Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Royal Umpire Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Preston > Royal Umpire Caravan Park Reviews

Royal Umpire Caravan Park
Southport Road
Croston
Preston
Lancashire   (Browse area)
PR26 9JB
Tel: 01772 600 257
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 180 & Large Rally Fiield + Camping Pods
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 119 Reviews
                7/10 from 119 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  119 in total, now showing 111 to 119                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Reviewer: malc26 3 reviews from this member

 August 2003
This was our first time on the site and we were very impressed with the toilet blocks and play area. The prices were per pitch not tent/van etc which we thought this was a little unfair as we only have a small tent. Well stocked shop and well groomed grass. We will go back.
Family pub faces the site which has a great play area for the kids!! 


Reviewer: sid james 3 reviews from this member

 July 2003
We didn't like it, we found it too regimented / streetlike. The Play area IS aimed at older children with little else for young ones. It is a good job there was a Wacky Warehouse type pub across the road!
We felt it just didn't have a holiday atmosphere - perhaps due to the number of permanent caravans there.
 


Reviewer: Andy Swaby 10 reviews from this member

 May 2003
Have stayed on this site many times over the years. The site is in a pleasant location, well managed with good quality toilet/washroom facilities. Two pub/restaurants next door provide refreshment. In recent years the site has been taken over by a succession of large companies and the management has lost its earlier 'personal touch'. Withdrawal of the facilities from the games room limits the appeal for teenagers but there is still a covered play area for small kids. If you find the hard surfaced pitches with the laid out streets and lighting too formal there is a large flat informal camping field at the rear of the site which is still reasonably near one of the toilet blocks. 


Reviewer: howiej 3 reviews from this member

 June 2003
I didn't like this site at all. I have a tent and felt very out of place indeed.
Strengths:
Clean and well kept,
Good adventure playground.

Weaknesses:
Too organised just like a housing estate,
Very badly equiped shop,
Very noisy!!!!
Nothing at all to do for young children if weather is bad,
Toilets and showers although clean are shut for hours during the day.

I wont be going back. It is a pretty site but was full of noisy teenagers, and saying there is no pub on site everyone seemed to be very drunk and noisy till about 3am. Not for me I am afraid : ( 


Reviewer: kat&norm 3 reviews from this member

 September 2003
Won't be visiting again, cost 16.20 per night and there is only an adventure playground and one walk by the river. The barn which is supposed to have table tennis, pool and other games is now closed, the reason being the games had previously been destroyed and the people they rented them from refused to supply any more. We were lucky we had dry weather, if it was wet there was nothing on the site to do at all. The well supplied shop had no freezer items and little fridge items but if you like to drink you would be ok, there was lots of alcohol in there.

I liked the way the campsite was set out but the street lights make you think you are in a town, and the award winning toilet blocks should be worth the awards as they are closed for 3 hours per day for cleaning.

overall this site was too expensive for what is there, shop should be well stocked as it is an all year site, maybe if they had dropped their prices when most of the activities had gone it might have been a bit better. Would advise anyone with children only to go if you are guaranteed dry weather. 

Advertisement

Reviewer: Debbie

 July 2003
Stayed for the one night and we were impressed with the pitches divided by hedges or paths making it quite private. It did feel like a housing estate however being about 80% caravans or camper vans and looking at the hanging baskets, kitchen units and even 3 piece suites in the awnings I say a long term site! Only criticism was the noise from the play area well into the night. A lot of older kids there until nearly midnight and a few still there at 3am. Complained following morning and was told this wasnt usual but havind 2 kids under 4 was a nightmare.
Verdict - fine if like long term sites or have teenagers not advised if you have younger children 


Reviewer: s nelson 2 reviews from this member

 july 2003
All the family loved this caravan park its very clean & the park is great for the kids. The first time we came for the weekend we asked about leaving our caravan on site for the following weekend and they only charged us 1.00 a night! the weekend cost(with caravan,2 adults,2 children over age 5)32.00 & worth every penny! Will be returning soon! 


Reviewer: Mrs. H. Hill

 April / May 2003
Stayed there for four nights over Mayday bank holiday. The sight is very clean the toilets and showers are well maintained and very clean. There was confusion with our complicated booking,but they put it right immediately. We didn't find it too expensive considering it was over the bank holiday, and there was seven adults (eventually)in two tents. If we were in the area again we would stay there again. The only critism is that the shop wasn't that well stocked.  


Reviewer: Robbie

 Sept 2002
I had seen a lot of advertising for this site, so thought it would be good to spend a night there to see how good it was. When I phoned for a price (1 night, small dome tent, 1 adult) I was quoted 9 - bit pricey, but worth a go. I wasn't very impressed to then be charged an additional 1 "administration fee" when I booked in!

The site is a large flat area, with hedged bays housing some 6 caravans each. A grid of roads make the site much like a housing estate, with night lighting. Camping was on one of these caravan pitches. There is some road noise, but not too intrusive.

The facilities are comprehensive, as one would expect at this price. Showers are excellent and free, toilet blocks are modern, clean, warm and have piped music. Access to the toilet blocks is by key. Water taps are dotted throughout the site.

You have to pay a deposit for a card to allow you to go in and out of the site outside normal working hours.

In conclusion - OK, but too pricey to entice me back again. 


Previous     119 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 119     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Royal Umpire Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Royal Umpire Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Royal Umpire Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Preston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2659 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement