Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Stonehenge Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Salisbury > Stonehenge Touring Park Reviews

Stonehenge Touring Park
Orcheston
Salisbury
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SP3 4SH
Tel: 01980 620304
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 124 Reviews
                9/10 from 124 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  124 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Reviewer: Aria30 14 reviews from this member

 August 2005
Small, but friendly site. As this was our first "expedition" out with the children and a tent, the owners of the site made things easy for us. Lovely play area for the children in the middle so they could be seen at all times. Was busy when we were there, but didn't feel crowded. Basic facilities, but kept clean. Well signposted from the main road. Would recommend. 


Reviewer: Tumbleweed05 1 review from this member

 August 2005
Just got back from a stay at this campsite. We have not been camping for several years and were a bit apprehensive beforehand, but we needn't have worried. The owners were extremely helpful and friendly and the camp site had everything we needed.

The play area was in an excellent central position and we could see our children at all times. The facilities impressed us with an excellent little shop full of everything you might need. There was no problem with water facilities being spread out as the site is not too large anyway.

The site is a touring site and there was a lot of changeover, with many people staying just the one night. It also has a very cosmopolitan feel to it. However, we relaxed and extended our stay from 3 nights to 6. We found it an excellent base from which to visit Wiltshire and Dorset.

Good site, good people, good fun!  


Reviewer: Pegtent 8 reviews from this member

 August 2005
I stayed here 3 nights, Tuesday to Thursday. Very easy to find, although I don't envy you caravan owners down those narrow lanes, with lovely clean toilets, good shop and very nice and helpful owners. However, my first pitch was too close to the "balancing beams playground", with a rubbish bin right behind and next to the path to the other tents. Kids playing football also hit my table and tent a few times. One or two of these I could have coped with, until a dog owner walked her dog off the lead past my tent, let it it wee on my car while I said hallo and my dog barked, and then on her way back let it come right up to my tent, setting my dog off and tables flying!!! So the next morning I moved pitch to a recently vacated one behind me, without asking (sorry), and then told the owners. They took it very well. Learnt from this to think about my pitch a bit more carefully next time.

It was very busy, with a lot of overnighters, but was not noisy at all. I did find it a bit cramped, although the tents were a nice distance apart, and as it was quiet got worried with my kids laughing and giggling in bed at 10.00. Think it would be a fantastic site when quieter, so near all sights, Longleat, Stonehenge etc! Would return, but not in high season!  


Reviewer: Airbus321 1 review from this member

 July 2005
This is a very friendly rural campsite. It was busy when we visited, but even so did not feel crowded. The partly wooded site is level with concrete pitches for caravan / mhomes. Obviously popular for visitors to Stonehenge and Salisbury, there was a truly international feel to the site, we counted at least 5 different nationalities visiting.

The staff were helpful with info about the local amenities and the small shop as most of the basics that you might need. 2 nice pubs are exactly 1 mile from the site. Shower block and hot water are clean and adequete for the site. There is a small adventure playground on site and enough space in the middle of the field for ball games. Overall we really liked this site and would visit it again. 


Reviewer: AndyMP 5 reviews from this member

 June 2005
Small and friendly site. Toilet facilities basic but clean. Shop stocks all that you need. Surrounding countryside peaceful with plenty of places for kids to play. Can get busy.

Some residential caravans on site.......

 

Advertisement

Reviewer: Bacon Sandwich 6 reviews from this member

 March 2005
Nice, quiet, level site situated in Orcheston village. Most touring pitches are paved with flagstones so getting level is simple. No bar or restaurant on the site, but there are three pubs serving meals in nearby Shrewton.

Easy to find with signs from the main road. Small shop but well stocked with just about everything you need.

Shower block and toilets are very clean and tidy. Services are spread around at different locations on the campsite so you have to go to one place to get fresh water, and another to empty your waste water, so it would be nice if they were all together.

TV reception is very poor. No one on the site could get a good picture when we were there.

Stonehenge is about 5 miles away. Avebury and Silbury Hill are 15 miles, as is Devizes so you are ideally located to explore the whole of Wiltshire.

Plan your stay well in advance! You are right on the edge of Salisbury Plain and the nearest Army firing range is only half a mile away so it could get noisy!!

Playground for the kids in the middle of the park. Dogs are allowed on the site, but you have to leave the park when the call of nature needs to be answered. This can be a real pain last thing at night. A dog walking area would be nice.

We had a very enjoyable stay at the site and would recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet, relaxing break. 


Reviewer: Adamcraigscott 42 reviews from this member

 August 2004
Nice little site close to stonehenge. Well stocked shop. Owners very friendly. toilet block basic but clean, handy stop over for the west country.Gets quite busy so would book in advance.Quite a narrow approach road not easy to see in the dark. 3 pubs in next village 2 selling food. 


Reviewer: Mick-e 2 reviews from this member

 August 2004
Smallish pleasant site. People friendly and helpful on arrival. Delivered hot bread to van next morning. No play area but small climbing frames for kids. Nice views over open country side. Need to book, gets busy late evening(Aug)some hard parking areas for motor homes. Not many electric hook ups. Small shop which serves village, quite good. Toilets / showers small(seen better days but clean) 


Reviewer: Scott1 2 reviews from this member

 1st May 2004
This is a picturesque site very close to Stonehenge (free entry to National Trust & English Heritage members).

Pitches were on an ad hoc basis, which is OK as you could choose how close to the play area you want to be. The play area is really for young children. There are no swings, just balancing beams.

This Bank Holiday is the regular event for the Panther motorcycle owners club. Do not be afraid, they are friendly and have children too.

Owners are very helpful and shop is well stocked at reasonable prices. The showerblock is starting to show it's age however, there was plenty of hot water.

The B&B next door is owned by the campsite owners family and food is excellent.

Longleat house only 45 minutes away, so this site is a good base for a weekend away.

We had a great time. 


Reviewer: GusT 1 review from this member

 May 2004
We went half term week after the Bank holiday and the site was less than half full. The staff are really nice and there is a small play area for ths kids. The showers were only lukewarm and the shower heads a bit scaled up but generally the ammenities were clean and there is a good little shop.

The pub referred to in other reviews is no more. There are three to choose from in nearby Shrewton and The George sold good beer and reasonably priced food. Ideal location for Salisbury and Stonehenge and Longleat is only about 20 minutes drive away. You can also be in the New Forest in about half an hour. I would recommend it! 


Previous     124 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Stonehenge Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Stonehenge Touring Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Stonehenge Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Salisbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4735 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement