Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Waterside House Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ullswater > Waterside House Campsite Reviews

Waterside House Campsite
Waterside House
Howtown
Penrith
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2NA
Tel: 01768 486332
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 190 Reviews
                8/10 from 190 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  190 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Javert 2 reviews from this member

 We went for a weekend visit as a group after almost begging the site to allow a group to go, on arrival the reception staff were unfriendly and not very helpful, I was shocked to find most of our field full of groups after being told they don't usually take them.

The noise level after 11pm was high and only have 4 showers per sex for 100s of people, they have put a make shift toilet on the field which was dirty,had no toilet rolls and long queues.

We were told at 10pm that we would have to leave after queuing up for ages because it was time to clean them.

The best thing was the views and location which you couldn't fault but the lack of showers / the noise and the overflowing bins has put me off 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paul239 2 reviews from this member

 The site is well positioned by the side of Ullswater although if you want to pitch with a view of the lake you will have to be early and probably have to put up with a sloping pitch. We pitched in Manchester field which is flat but around 100m walk from the lake.

The staff were friendly and helpful and the kids enjoyed the shop.

The site only has 4-5 showers for each sex, I would guess that there were at least 200 pitches up when we went so there were long queues (1/2 hour in one case) for the showers.

The facilities were kept clean by the staff but for some reason seemed to want to shut them for cleaning between 8 and 9am !

There were no paper towels or soap provided in the toilets so if you didnít take your own you were in trouble. The other effect of this was that the worktops around the sinks were always soaking as there were no towels to mop up any spillages so the only place to put your wash bag was in the previous personsí splashed water. There were no separate facilities for shaving or brushing teeth they were shared with the toilet (I know this is common but I canít stand it)

We went for a long weekend at the start of the school holidays; I donít know if it is always the same but the site was loud and the 11:00pm cut off for noise and music was not enforced. There were also lots of dogs and therefore dog mess in the field we were in although this speaks more of the people there than the site owners who worked hard to keep the site clean and tidy.

All this aside the site is well positioned for walking and exploring the lakes, the town of Pooley Bridge is nice and is only a short lakeside walk away. Unless you enjoy travelling on old boats I would give the boat trip to Howtown and Glenridding a miss as we thought it was expensive (£32) for a three stop ticket for a family of 4 but we are tight. In fact I would give Glenridding a miss full stop; it doesnít really have anything that Pooley Bridge doesnít have other than it is the start of the Helvellyn walk. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KENNY13 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed during July. A rather large site which was very busy.

Without doubt, the facilities are cleaned regularly, however, due the amount of people staying here, they cannot keep on top of them fast enough. There are only 3 showers each for male & female but they do open up portaloos. There are 6 or so washing up sinks (some under shelter/some not) but be prepared to queue at busy times.

The on-site shop sells everything - and I mean everything and at reasonable prices.

You can camp right at the lakeside - which is nice and you can hire canoes and rowing boats for reasonable rates.

Pooley Bridge is a nice 10 minute walk along the lakeside, there is no cash machine in the village, however, the post office offers a cash back service.

There is a butty wagon on site which sells teas, coffees, sausage, bacon butts etc and a small children's play park.

We had a nice family time but would not rush back. (Not for us) 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Houston5 1 review from this member

 We've been camping as a family of 5 for the past 4 years and have visited lot's of campsites.

Waterside House campsite is in a lovely location right on the edge of Ullswater lake. Within easy walking distance along the lake(even with a 3 year old) you'll find Pooley Bridge where there are shops and very nice pubs - can't remember the name of it, but the one with the kids play area at front we preferred - although the two we tried were both very child friendly.

As other reviewers have also mentioned the toilet and shower blocks were extremely clean and tidy. Maybe they've added some extra toilets by now, but we never had to wait for a shower or queue for the toilets. Plenty of bins around for rubbish too. Never had a problem with noisy neighbours.

Would definitely recommend this campsite, lovely location, clean and tidy, quite, lot's of places to visit near by and lot's of walks to go on too. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mavey58 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from two nights at this site. This is a very well maintained and clean site, particularly considering it is on a working farm. We had no problems with noise at all. No large groups allowed. The setting is quite breathtaking and had wonderful views of the lake. There is a well stocked shop on site in case you run out of essentials.

Plenty of toilets that were kept very clean and always had loo paper - a bonus after some of the sites we have visited.

The lakeside walk in to Pooley bridge was very pleasant and took about 15 minutes. There are three bars in the village, all very nice but we found the bar meals expensive and very much the same. Wouldn't bother with eating there again. I would definitely visit this site again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stprd2002 2 reviews from this member

 This was our 10th visit to this site, I cant find any faults with the campsite. If you arrive late,y ou just pitch where you want and the farmer will see you the next morning for the rent £17 per night for 2 adults and a dog, not bad for the area.

The showers and washing facilities are free and the showers are great, lovely and clean.

Some campsites in the area are a bit regimental, but this one is the opposite.

A visit to pooley bridge is a must,you can walk along the lakeside all the way.

There are 3 pubs in the village, the best one is next to the shop, you can sit at the side of the river and wathch the fish jumping out of the water. I still cant remember the name of the pub after all the visits we have made.

Buying food is not recommended in the village shop as it is well over priced,a trip to penrith where you will find a morrisons and an aldi, morrisons is just a marque at the moment, as the main supermarket burnt down last year

We are going back in September for a week, cant wait. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Abner17 3 reviews from this member

 This is a really stunning location, situated on the edge of the lake and an easy 20 minutes stroll along the lakeside into the village of Pooley Bridge. The site is clean and well maintained and the staff are very welcoming and helpful. The on-site shop is well stocked and prices are reasonable. There are many excellent walks in the area.

The site was quite busy during the weekend that we visited and it was a shame that the 11.00 pm cut-off for silence was not observed or enforced.

The toilet blocks were kept clean and well supplied but there is a need for more facilities to meet the needs of so many people on this large site. The portable cabin loos in the field were really not sufficient to meet demand and the main toilet block at the site entrance was a long walk away.

In conclusion this is a great location and a lovely site that needs some investment in additional toilet facilities and better management at night but it is definitely recommended for a midweek stay when it's less busy. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Blaggs77 1 review from this member

 The camping site is just great, booked in at the office / shop and was pointed in direction of pitch which was very easy to find. Had ehu pitch which was a nice size, trees to the back, near road which is not a problem.

Wildlife is all around, nice 15 minute walk along the lake into pooley bridge, plenty of pubs, the sun inn has real ales and a nice garden, the crown is a nice pub with access to river where you can sit and watch the afternoon go by

Site is large, toilets always clean and tidy, could do with more showers, shop well stocked. Couldn't wish for more perfect views of lake ullswater, will be returning soon 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kblack 2 reviews from this member

 We visited over the bank holiday with 2 other families and had a choice of where to pitch. The site is large and tidy with lovely views of the lake from some parts. A short walk along the lake takes you into Pooley Bridge, a village with good facilities.

Would recommend a trip with the Ullswater Steamers. The site also rent out rowing and motor boats at reasonable prices. There is a small children's playground, a shop and also a catering van selling everything from a full breakfast to a tray of chips.

The only downside to this site is that there are not enough showers for the amount of people allowed on site. Plus, depending on where you pitch, you have a trek to wash up or take a shower. There are extra toilets at the far side but extra showers would be a great addition. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Walker_85 2 reviews from this member

 First visit to Pooley Bridge area and we will be going back for sure. The camp site is right on the lake so if you get there early enough you can camp meters away from the lake shore, ideal if you are keen on sailing or have canoes and boats.

We paid £32 for two people camping for two nights, we stayed Saturday to Monday and on the Sunday night and Monday morning had the place to ourselves almost.

Toilet and shower facilities are average but well kept and seemed to be cleaned daily. Showers where free and warm also open through the night. There was plenty of bin stations on the site with various for gas bottles that were well signed.

The shop on the site was well stocked but the staff who were there when we arrived were a bit off, there is no pub on site but Pooley Bridge is only a 10-15 min walk away along a beautiful flat walk.

The Sun Inn has a great beer garden and is very dog and child friendly, sports on TV as well.

We ate out at the Pooley Bridge Inn and found the staff rude and impolite

Granny Dowbekin's Tearooms in the heart of Pooley Bridge was the highlight of the trip, a great family run tearoom, great teas and coffees, and a huge full English breakfast ! Will certainly be going back there. 


Previous     190 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Waterside House Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Waterside House Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Waterside House Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ullswater      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1723 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement