Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie > Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite > Reviews

Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite
Hoddom
Ecclefechan
Lockerbie
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG11 1AS
Tel: 01576 300251
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 91
Open: 01/04/2024 to 30/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 142 Reviews
                8/10 from 142 Reviews

Photos (27)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  142 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MrsMac 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here Monday to Friday 1 adult 2 kids van, awning & electric = £80. Pretty good price I feel.

Shower block very spacious and plenty of hot water. 2 additional separate toilet blocks with dish washing attached. Liked the plastic protector strips at the DW area. Good Washing machines and fab tumble drier (full load dried at once in 25 Min's 5x20p)

Nice childrens' play area, tennis court, mountain bike trail and a wide open grassy area for children to play. Bar was spacious with additional seating outside in the covered court yard. Midges were not too bad at all given the time of year. Skin so soft available in the bar.

Staff all very friendly. Shop stocks basics and is cheap by the standards of other campsite shops. Bar is lovely, good value. Bar food is excellent value. Basket meals in particular average cost £3.50. 1 meal between 2 children would be more than enough.

I would recommend this site to families with children who can make their own entertainment.

We visited during the first week of the Glasgow Fair holiday. The site was busy, however at no time did I ever find it noisey or overcrowded. I would thoroughly recommend Hoddom Castle and will be returning in a few weeks. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Copta 15 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site on the strength of the reviews on this website and I have to say we were not disappointed in any way. The whole place is quite magical - like a mini-Hogwarts!

The staff were welcoming and friendly, the shop is size-able and well-stocked. The bar is lovely and although we didn't eat there, I saw people having food delivered to their tables and it looked lovely. There is a games room and also a huge washroom/toilet/shower room which had cubicles that were bigger than most and plenty of hot water.

There is also a restaurant which I didn't try so can't comment.

Pitches are bigger than average so no problems manoeuvring caravan and water was available near to van.

Surroundings were as to be expected with a castle - very majestic and ornate architecture but tempered with a modern convenient feel and plenty of space and facilities for children and families.

My only criticism was the long walk from our pitch to the chemical disposal point and you needed your shower key to access the building it was in which I wasn't warned about.

Definitely intend to visit again - best value for money I have ever come across - 10/10! 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: LawrenceR 2 reviews from this member

 We have stayed at this site twice, first time in a 6 berth tent and no electric hook up, pitched on the grass field near toilets, very level and spaciouspitches, this year used touring caravan and pitched on hardstanding, again very spacious and now spoling ourselves with electricity instead of candles. This is a very large site, well spaced out and does not seem to have any drainage problems in the wet.

This is definatley at the top of our list for going back to again, there are fantastic walks from the site, plus you have the forest and seaside a short drive away. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andrea Fensome 6 reviews from this member

 This has been by far the best caravan park that we have visited in the UK since we started touring several years ago. The site was immaculate with beautiful surroundings in the castle grounds, the staff were extremely helpful and very friendly and the facilities were second to none. As this was our first ever holiday in Scotland we were pleasantly surprised. There is plenty to occupy all ages, and we had a day out somewhere different during the week we stayed. The bar and restaurant on site were really cosy and the barman was lovely. We also had great weather! We ended up booking an extra night just because we loved it so much, and decided that we would definitely return again next year, if not sooner. We have even considered siting our van on a seasonal pitch, something we have never contemplated before!
The one down side, though no fault of the site, was that there is only one (very large) shower block at reception, and I had fell the week earlier and had my ankle strapped up, so found it quite difficult hobbling down from our hill pitch each day. They do not encourage you to drive down, not that we would, or did, as they prefer car driving to be kept to a minimum. Will definitely return so I can do the forest walk on two good legs! Well worth a visit you will not be disappointed! 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Malcwilding 2 reviews from this member

 Just been back here for Easter, as usual everything was fantastic, they've moved the electric hook up pitches, but no worries they're closer to pub, shop etc. Toilets, showers were spotless as usual and all the staff friendly. We had a fantastic time and will definitely return again and again, absolutely excellent site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Flyinghaggis 11 reviews from this member

 Just back from spending 3 nights here.  Toilet block & showers are spotless.  Also dish-washing areas clean.  Good pitch size.  Don't know what the restaurant or takeaway was like as it only just opened up on Wed and we were leaving the next day.  


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Malcwilding 2 reviews from this member

 Can't fault this site, been there on a few occasions and fully intend to return. Last visit had a disaster with trailer on way, got there late at night, when we finally arrived warden and staff were very helpful, on leaving staff allowed us to store our gear that we couldn't fit in car, and for no charge. Totally faultless site, highly recomended 


Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tci872 14 reviews from this member

 Having read many reviews on Hoddom, we had great expectations, and were not disappointed. If anything it was even better than we could have imagined. We were the only tent (about 12 fairly flat pitches) on the top field as we had EHU. The nearby statics were well kept and very friendly. The shower block is probably the best I have seen, the reception and shop was friendly and efficient, we even got escorted to our pitch on arrival. The bar and restaurant although quiet, (except the Saturday) were excellent. We are not golfers but it did seem that those who were enjoyed the 9 hole course on site.
A very clean, friendly site in an excellent touring area. And the sun was out for 5 of the 7 days. A bit wet and windy on the final night but the Vango stood up well. We will be returning next year. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Botws0 2 reviews from this member

 Good site. Plenty of showers, toilets and sinks and very clean. The biggest laundry room I have ever seen and great to see an iron. You just need some 20p's for the hairdryer and iron.
Tent pitch area was beautiful just in front of the castle and next to a field of Highland cows! If you have a large tent you will need to request a pitch in the centre as towards the edges there is a slight slope.
Great walks which are clearly signposted from the site.
Our only complaint is the lack of parental control for the children playing but that is no fault of the site. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Suzanne1230_1 4 reviews from this member

 We have just come back from Hoddom Castle site, after spending four nights here and we would definitely recommend this site. 
 
The shower block and toilet suite were immaculate, with plenty of toilets and washbasins available.
 
We would thoroughly recommend the site for couples, families especially those who have dogs and lovely going for walks, the walks where lovely no need to move the car my children never compliant once about going for walks which is a change, we all said we will be returning to the site again hope fully soon. 
 
The tourer pitches are on hardstanding and you have plenty of room for the caravan, awning and car.  Once again what a lovely site the best I have been too. 


Previous     142 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lockerbie      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2999 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement