Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map
Tel: 01458 831 437
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 01/3 To 18/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 313 Reviews
                10/10 from 313 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk On Site   Public Transport <1 mile 

Reviews:  313 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fireydiva 3 reviews from this member

We've had a wonderful time here. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the park and all the visitor areas are tidy, clean and well maintained.

The on site shop and off licence is surprisingly well stocked, with local produce (including local beer, wine and cider) along with those things that you might need but didn't bring (storm straps for example) and essentials like shampoo and washing up liquid. There are also some really nice pieces for sale by local artists - one of those is coming home with me!

There's a good visitor information room with a pool table, information about local attractions and walks of varying length that can be done from the park. The walking routes are on laminated sheets and can either be borrowed and returned, or purchased if you want your own copy.

They're genuinely welcoming to dogs (as opposed to tolerant of dogs) - there's a nice, enclosed exercise area, a warm dog shower in case your fur friend gets grubby, dog laundry facilities for dirty dog towels and beds so the human laundry machines don't get hairy (genius - why don't all 'dog friendly' sites have this!) and secure tie clips outside every building so you can pop in to the shop or facilities block en route back to your van after your walk.

The new facilities block is the nicest I've ever been in - tasteful, clean, modern, warm, welcoming and eco-friendly. There are plenty of private shower rooms, as well as the private cubicles in the communal facilities. Although we're here in March, I wouldn't think there would be a shortage even at high season. The local attractions speak for themselves and the atmosphere is peaceful, tranquil and relaxed.

I've never written a review about the sites we've stayed on before, but this one is superb and completely deserves the 10/10 that I've given it. We will definitely be returning here, I would recommend it to anyone.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: CK+B 39 reviews from this member

Most of this has been said before, BUT this is definitely one of the best sites we have ever stayed on. Lovely surroundings and birdlife, we had Greater Spotted Woodpeckers visiting our bird feeder each day! Great walks from site, perfect for our dog, even though he is getting on a bit! Nice on-site dog walk & doggie shower, which we were glad of after a muddy walk. Plenty of dog bins. Well stocked shop with local goodies, can order papers & fresh bread. First class facilities block. Extras like booking to have your motorhome/caravan cleaned whilst on site or even serviced.

We will most definitely be back and can't wait.

Date of Visit: February 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Julie58 8 reviews from this member

This is the best site we have ever stayed on. Every little details to make a stay special has been thought about and provided. The site is spacious and maintained to an excellent standard. Pitches are large and have beautiful bushes and trees between each pitch. There are no caravans in front of a pitch - just a large green area - no looking at your neighbours across the road here! The facilities would put a 5 star hotel to shame. They are just wonderful. Wardens are very friendly and helpful. Had all the time in the world for us. Going back again soon.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PatriciaM 19 reviews from this member

Just returned home from a fabulous weekend at the Old Oaks campsite. What an amazing place. Lovely welcome on arrival. Was given the opening times of reception/shop on our arrival, with a small booklet giving local info. The shop had lovely meat and jams for sale. Also fresh bacon and eggs if you wanted. Could also order our daily newspaper to collect next morning. Shown where we could fill up with water and then to our pitch, which was in 'Top Oaks'. Site was very busy and its easy to see why. Very clean and well maintained. I have never been on site with such fantastic toilet/shower facilities. The building was like walking into a posh hotel. Warm and exceptionally clean and fresh. Even the washing up area was inside and lovely and clean. Lots of local info available in the tourist information building next to reception. Glastonbury itself is within walking distance from the site. We will recommend this site to friends and cant wait to visit again

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Debsroly 4 reviews from this member

Visited for 5 days and I have to say this is my husbands favourite site for good reason.

Pitches are superb, tv reception good, showers and toilets immaculate, dog walk excellent.

The walks to the tor and into Glastonbury from the site are well worth doing with amazing views.

There is even a taxi bus which picks people up from the site on weekdays to go to Glastonbury and Bath at reasonable cost.

Absolutely love this site and the area

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Glamper Wendy 2 reviews from this member

We really enjoyed our stay at this wonderful site. The Owners and wardens were very helpful and friendly. The site is set out so beautifully. Looked immaculate, and the views across Somerset were stunning. As for the facilities. Well the best Ive ever come across. Definitely 5 star. So lovely and warm too. Loved the wet room shower rooms that also had a sink and loo in as well. These facilities were always immaculate whenever you went in there. They also had lovely washing up facilities in the new block as well. So nice to wash up in the lovely and warm on a cold windy day. The only thing I would say could improve the site for us would be electric grass pitches. We had to pitch on hardstanding which isnt very good for the bottom of your tent even with a thick footprint underneath. We had dimply marks on our sewn in groundsheet when we left and it wasn't very comfortable underfoot either as the hardstandings are really big chunky stone. But if they ever decide to have electric grass pitches we would definitely go back to this beautiful site. But think its more geared up for campervans and caravans at the moment. They do have grass pitches but none with electric hookup.

