Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Erwlon Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandovery > Erwlon Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Erwlon Caravan & Camping Park
Brecon Road
Llandovery
Carmarthenshire   (Browse area)
SA20 0RD
Tel: 01550 721021
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 168 Reviews
                9/10 from 168 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  168 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pricky 6 reviews from this member

Booked by phone for 4 nights with ehu, on arrival no trace of our booking could be found, but this was dealt with by the warden (maybe we were lucky that the site wasn't full).

Good clean site, although as you drive through the caravan pitches it does look a bit cramped. We were shown to our pitch on the far side of the site by the path to town, by the warden. Pitches possibly a bit on the small side, although not a problem as site was less than half full. Toilet block clean and showers brilliant, good pressure and warm but be careful of the tiled main flooring as is very slippy when wet.

Ideal site for walk into town only 5 mins, we ate at the Bluebell (recommended by the warden) nice local pub with decent food and reasonably priced. Superb co-op store only a few minutes walk open from 7am.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Siloans 16 reviews from this member

Stayed here to do some walking and its perfectly located for this

Stayed 5 days only rain 1 so very good for us

This is a well run site lots of information wifi that works fast. Grass is very well looked after, nice space between pitches The site in general looks very well laid out.

Our pitch was hard standing fully serviced all was in good order and worked well, we didn't trip the fuse once

Toilets :- showers were fantastic but run for about 30 seconds so you keep a hand near the button quite a lot there was a smell may have been the mens open urinal and the lights didn't come on in the toilets once so I sat in the dark. But they are very nice overall.

Located on a main road but noise was okay only heard motorbikes mostly

Will come back here again next year

Bonus the town is so close with all the shops and banks you will ever need 2 minutes walk

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 598 reviews from this member

We choose this on recommendation from a local and glad we did. Really well set out site and even though probably 50% looked like seasonal at least they were being used. The site had a nice friendly feel, warden very pleasant and facilities very clean.

Pitches were mainly hardstanding, a grass field further down was mainly tents.

10 minutes walk into Llandovery, loads of good places to eat and a very nice little town for a walk around.

We paid 16 for 2 adults with electric and free showers - excellant value and excellent site - we will be back to this one.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bps@stives 3 reviews from this member

Although a 'Best of British' site we were not over-impressed. Looks quite pleasant and grounds well-kept but the 'Loo of the Year' credit relates to 2007 and currently the amenities building needs maintenance, e.G. False ceiling tiles dirty and harbouring general grime. Also, a bit more ventilation as the place is totally steamed up very quickly.

Road noise is an issue. The road (A40) is 'de-restricted' and noise continues well into the night. Despite our a.M.'s being Fri & Sat, lorries started very early and shortly afterwards rally cars and motorcycles screamed along outside. Not site's fault but not my choice of a restful location.

Finally, also negative, far too many seasonal pitches & no full service pitches available for short visits. So fairly average overall.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cherok 12 reviews from this member

We don't normally choose sites in Wales these days because we live here and have travelled our country extensively over the years. However, it was a relatively last minute decision and while browsing 'UKCampsite.co.uk', came up with lovely Erwlon.

On arrival the wardens weren't aware that we needed to be close to the dog walk as we have an old Husky who can't walk far and all the pitches up that end were occupied. However, they let us pitch on the old wardens' hard standing close to the entrance which meant that we could walk straight out of the gate and along a nice shady country lane.

We felt that the wardens did a really good job, not being overly intrusive but managing to be genuinely warm and friendly at the same time.

The site is beautifully kept but quite natural looking which is a refreshing change from some of the 'over manicured' places we've been to. The whole site seemed really relaxed and we totally chilled out and had the best break we've been on for a long time! There is a bit of road noise but not too noticeable and you screen it out after a while.

Excellently situated and only 5 minutes to the well stocked supermarket (open until 10pm I think) and a further 5 minutes for the town of Llandovery, which is great for us because we don't move the motorhome whilst there and rely on being able to walk or cycle wherever we need to go.

Llandovery is a typical Welsh market town which has some pubs, a few coffee shops and cafes(try the first one on the right as you get in to the town for breakfast and delicious coffee) an Indian restaurant and a few 'nicky nacky' shops.Oh and a newsagent and a few other shops. The town has a nice friendly feel too!

Next time we go (hopefully soon)we will take the motorcycle for a nice trip around Llyn Brianne and up to Rhyader or Aberystwyth and we will definitely try the Indian restaurant.

The only down side was that the site didn't take debit or credit cards which we weren't aware of before we went and found this a bit strange in this day and age.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: INGSTER101 1 review from this member

This was our second visit to erwlon, our earlier visit was in July 2009. On both occasion we have found the site clean and well maintained, the warden's John and Mary very helpful and informative.

Very good value 21 per night with elec for our tent and 2 adults and 2 children (this was a bank holidays as well). The pitches in good condition.

Plenty of room for children to run around and play and ride bikes a small children's play area. The toilets: about 7 female and 4 male plus 4 family rooms plenty of showers and a couple private washing cubicles. All heated and well maintained. Washing / laundry room.

Plenty of warm water for washing up a fridge and freeze for use by tents clean and tidy, a charge is made for the use of the washing machine, drier and iron, but the charges are small. There are facilities for chemical toilet disposal again clean and tidy. A nice flat site although over two levels.

Llandovery town is about 10 mis walk, a somerfield store (co-op) is about 2 mins walk and caters for every need we have had.

The weather of both stays were very different one in 2009 very wet and the one in may 2010 quite dry. The pitches coped well with both. The only reason we have given this site 9/10 is because it does not have an on site shop which is really handy, however the somerfield (co-op) is only a few mins walk from the back end of the site.

So this would never stop us from returning, in fact I am looking forward to our next stay we will be back.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wendyandgary 2 reviews from this member

We love this site, it's brilliant. Pitches are level, people are friendly and the facilities are excellent and clean. The owners are friendly and llandovery is a short walk or bike ride away. We will be back this year.

Plenty of space and a park for the kids and they can ride their bikes around the site. The site is well cared for and well thought out, the road can be a little noisy but that didn't bother us too much.

Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: 1_man_+_his_dob(lo) 34 reviews from this member

My first motorhome trip and I picked a perfect site. Arrived 5:30 Thursday evening and was met by a warden as I got out of the car who explained the facilities and suggested I come back a bit later to speak to one of the other wardens for more detailed information.

Hard-standing with fresh water tap and hook-up post - some of the sockets were not working and were scheduled to be fixed. The toilet/shower/laundry/washing-up block is in the middle of the site and cleaned every day - it looks big enough to cope with a full site. TV reception is poor. There are wheelie bins for rubbish and recycling (glass, cans and paper).

Mainly caravans, with a handful of motorhomes - I think I was the only person there Thursday night, which might explain why as a solo motorhomer I was only charged 10 for pitch + EHU. By Friday evening there were quite a few pitches in use - next week (Easter) is apparently pretty full.

As mentioned elsewhere, the A40 is very close by. Noise drops away quickly after about 9pm and seems to build after 7am, but I think you start to filter it out after a while. Speaking to one of the locals, apparently Saturdays can be quite noisy due to the Llandovery's popularity with motorcyclists. I can't confirm this because I spent the day at Dinefwr House/Castle, about a half-hour drive away and really interesting, despite the rain!

Plenty of pubs in the town, and a well-stocked Somerfield is a mere 5 minutes walk away via a footpath that runs to the far end of the site where the grass pitches are.

Wardens were walking/cycling around the site on a regular basis and were always willing to help and chat. Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Davedaveydave 6 reviews from this member

A totally painless site from booking to departure. An initial email enquiry was followed by a quick phone call to book. The site was extremely easy to find: signposted in both directions on the A40, just to the east of Llandovery.
Welcome from the warden was prompt and very friendly. Our pitch was virtually level ( no need for blocks at all ) and topped with stone chippings. Some of the other pitches did require blocks however. We had a fully serviced pitch for 15:00 per night for 2 of us.
The grounds are very well kept, hedges, lawns, flower beds and baskets all top class.
The amenities building is indeed worthy of 'loo of the year' award. Showers, toilets, washing-up, laundry facilities well maintained.

The reception area had a good stock of local information. Though there isn't an on site shop do not worry, a stroll through the park to an exit on the roadside leads to a Somerfield store on the eastern edge of town only takes 10 mins ( less if you are further down the site.). The town is quite busy, plenty of pubs and cafes, castle ruins, railway station ( very infrequent service I believe) and only a few more minutes on from the supermarket.

Around the area the countryside is outstanding. From wide lush valleys to mountain valleys to open moorland. Ideal for walkers, cyclists etc. Wildlife in abundance.

The only small niggle and to be honest it didn't bother us in the slightest but just to put it on record; the traffic noise from the A40. It is there but come mid-evening we never noticed it.

As long as you don't want total quiet then this site should be on anyone's short-list for this area. A big thumbs up to all associated with the running Erwlon, we hope to re-visit in the future.

As a footnote there is a small playground with climbing frames and an enclosed dog-walk.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lynnehs 2 reviews from this member

Lovely little site, well maintained, excellent wash facilities. Nice to find a site with plenty of tent power hook-ups and pretty level pitching. Although next to an A road, no real noise problems at all.
Somerfields is a five minute walk away, so no need for on site shop. Nice little playground if you have kids. Not far from Kite feeding station - well worth a visit.
Impressed with standard of facilities versus cost. Will definitely be going back sometime. Does get really dark at night (no ambient light), so torch is a must if camping!

Previous     168 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Where is the nearest shop to Erwlon Caravan & Camping Park?   There is a shop within 1 mile    View all facilities

Is Erwlon Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?   YES    View all facilities


Other Sites Near Llandovery      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Carmarthenshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...





Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 18/02 to 23/02
Birmngham - Caravans, motorhomes, tents, folding caravans and 1000s of accessories all under one roof! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3895 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020