Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Bakewell > Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Chatsworth House
Baslow
Bakewell
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE45 1PN
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 120
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 125 Reviews
                8/10 from 125 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  125 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Darthillcat 16 reviews from this member

 One of the best Caravan club sites we have visited, I would like to echo everything the other reviewers have posted about it.
TV reception is not good on this site so it may pay to either take a long TV lead or buy one from the Reception one site as the Electric Hook up points also have TV sockets. Locally the Village of Baslow has several good pubs to eat and drink at. Chesterfield is only a few miles away with its famous crooked spire and all the usual large shops.
We will definitely go back to this site but you do need to book as it is so popular and follow the arrival times because the approach road is narrow. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sassie69 12 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Chatsworth while visiting the Horse Trials and we couldn't have picked a better location.  It was like leaving the Secret Garden when we walked through the door in the wall and there right in front of us were the Horse Trials.  The main house is a little further away but its still only a ten minute walk.
 
We were lucky enough to have a Super pitch with its own water, waste water and toilet disposal and TV point. Having said that, the site is well laid out and all the pitches were spacious. 
 
It is important to book early for this site, especially for a weekend.  We are booked for a return visit in September for the Country Fair and I can't wait.   


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kinza123 32 reviews from this member

 Spent 3 nights here at Easter. It definitely is a top class site, I can't fault it any way.
We took 2 of our children aged 12 and 6. Although the play area is small, and ball games are obviously not allowed, the kids enjoyed it as the adults did.
My daughter said it was like stepping into Narnia as we went through the gate into Chatsworth park. To be able to wander round the grounds at night after everyone else has left is just wonderful - we were Lords of the Manor (in your dreams).
The site is immaculately clean and well kept. The wardens polite and helpful, and everything was calm and peaceful.
We will definitely visit again - when we can get in that is.
 


Date of Visit: December 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Primus2 16 reviews from this member

 First visit to Chatsworth park cc site and what a lovely site. Can't believe how busy it got for a weekend, we arrived at about 1pm and pitched up - we were near the entrance pitches and we sat having a cup of coffee and and unit after unit seemed to keep coming in. The pitches are quite generous in size and seem easy to back into. Everyone on site seemed very friendly and passed time of day. Liked the idea very much of a pass key to Chatsworth gardens. Nice walk to the house. If youre visiting this site book well in advance because it fills up so quickly. If I had one slight complaint it would be its not a 12 month site but thats not a complaint really! Will be adding to my list of favourites and will go back again. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Debbie Jacks 16 reviews from this member

 I can only follow what other people have said. The same excellent standards that all Club sites have. The pitches are good sizes. Facilities are of excellent standard. But the best thing was going through the gate on to the Chatsworth Estate, it felt quite magical. Once through the gate you are surrounded by trees and fields and a view of the house, You are given a key so you can come and go as you please It only takes 15/20mins to walk through the field up to the house. The house is lovely but the gardens are spectacular. £1.50 discount given on admission charge if you are staying on the CC site. We will definitely be returning here - thats if we can get in again as it is so popular! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Janx 116 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely quiet site, there are so many different birds that seem to be so tame, it was lovely to sit and watch them, there are ducks too that will come right up and sit on your pitch. We watched from our van as a mum and her little chicks preened themselves in the water from the dogs bowl.

The facilities are the usual good caravan club standard. The pitches are all hard standing, there are some super pitches. We found our pitch generous and roomy.

As said previously you get the key to the courtyard so you can come and go on the Chatsworth estate, there is lots of walking, it's about a15 minute scenic walk to Baslow, where I can recommend the carvery at the Rutland arms near the car park, it was superb.

Be sure to visit the chatsworth gardens, there are over 100 acres, with the water cascade where you can paddle on a hot day, an excellent maze, and lots more, be sure to take a picnic if you have children prices can be expensive for food.

We loved this site and we will be going again for sure, though getting a pitch at a weekend is like gold, they get full at the beginning of the year. 


Date of Visit: October 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alison0628 13 reviews from this member

 A beautiful sheltered site within high walls, with direct access via a side gate (you get a key to it) to the Chatsworth grounds. We stayed four nights here and didn't move the car, just walking within the estate and out to the nearby villages (you can walk to Bakewell too if you feel so inclined - lovely town). Ideal site for a wide range of interests, as the Chatsworth estate offers a lot to visitors. Pitches are not as big as on some sites, and although the wardens optimistically ask you not to drive on the grass, you'll have trouble getting pitched up if you don't. There are also long queues to check in at peak times, and rigs have to be stacked up, which causes congestion - though the site does try to deal with it and succeeds most of the time! That said, do go - it's well worth it - just don't take a huge rig! 


Date of Visit: October 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sinbad 17 reviews from this member

 It was wet and there were puddles on the pitches - but this is still one of the best sites that we have stayed at and we are going back at May bank 2006. The play area is a bit small, but the weather was bad so we went out more. Try the Tissington Trail for bikes or a gentle walk.
Chatsworth farm shop is expensive, but if you are a foodie just go and drool! All the meats are ideal for barbeques and you can have a chuckle at the hoi paloi buying game pie for their shoots! We lashed out on some steak for the barbie and it was wonderful.

You can buy a 3 day pass for the house and gardens, but you may like to phone first as it's not well described in their leaflet. This meant we made the most of it. PS if your kids need the loo in the house, just ask a guide and they will direct you to the secret loos. Hope to see some of you at May bank? 


Date of Visit: July 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shiraz 8 reviews from this member

 My expectations of this site were not realised due to the congestion that existed during my weeks stay. The site is well maintained and the full facilities are up to CC usual standards. The 3 wardens and their spouses were very efficient and in my opinion will face a future of having to solve the problem of where to place the "jugganaut" motorhomes which are now becoming frequent visitors to the CARAVAN Club sites . The pitches at this site are just not large enough for accepting these vehicles. The area and Chatsworth is worthy of a lengthy stay and every taste is well catered for. 


Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Jimmy1980 29 reviews from this member

 What a magnificent site. We spent the bank holiday weekend here. The downside is it does not take campers alone, and therefore we went with my fiancée’s parents and were a pup tent next to their caravan!

The village next to the site is beautiful with many quaint little pubs, serving excellent ales. An exclusive dog walk is provided with ample bins for clearing up. A locked gate leads into the grounds of Chatsworth House where there are many excellent walks and a river.

The facilities are excellent. The showers are heat adjustable and can actually be switched on and left on without having to re-press a button! Makes a change! The toilets close for around an hour for cleaning and were kept immaculate.

All in all an amazing site, with great facilities, makes me want to buy a caravan so we can go back again! 


Previous     125 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Chatsworth Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bakewell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3548 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement