Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lower Lacon Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Wem > Lower Lacon Caravan Park Reviews

Lower Lacon Caravan Park
Soulton Road
Wem
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY4 5RP
Tel: 01939 232376
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 270
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 145 Reviews
                7/10 from 145 Reviews

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  145 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DEBDOYLE 5 reviews from this member

 Loved this site, lots to do for old and young alike, swimming pool was nice and warm, and you can sit nearby and have a drink afterwards. We were in the furthest field which was lovely and quiet with our own piggie to watch up and down the fence.
Toilets/showers were clean and plentiful, showers were really warm. Shop sold extensive range, including alcohol which saved a trip. Some nice places nearby, Wem well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jaynebryan96 2 reviews from this member

 First impression of this site, reception staff were very friendly and helpful. On entering the site you do wonder what you are coming too. Lots of touring caravans that stay there all the time with awnings left up and very very mossy etc. The site though is very well looked after, very friendly staff. The jakks bar is good value for money, would recommend. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Billyboy 1 review from this member

 What a excelent site from our arrival to leaving we were made very welcome.

All staff from security to reception made you feel welcome.

Friendly atmosphere good facilities!

Will be returning again soon 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cufcbarside 68 reviews from this member

 Lower Lacon has got a number of not so good items I am afraid to say. Be assured this is not a criticism of the place but our direct observations and our opinions only

The facilities need a little more attention to detail then at present. We saw the cleaners going in but they havent done as good as job, considering all weekend persons unknown have thrown wet toilet tissue onto the ceiling and the walls and on our departure today they still havent cleared it up. There is no hooks on the shower doors, there has been in the past as the sticky panels are still in place but it is quite difficult to manage to put your clothes somewhere when you shower. The shower heads are in dire need of cleaning and the water temp needs turning up a little. Warmish but hardly hot. To wash up outside you need 10p to get the hot water working, but word of warning dont turn the tap of until you have filled the sink otherwise its another 10p and the water could do with being a little hotter.

The pitchs are of various standards. The hardstanding pitchs are concrete so no awnings, the red area looks ok but the blue area for touring has a number of issues, be careful when leaving as parts of the area have a big drop and you could either get grounded or damage the undercarriage of your unit. Be assured the ground is extremely hard for pegging out your awning.

The other problem for us was and I stress for us for others it may be ok but we were very close to the Jakes Barn (nightclub / Breakfast Cafe) and although told by the wardens that the room was sound proof we can assure you it is not and in addition the turf out time does bring a mass of teenage noise and between 2300 and whenever it can get very noisy late on. This may be ok for those who like that sort of thing but it is not for us.

Vistors are charge 5 per visit if over an hour. This we believe to be be excessive.

You may well require additional electric leads as the posts are a long way off the pitches. The shop can supply them with a 10 refundable deposit

The disable facilities require a chair in the room. We had to take our own chair in to help our son get undressed and dress after showering for those with mobility issues.

The chemical disposal point requires a flush as I wont describe what it was like on this family website.

The good bits now.

The reception area is very quick and professional in getting you into and booked in. There is quite a large shop and facilities and appear as usual to be a little more expensive but within tolerable limits.

Of extreme impressive was the warden. One in particular was always around and visable and takes speeding on the site (max 5mph) very seriously and on a number of occasion went after those offenders who wish to speed through the site. The wardens do show you to your pitch and we was very impressed with the wardens.

Access to and from the site is fine however word of warning. Make sure you approach site from the A49 Press Heath (Medway truck shop) end as the level crossing in Wem will rattle your unit to its limits on the bend and it is very tight in Wem itself.

There is a substansive entertainment programme, kids disco throughout the year and there is a breakfast cafe and an adults only bar.

Overall, we wouldnt go back I am afraid to say at this time. We spoke with the warden who said that the family do monitor what is said about the place and take it very seriously and will make changes if justified.

Today I wouldnt return however I may pending some changes. 


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Zola2410 1 review from this member

 This was a great site, the staff were really helpful from the moment we booked. The play area, animals, crazy golf and club were all good for the kids.

The site was a little rough round the edges, but the loo's and showers were spotless throughout our 3 night stay. With the offer of free tuesday in low seaon this was a great value stay and is somewhere we will return during the summer months. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Bates 2 reviews from this member

 Yes its difficult to peg but they DO tell you this!
We have used this site 3 times and have always been made to feel welcome.
Our kids Love this site, the woods running through the middle are a delight, the play area is within sight so you can relax!
The wardens and staff in general are very friendly and helpful, this always helps especially as we have an autistic 6yr old (tends to wander off in the blink of an eye)
We will be back in 2008 and bringing loads of friends with us, can't wait! 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Parsnip 9 reviews from this member

 Returned here for 3 nights over the bank holiday as only 30 minutes from home, We chose to go on the tent field without electric hookup again as it has the easiest access to the dog run and one block of toilets. Again enjoyed this site and it was not too crowded, although it is a busier site than those we have been to since, but every one settled down and was quiet by 9.30 - 10pm.

The pool was open this time and children and families were having a great time (the pool is by the adult bar) as we were very lucky with the weather.

This time we spent a day at Hawkstone Park which is a 10 minute drive away. This was well worth the trip and was fully enjoyed by us and the dogs. It involves lots of hill walking and there are bridges to go over and caves to explore as well as climbing the 100ft monument to receive spectacular views.

Showers are free and I did not have to queue even though it was bank holiday.

For the purposes we went for - not a long drive and a 'chilling' weekend it was ideal and no doubt we will be back for another short stay soon. I could not stay longer than a weekend as there is not enough to do off and around the site. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Frankie Flintstone 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site for three nights with our granddaughter, from the off we were comfortable with this site, a request to be sited near facilities due to my wife recovering from an operation on her foot and being on crutches was granted and the staff could not have been more helpful, we found the site to be quiet in the evening and the facilities clean (there was an occasion when the toilets were untidy but this was due to campers children running amok and littering the place with toilet paper and when mentioned to a Warden was quickly cleaned) in general an excellent site and will visit again, on Friday evening we treated ourselves to dinner at The old Rectory in Wem www.Oldrectorywem.Co.Uk well worth a visit to round off a nice few days. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Pauatkn 2 reviews from this member

 I assume it was just for the electric pitches but you get a marked out pitch area (marked in white spray paint like on a football pitch) in which you can put your tent/caravan, wind breakers and car. I hadn't come across such a defined marked out area before but it was actually quite good as you can see exactly the space you've got and pitches next door have no excuse to encroach on your area.

The reception staff were very friendly and after booking in we were shown to our pitch by the warden (10 refundable deposit for barrier pass). No problems pitching although it was hard to peg out in areas (remains of concrete under the grass I think as an ex-airfield).

When the rain had stopped falling we went for a walk round the site. As you walk you can see all the other bays were pitches are, there are small areas where there are animals (pigs, sheep, llamas, free roaming chickens & some birds in cages), there is also a kids park. There are a lot of trees in the middle of the site which if it had been dry the kids would have loved to go exploring in all weekend, but as it was it was too wet & muddy it was only as we were leaving that they could go and explore.

The New in 2007, barn 'Jakks' has just been built with a cafe & takeaway at the back. Went to the cafe for our tea the first night and the food was good and well priced.

The 'barn' has a long bar, lots of tables & chairs, toilets and an area to dance. It was clean and tidy. We had a great night on Saturday just talking and dancing (great to have somewhere dry and open you could just chill out in).

We were pitched near the top and so used the top of the two toilet blocks. The toilet block was very clean and the showers just the right temperature. Only down side, had to pay for hot water for washing dishes.

Small shop by the entrance which stocked all the basics and the staff were friendly. There is also a reasonably sized Co-Op in Wem which is only about 5 minutes away with free car parking.

There are loads of places for getting water and emptying bins.

Don't know that there is much in the area as other than shopping in Wem (nice little sweet shop there) we stayed on site all weekend.

Would definetly go back again. It had good pitches, plentiful basics (water, bins), nice toilet block, plenty for the kids to do - playing in the woods, on the park or watching the animals, an indoor area for the evening (kids indoor play area, other than pool & air hockey, would make this perfect). There is also a outdoor pool which looked nice but we didn't get a chance to use. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sue Simpson 1 review from this member

 I have returned to this site time and time again. I have never had cause to complain about the cleanliness of the facilities, and the showers have always been at just the right temperature. The shop is well supplied.
I have gone here in a family tent for about 4 or 5 years and have just bought a touring caravan. (I borrowed one a few weeks ago, to have a try at caravanning. Even though we looked and felt like the Clampetts, due to the age of the van, the staff treated us no less kindly). The ground is hard, but if you work around the area you need to put the peg in, you can normally get it in somewhere.
I have been pitched in some seriously bad weather and have never had my tent blow away.
The new reception area is lovely and the new barn has a much improved bar.
The animals are a lovely variation on some sites and the wild rabbits hopping around in the evening are wonderful. The ducks come right up to the pitch and appear very tame.
I have a 14 year old son who normally brings a friend. He has enjoyed this site for the past few years. (and so far, not in a drunken state!)
I have never experienced any unpleasantness through drunks or unruly children.
The staff and wardens are very friendly and helpful.
In fact, I am booked in tomorrow, and looking forward to it. 


Previous     145 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lower Lacon Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Lower Lacon Caravan Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lower Lacon Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Lower Lacon Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wem      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1818 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement