Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Greenhills Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Bakewell > Greenhills Holiday Park Reviews

Greenhills Holiday Park
Crow Hill Lane
Ashford In The Water
Bakewell
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE45 1PX
Tel: 01629 813467
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 170
Open: February To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 260 Reviews
                8/10 from 260 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  260 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bungleboy 2 reviews from this member

Overall this site is great. Location is good, short walk from Bakewell and near to Ashford and Monsal Head. Facilities are good. Toilets and showers are clean. On site pub and shop also useful. Site provided kids entertainment on Saturday evening.

Only complaint is that there was still music and a lot of noise at midnight, not good if you have small children.

Would use again.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Maxyjohn 10 reviews from this member

This site is accessible and easy to find.

Booking in was efficient and we were shown where to fill up with water and escorted to our pitch, which was a good size.

Showers I felt are 'snug' but very clean and water was hot, plentiful and free.

Bakewell is an easy stroll away, and has plenty of shops and pubs and a lovely walk along the river.

We have booked to go again, so I guess that says it all.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Db123 6 reviews from this member

Have to say that this is a wonderful site, but the only downfall is the camping field is on a slope.

The Staff are so helpful and bend over backwards to help you.

When I arrived I was on a wasp nest and the lady at reception tried every thing to move us, which she did in the end.

The club house is really nice and the camp shop is well stocked up on most things.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Adouk 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 3 night stay at Greenhills Holiday park. We had a fantastic time, the staff were all very friendly and helpful.

Toilet facilities were adequate kept clean and tidy, showers however were a little bit on the small side.

Washing up facilities were ok.

The on site shop stocked the bare essentials until you could get into Bakewell itself which was a very nice town to walk round there is a Co-op and Budgens.

The kiddies park was well equipped to keep the children occupied for a couple of hours. The on site pub was nice, very oldie worldy.

On exploring around the little villages in the surrounding area we did find a lovely pub (The Ashford Arms) the food was lovely, good sized portions and very welcoming.

Overall we had a fantastic time just a few minor problems we wanted to book again for August and go for longer but couldn't as weekends were fully booked and also on day of arrival of holiday just returned from we were not been made aware of that a school had hired out 3 of the fields in front of our pitch. We were to say the least a little disappointed as it wasn't as queit as we had hoped, other than that we will definitely be returning at some stage in the near future.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Llesley ann 19 reviews from this member

First class site, all staff very helpful. When arrived we were shown where all the facilities where, then shown to our pitch. My only disappointment was the guy who showed us our pitch told us where to put our caravan right to the edge, which our awning was on the hardstanding bit and not the grass.

Toilet's very clean and cleaned on a daily basis. Shop sells only basic things. Bar is not over big but with the weekend being lovely weather we sat outside. There is a children's play area on site.

A walk in to Bakewell is a must, we decided to walk with the weather being so nice, it took us about 30 mins. Bakewell town itself is a lovely place to visit, plenty going on and plenty of cafe's. On the last Saturday every month there is a farmers market and dancers in the street.

Overall I would give this site 8/10 and will go back again sometime.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rstorey 4 reviews from this member

This is a great site. Went with a group of friends and stayed in the field behind the additional toilet block. Field was mainly flat with areas that had a slight slope.

Site was friendly. Kids loved the playground and ball field. Toilets and showers are clean and didn't have to queue at all. I also made use of the free freezer block facility. Shop and bar are an additional bonus. Walk into Bakewell, with a group of 13 kids took about 30 mins!

Will definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rnjones 5 reviews from this member

We stayed at Greenhills for 3 nights during whit week, on arrival we went to reception and the guy was very helpful, showing us our pitch and pointing out where to find the toilets, showers, shop, and the information hut were.

The toilets and showers were spotless.

The shop stocks the basics.

There are two small play areas for children, also a playing field with goalposts for football etc.

Every staff member was friendly and we also bought a raffle ticket from the lady out of the office for her sponsored bike ride, and to our surprise we won ! A two night stay which were taking in a couple of weeks time.

Greenhills is a very short walk into the town of bakewell which we would recommend.

If your given the option to stay on Ashford view I would also recommend as its got lovely views of Ashford village.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tracey86 12 reviews from this member

Greenhills is clean and very well maintained throughout the site.

On arrival we went to reception and the lady was very helpful, pointing out where to find the toilets, showers, washing up area and freezer and the shop, laundry room and information hut. She then directed us to our pitch.

They had put us in the woodlands field which in my opinion is the best of the 3 as the other 2 seem to slope much more which isn't ideal but there were tents on them and they seemed to be just fine, that said if we were to go again, I'd request we be in the Woodlands field again. The pitches are large and well marked out without being restrictive.

The views from the camping fields are beautiful and my only slight gripe about the whole site is that you can hear the road noise from the A6, it isn't a major issue and you do switch off from it after a while, its a just shame because other than that all that can be heard is cows and sheep- bliss!

The toilets and showers are spotless- the best I've seen and there is always loo roll and hand wash. The showers are free too. The washing up area was good, it actually had really hot water. We didn't use the laundry room so can't comment on that.

The shop was open for a couple of hours morning and night and it stocked the basics, we popped in for a couple of sachets of hot chocolate to warm us through.

The information tent was good too with loads of leaflets and information about places to visit and the local area. Although I know the area well anyway as we only live an hour away, we just wanted a little break in the countryside.

The club is a nice relaxed place to sit for a drink of an evening, prices are standard. It cost us 5.15 for a pint of Guinness and a vodka with lemonade.

There are two parks for children, one for under 5's and one for under 12's and also a playing field with goalposts and lots of space to run around and play games. We don't have children but I can imagine they would be happy to play here.

All the staff were very friendly and all said good morning etc, even the chappy watering the hanging baskets at 7am whilst I was in my PJ's on the way to the loo!

Short walkable distance to lovely Bakewell and we also took a drive into nearby Buxton too and spent the day in the town and walking around the surrounding areas.

The midweek 8 per night offer at Greenhills is excellent.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mstandish1 4 reviews from this member

This was our second time camping at this site, it's a great site with brilliant facilities the toilets are always clean and tidy and I've never had to queue for them, and the water is always hot. The on site bar is a warm and welcoming area with plenty of seats. The two children's playground's are excellent for keeping the kids entertained.

We never used the shop on site but did browse the shelves and was very well stocked and as it's not too far away from any major supermarkets you'll never really run out of anything

It's right in the heart of the peak district so it's great for exploring the surrounding area, with Matlock & Chatsworth estate not being too far away.

Definitely be returning

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dodger936 12 reviews from this member

Beautiful location, clean site, friendly people working there and excellent facilities. We arrived on Saturday and although the site was busy, we were shown our pitch and the facilities. Our pitch was a 'hardstanding' which was great but difficult to get the pegs in.

The area is outstanding and we'll definitely be going here again. So, quickly, the pros and cons, (because we have to have some).

Pros - excellent facilities, very clean and never had to queue once.

Nice bar which also served coffee during the day

Nice shop with reasonable stock

Like I said, very friendly staff

Although there was a rally and an act on at the pub/bar, no noise or disturbance after 11pm.

Cons - errr, let me see, mmmm, oh yes, showers very 'snug' for a large person like myself and possibly could have been advised about rock pegs. I'm only nitpicking because I really enjoyed my weekend there and will definitely be returning!

Previous     260 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Bakewell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4993 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019