free). Good level pitches. The children had a wonderful time and as it is only 1/2hr drive from us, we will go back! p.s. Don't go if you have a dragon fly phobia-they are everywhere! 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tinkapace 6 reviews from this member

 We have been using this site for 15 years now and I love it it has a good mix on entertainment. The leisure facilities are superb. Great setting amongst many lakes. Its a large commercial site that somehow manages to avoid being too commercial and offers people liking a slower paced holiday the chance to dip their toe into the entertainment without feeling herded like cattle. All the club is now non smoking. Food is good toilets are good but a little old fashioned. Staff are fantastic. Superb value for money. 6 people all facilities free Weekend break available off main holidays £43.00 ( 12noon Friday till 10 AM Monday) 


Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scully91 4 reviews from this member

 We do very little touring in our van but this site would surely struggle to be bettered. There was so much to do my young boy didnt know what to do next. Its by no means as mental as a Butlins but certainly more than enough to do.

Quite a few down sides though, incredibly slow food/bar staff at times, carpet ! Yes carpet in the mens toilet that stunk of urine, food wasnt very good and overpriced, half the fruit machines/games not working, no cancellation policy, cost me £69 for going home 3 days early and quite a few areas are definitely in need of refurbishment.

But on a plus side a very nice area to stop in, reception staff very good, amenities great, outstandingly warm and clean shower blocks, great entertainment too. There are certainly areas in need of immediate improvement but dont let it put you off going. The clientele are defiantely a bit better than the usual rough diamonds too.  


Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MAYFAIR 2 reviews from this member

 We have never been to a site with pool and entertainment before so this was a really new experience for us! On arrival reception was very easy to find and we were checked in an at our pitch within a few minutes. Nice large pitches (we have a huge tent), but a very narrow parking space alongside.
 
My biggest piece of advice would be to specify that you want a pitch away from the road (I wish someone had told me!) our tent backed onto the 'b road' and initially it didn't seem to busy, however from 5am on Monday morning the road was really busy, huge lorries just metres from our tent (they were screened, by trees and a bank but you couldn't ignore the noise), loads of cars and motorbikes zooming and the overall noise was awful, you couldn't have a conversation over it - however after 10 am it became more bearable.  Just a few pitches in from the road though, the traffic noise was hardly an issue at all - so be warned.  I did complain to the campsite as we were the only tent on the site and there were at least 60 tent pitches, yet we were put against the road when it really wasn't necessary - they did give me our last night half price which I thought was very decent.
 
At this time of year it was REALLY quiet the kids were often the only 4 people in the whole pool! Had a bit of a run in when they purchased an inflatable ring in the campsite shop, to be told they couldn't use it by the pool life gaurds, however the site did give us a full refund for it when we pointed out how ridiculous it was.
 
The shower blocks were a little dated, however they were superbly warm and there was loads of lovely hot water which we needed as it was  -1 overnight!  4 blocks and 3 showers in each, so guess it could be a bit busy in the summer months
 
The entertainment was OK, not exactly my cup of tea, but harmless enough and the children had a great time (they are teenagers and not easily impressed!)
 
We ate in the bar one night, food was good although the ordering at the bar was a bit painful, I think the girl was new! Had to moan about one part of it, we were told the meal came with Crusty brown bread,  but they supplied 2 slices of cheap brown rubbish - however they did sawp it for garlic bread when we pointed it out to them (the crusty was unavailable!)
 
On the whole we had a great holiday, the few problems we encountered were well handled by the management.
 
One final thing which left us a little miffed, we were threatened with having to pay for a half day extra as we had not vacated the pitch by 10am, this was at 10:05, we had until 11 or else!  This seemed very mean considering they had at least 60 free pitches and we had everything out of the tent and just the tent itself to come down, so we were not sitting sunning oursleves! 
 
I would recommend the site and will go back again, but not at high season! 


Previous     141 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hoburne Cotswold child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Hoburne Cotswold have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hoburne Cotswold?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hoburne Cotswold dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cirencester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4473 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement