Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Lucksall Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Herefordshire > Hereford > Lucksall Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Lucksall Caravan & Camping Park
Mordiford
Hereford
Herefordshire   (Browse area)
HR1 4LP
Tel: 01432 870213
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 145
Open: 1st March - 30th November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 182 Reviews
                9/10 from 182 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  182 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Moriartyw 15 reviews from this member

After forty years of visiting sites either camping/trailer tenting/folding camper/caravans this is arguably the best site I have ever been on!

Let me explain. It does not suit everyone but it will happily suit most people. Quiet, peaceful, amazingly clean excellent toilets beautiful mowed landscaped pitches. Hardstandings / electric hookups/grass pitches it has them all.

Sited next to the River Wye with canoeing and fishing rights, a small children's playground and some beautiful forest walks. So something for all.

Nearby there is excellent fishing at a number of pools and many local pubs serve good quality food. All of this in a superb beautiful rural area of outstanding natural beauty!

We have been three times in the last five weeks. One week stay during the six weeks summer holidays when yes it was busy but the site facilities coped admirably and the last two weekends for a quick run out to chill!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: PagsUK 8 reviews from this member

Stayed here during the August Bank Holiday - we use this site when visiting family friends nearby, so is very handy for us.

Visited once before four years ago and liked it then. The site has grown, but also has been much improved. There is an additional and much required new toilet/shower block, more hardstanding pitches, additional seasonal pitch area, and a few statics (but not many so doesn't ruin the site!).The old facilities have been updated and impoved, all are kept very clean. In fact the whole site is keep clean and tidy - you often see the owners out picking up litter and generally tidying up after less thoughtful campers!

Pitches are well laid out and generally plenty big enough. Those along the river bank seem to be the most popular (lots of fishermen stay here). There are lots of borders dividing up the areas and making the site seem much smaller than the 200 pitches it has grown too. Only comment would be that those that back onto just a fence seem very close to their neighbours on that side. There is also a little noise from the road - didn't bother us at all however.

The site is well placed for visiting Hereford and the Wye Valley. You can enjoy canoeing from the site down the Wye. Children are catered for with a play area and lots enjoyed cycling around the site roads, and poppng to the camp shop for ice cream!

Although the site is affiliated to the Caravan Club, there is no 'stuffiness' we have often found on their club sites, in fact the atmosphere was very relaxed and friendly :-)

Only other comment would be price - it is quite an expensive site, you are charged premium price on Bank Holidays, and also for size of tent, etc. However perhaps the saying 'you get what you pay for' is right here - after all it really is a 5* site! We will be back to stay again.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kn1te 7 reviews from this member

Visited the site for two weeks. The site overall is immaculate. The pitches are huge and the majority are flat. If you are on the river pitches, then you might need some levellers, as they are a little dipped. There are now three toilet blocks. One at reception, one halfway down the site and a new on a little further down. There very clean an tidy. Only had to queue once in the whole fortnight. We had quite a bit of rain for a few days, and I was very impressed with the drainage. None of the grass pitches got soggy. One thing to note for motorhomes users, is the service point. There isn’t a side drainage grid, it’s all at the end of the service point. The fishing on site is swings and round-a-bouts. If the weather is fine and stable, then the river will fishing its head off. If it rains, the debris brought down is on a huge scale, making bite detection difficult. It’s quite weedy in places, I found the best tactic for the Barble is to pick out the gaps and fish “time bomb” over a bed of pellets and ground bait. The day tickets are priced at £5 a day or £30 for a week, and are issued by Hereford angling association. The access to the river is quite an issue. All of the campsite accessed pegs are very steep with little flat area, when it rains or the ground is wet, its quite dangerous. Not all of the river pitches have river access. The ticket allows you to fish for an additional two fields after the site next to the canoe launch, stretching to a boundary notice.

There is canoe launching facilities at either end of the site, and I don’t think they charge you for launching your own canoe. Hereford canoe hire are on site every day and offer a range of trips, from a 2hour “Paddle about” to full day trips. Hereford city is about 15 minutes’ drive away. There is a Tesco and a sainsburys in the city that are easiest to get to. Sainsburys have the cheapest fuel. There is also an asda nearby.

The site shop is well stocked will all manner of stuff. Food, caravan spares, camping stuff etc. They get fresh meat, bread, eggs and milk from local places. The staff are incredibly hard working and friendly.

We will definitely be coming back.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Maverickdave 5 reviews from this member

A good clean site, the shop was well stocked and the staff very friendly. Able to pitch next to friends with a tent. The new shower block good the older ones dated but clean. Could do with more showers when busy.

The path to the shower block was very dark and overgrown if you had a distance to walk at night.

