Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Waterside House Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Ullswater > Waterside House Campsite > Reviews

Waterside House Campsite
Waterside House
Howtown
Penrith
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2NA
Tel: 01768 486332
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 28/03/2024 to 01/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 208 Reviews
                8/10 from 208 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  208 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wdaj 4 reviews from this member

 Excellent location by lake ullswater, we have been once before, but again we were dissappointed; the owners just don't seem to care much about the campers- toilets miles away, no sign of anyone patrolling (fires were banned but were definitely in evidence), groups of lads were apparently prohibited, but we were next to bunch of 3 lads having barbecue after midnight!

On the plus side it is a great walk less than a mile along ullswater to pooley bridge- 3 pubs there, the Sunn Inn is excellent (and good value too).Checkout the pub with amazing beer garden views 2 miles from pooley bridge on way to glenridding- spent too long their admiring the views and getting sunburnt! 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Russandjax 9 reviews from this member

 This was our first camping trip and it turned into a nightmare, however the weather can't be blamed on the site!

Upon arrival I checked in at Reception. There was no friendly greeting. Our pitch was muddy. Other EHU pitches were full of holes. The road round the site was full of pot-holes and the trek to the loos' etc was through a very muddy farm yard.

The shower block was very cold and the toilets looked like public loos' from the 70's.

Our tent was literally smashed to bits by the very strong winds. Nobody from the site offered any assistance.

It's location will ensure this site will always be busy but I don't rate it out of season. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thehanmers 3 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit in 8 weeks, this time we tried the electric hook up and the new tent.

This is still one of the most beautiful locations. And even with the torrential rain, the views from lakeside were magnificent.

Two adults, one child and a dog. First time on EHU and with our Vango Icarus 600DLX. As the weather was very very wet all the EHU pitches were very muddy and due to the use over the summer there were many dips and uneven ground.

On pitch 8 we had to corner off a large area inside the tent as we kept 'falling' down and fearing for the integrated groundsheet. We were next to a babbling brook which took up some of the pitch space and following the torrential rain, we feared the brook may flood. The road noise from the Howton Road was noticeable but nothing too intrusive as the season is drawing to an end.

Once again the toilets were kept lovely and clean and the showers lovely and hot. Again, there are only a few showers but after 11am is a good time to visit.

We will visit again and again as this is a wonderful location and a great site, although some attention to the EHU pitches would go down a treat 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Gazsu 5 reviews from this member

 We arrived on Saturday 4th Sept to a very packed site, there was hardly enough room to walk between the tents.But as it was the end of the school holidays we knew a lot of people would be leaving, which they did over the weekend. I was very glad they did too because there is just not enough facilities when this site is full.

There are only four showers for both the ladies and mens, although, these are large cubicles with lockable doors so are nice and private, and are free with very very hot water,(i did hear some children complaining that they were too hot), I myself could not stand underneath the shower because of this.

There are three fields and the family field is massive queueing for showers would definitely happen. There are six toilets in the main block near the reception, with an old portacabin with three loos in behind, and there is a more modern one in the family field with two loos in, which were constantly leaking so were always wet. They are cleaned regularly so are reasonable.

The owners are very nice and just left us to ourselves as did the staff who are very polite and helpful. We were given our pitch (elec) and drove to it only to find a very nice couple camping there and had been all night. We showed them our ticket and they very kindly moved.

We enjoyed our stay, the scenery is outstanding, but probably we would not return to such a large site. There is a very small children's play area near reception, cant comment on the equipment as myself and my hubby are bit old for these now!

There is a burger bar sited at the camp but is only open Thurs, Fri and Sat nights. The little shop has essentials and Pooley Bridge is a short lakeside walk for other things but not for food shopping, there is also tea rooms and a couple of pubs there but we did not use them so cant really comment.

Penrith is the main town for food shopping and is only a short drive away.Keswick is a lovely little town and has a great Fish and Chip shop and again is a short drive away. All in all a good holiday 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pollyann 3 reviews from this member

 First time camping for us as a family, lovely location for our first time so was very pleased. Electric hook up so we was pitched quite close to a large motor home which was rather intimidating for us in a tent. Would go back but would ask for the family field next time as there seemed more space between mostly tents in that field.Quiet campsite when we were there, toilet block was quite busy but not a real problem. The walk along the lake to Pooley bridge was lovely, and the pub a very nice end to the walk. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 6 of clubs 8 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to this site within a few weeks. Our 1st visit was during the kids school holidays and the fields were packed,a lot more tents etc than they say and like already said not enough facilities but if you went later in the afternoon for showers/dishes you were okay.

As for this last weekend 17th - 19th,we phoned ahead as were were originally booked to stay on the Keswick site but had a call to say it was flooded so changed to here and were told we didn't need to book as there was plenty of room.

We arrived and pitched right next to the lake and thought lovely, but all changed on Saturday morning when car after car arrived, but not to tent, but to fly model aeroplanes all day and the noise was a terrible buzz that really got on your nerves, so you couldn't sit outside your tent and relax. So off into the village we went expecting them to have gone on return but oh NO they were there until at least 4.30pm when the weather started to change and it was a bit too cold to sit out.

Saturday night from 9pm onwards the heavens opened and you could see the fields becoming really muddy but at the front where we were was fine just windy.

Sunday the plane people were back again only not as many today with the rain but what really annoyed us was the fact we weren't told about this when checking in as we would of pitched somewhere else or even went to Park foot next door as the noise was really annoying.

Could be a really lovely site but the owners seem to want to make as much money as possible and not put too much back.

Oh nearly forgot about the breakfast cost, just under 7 each.

Will we go back. Probably but not in school holidays and we will definitely ask if there is going to be anything on like the planes as you couldn't relax. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Whinney 5 reviews from this member

 We visited this site the first week in September, It turned out to be a very busy weekend, the fee for two people and tent was 18 per night. Which must be mostly for the views ! Which are wonderful.

BUT There was a few hundred tents on site and the facilities do not cater for that amount-4 showers and maybe six toilets and sinks in the main block, plus there where portable cabins (just toilets) next to it and one set across one of the fields. But theses were smelly and wet. And seem to get cleaned about 8.30 to 9 am, when most people need them.

We camped in the Manchester field which is nice and flat, but a long way from toilets,showers and washing up area,. It's a very long walk in the dark, and knowing that dogs had been running free during the day you tread carefully. I know this is the owners fault, but no one seemed to do anything about it and there was piles of dog poo on the field. It seems children are allowed to play ball games and Frisbee on this field also and this was very near to tents and cars. There was also a lot of noise at night-no eleven pm curfew!

The site entrance can be tight if people park in the booking in area. There was so many children running about near this area it made driving a night mare. Not very well planned around entrance at all.

Having said all this, the views WERE wonderful, and the walk to Pooley Bridge was very pleasant. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: WINDELS 1 review from this member

 I have been staying at this site for the last 15yrs and have always enjoyed my stay. The staff are friendly and always willing to help as are the owners. Some people complain about the facilities but I have never had any problems getting a shower or using a toilet. People seem to forget that over the last few years the number of people camping has massively increased putting strain on all campsites facilities. Waterside is for me a fantastic place and I shall continue to stay there when I am in the lakes. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Standy 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed for four nights in August and enjoyed it.

Positives:

1/ The location was great. Pitched our tent facing the lake and had some lovely views.

2/ Excellent base location for walking. Also close to Pooley Bridge where there are nice pubs, a tourist info building and a decent shop.

3/On-site shop was stocked well and not over-priced.

4/ We didn't take children, but site was very child-friendly.

Negatives:

1/ Not enough shower facilities for the size of the site. The queue for the females was always long.

2/ It's good that they kept the toilet blocks clean, but while we were there they seemed to be closed for cleaning for long periods at every busy time of the day. There was a portable toilet block around the back for cleaning times, but once I found this was being cleaned at the same time and of an evening it had no lighting switched on.

3/ A couple of the staff weren't as helpful as they could have been, although others were great.

Good site, enjoyed our stay. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nic n paul 1 review from this member

 Considering how busy the site was the toilets were kept clean and tidy,there was ample hot water. The shop on site had most things stocked but only used it for ice lollies, there is a morrisons supermarket only 10 mins away at penrith.

As said before a nice walk upto pooley bridge by the lakeside, only visited one pub there it was very busy but pleasant.All in all a fantastic site all the staff were pleasant and the views are amazing.

Cant wait to go back to this site again, will camp next time without ehu just so we can camp on the lake shore 


Previous     208 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Waterside House Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Waterside House Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Waterside House Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ullswater      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


40502 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Play our
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win an amazing 12V and 240V 21.5" Full HD Smart WiFi TV with Satellite Decoder worth £399 provided by outdoor superstore Towsure!

Play Here


Advertisement