The gardens and outlook were excellent,overlooking woods and the river Wye ran through the site and canoes could be hired. A pub was within walking distance but the road is busy and unlit with no pathway.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Banana5 4 reviews from this member

Just returned home from this site. The EHU pitches are big with some having small hedges between them. The only thing that I would grumble about was all the midges(take lots of spray) but you would expect that being pitched near a river.

The toilets were clean and had the new dyson airblade hand dryer. We never had to wait to use the showers but we do avoid peak times.

My kids were told to leave the play area at 9pm on the dot which was understandable as some pitches are really close by.

We had major problems with our car and had to call the AA out 3 times resulting in us being towed home but the warden on site was extremely helpful and said if there was anything we needed to let him know.

We hired a kayak on site for the 4 of us for 2-3 hrs for £40 and the hire company picked us up at our destination. We had a wonderful time.

A really nice site and would return again.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Morriss 2 reviews from this member

We went to Lucksall park a couple of years ago and were so impressed with the site - large open pitches for the kids to run around in, friendly staff and good facilities.

We came back this year and they had extended the site and made some changes, but not all for the best. Our last pitch was in quite an open field with most pitches around the perimeter was now converted to an area for permanent caravan pitches.

Also, what was a rally field behind was now a new set of pitches, all neat and spacious, but hardstanding and not as comfortable as the grassy pitches. As another reviewer has noted, these are back to back and you can hear the pitch behind you very easily.

The other problem was the noise at night from the play area. We were sited immediately behind it, and while our children benefited from being able to pop in to it at any time, the noise from children playing continued until at least 9:30-9:45. This was despite the site information saying that the area was only to be used from 9am to 9pm. Someone did come around at 9:45 most nights to shoo the children away, but for our kids, this was still too late.

Overall it is a great site (the new toilet facilities are great), but it almost feels like two sites - one half open, grassy, peaceful and the other half gravelly, crowded and noisy. We would like to go back, but only if we can request where we are sited!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Clareyfairy3 5 reviews from this member

A lovely site right next to the river Wye with canoes to hire. Lovely grounds with immaculate grass,large pitches, pretty gardens & a children's play area.

The toilets & showers where very clean & never had to queue.

The nearest pub is about a half hour walk away & we found it to be very friendly & served good food.

The site manager came round most nights to say hello & remind everyone to keep the noise down after 10.30pm.

There is a shop on site which sold most things you might need or forgotten.

The only thing I would criticise is that it was a bit of a trek to the toilets & a bit further still to the washing up sinks although how well kept the whole site was well & truly made up for such a minor thing. Would definitely return if I was in the area.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wildlifewarden 6 reviews from this member

Our first impression of the camp was how neat and tidy everything looked. We were warmly greeted and directed to our pitch. This pitch was spacious and flat. The campsite borders the river walking the river bank is a little restricted as you soon reach private land, the field had a very overgrown crop of Rapeseed in it which made crossing on the path difficult.

However 100 yards out side the main gate and across the road you were really spoilt for choice the walks available were endless well sign posted and dog friendly. By car quite a few towns were within easy reach and some of them very beautiful.

We had two small niggles, at the weekends people started arriving just to stay the weekend and the youngsters were very noisy playing football well past the alloted time, two other small complaints were that the track from the camping field deputised as the dog walk and track to the toilet, young children were riding up and down on their bikes. I also found that there was only one place to empty the toilet and it was quite a long drag. All small points none of which would stop me returning.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jim mcquarrie 3 reviews from this member

Our first camp of the year, and our second to Lucksall. When we first camped her last year it was to stay for 2 nights to try our new tent. In the end we loved the place so much we stayed seven nights, commuting our little lad to school every day! (we only live in Leominster, approx 20 miles away).

This years visit was every bit as good, and in fact the facilities have even improved, with an additional Toilet / Shower block (even though the existing block is better than you'd see on 99% of sites).

The staff are friendly and helpful, the shop well stocked and reasonably priced, and the area full of interest, from Leominsters antique shops, the black and white trail as well as Lovely towns such as Hereford, Ledbury, Malvern, Monmouth, Ross-on Wye, all within a half-hour drive.

This is a great site run by lovely people in an excellent location, and I can't recommend it highly enough!

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Will Waters 2 reviews from this member

A large, spacious and well run site in a beautiful location on the banks of the River Wye. The pitches are of a generous size and there are plenty of green areas, giving a feeling of spaciousness. The canoe hire is an attraction for all age groups and is very popular. The family owners were very friendly and helpful.

A new toilet block had recently opened before we stayed there. This was necessary because the showers were stretched, even with this new addition. They were adequate but not quite up to the usual Caravan Club high standards. There was also a well designed play area for under 12's.

Although the site is in a picturesque location, it seemed to be quite a distance from anywhere, which to some might be appealing, but it seemed we spent more time than necessary in the car.

Overall, we had no complaints and would consider a return visit in the future.

Previous     182 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Hereford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Herefordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4860 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019