There are some lovely walks from this park. You can walk into Glastonbury or another lovely walk is the Tor which isnt far at all. I loved this park. I'm sure you will too. The only reason Ive given this park a 8 out of 10 overall rating is because no electric grass pitches.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gone on holiday 21 reviews from this member

What can I say about this site that hasn't already been said:

BEST SITE IN UK - by far. It is fantastic, in a quiet lane 1. 5 miles from road.

Large individual pitches, hedge off so no encroaching on your neighbours.

2 fields are fully serviced pitches, some mixed fully service and electric hook up, some take tents also, and 3 pods for camping.

Large secure dog run, even has a doggy washing machine!

Lovely well kept site, warm friendly greetings from staff, not always the case when you turn up at a site.

Best shower block ever, private ladies & gents showers/toilets/wash sinks. Also individual rooms with shower/loo/sink inside. Lovely pot washing area under cover and ironing & washing clothes facilities. Even the older block is spotlessly clean and in better condition than many other sites visited.

A large information room with TV, pool table and settee to read magazines, info etc. There is walks from the site to the Tor and various other places which can be borrowed from info room.

Fishing on site for a fee.

Bus to Wells £10 return for 2 people.

Bike Hire

Cakes on sale in well stocked shop.

Cider & cheese tastings whilst we were there.

You can tell from how the site is kept and run that the owners and staff are very proud of what they have and you cant blame them, a site in a class of it's own, a lot of investment has gone into the site for the enjoyment of it's clientèle, well done.

We will be back.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Marshcat 3 reviews from this member

Well worthy of its number 1 status. Just spent 7 nights here. The price tag you pay is worthy, and still very good value compared to some sites in a similar price bracket. The site is open and airy, but still you feel enclosed in a private pitch, you get the feeling its a 20 to 30 pitch site, but yet its not. The pitches are roomy and you have plenty of room for awning and car. The new shower block is the dogs gonads, can't fault the build quality. The grounds ooze quality, the functional amenities like water and waste are plentiful and emptied regularly. The elsan disposal is quite simply very well designed. Dog walk is enclosed and the site has around 8 poo bins with anti bac dispensers. The area is good for touristy spots, recommend a couple of hours people watching in Glasto - this has a high street like no other. Hundred Monkeys (dog friendly) comes with a reco too - excellent value with a relaxed bohemian atmosphere. Warning to the elderly and infirm - Glasto is 35 mins walk away uphill but there is a taxi minibus service from the site. Defo 5 star site

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mr + Mrs G 9 reviews from this member

What an amazing site! Just got home from an 8 night stay at The Old Oaks. Thoroughly enjoyed the time we spent here. Excellent facilities for humans and dogs. Nice clean showers and toilet facilities. We had a super pitch, well worth it. All of the team that work here were friendly, helpful, polite and approachable. Would recommend the fresh bread which you need to order and the sausages and bacon available in the shop. Shop well stocked and open all day which is a real bonus as so many site shops open such limited hours. Also in the shop is local produce including Orchard Pig cider - highly recommended! Well kept information point with laminated walks from the park, a really useful addition. Highly recommend a trip to Glastonbury Tor, quite a trek but stunning views on a clear day (rather breezy on the top!).

Would recommend this site any day, lovely big pitches, great team, excellent facilities, nice and peaceful. Only downside, and certainly NOT a reflection on the park, not all owners cleaned up after their pooches. Will definitely return to this site. Thank you for such a lovely tranquil break and keep up the wonderful work that you all do.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Janetand john 6 reviews from this member

Adult Only Site

Read so many good reviews for this site just had to visit and we were not disappointed. We stayed in the top oaks and we had a really good pitch plenty of room and really good neighbours either side.

The site is just below Glastonbury tor and footpaths from the site take you straight there about 1 1/2 mile up hill but worth the trek uphill the view is amazing then you can walk down the other side of the tor into Glastonbury.

The site amenities are the best we have been to washing up and shower and toilets all housed in one new block we loved the idea of the unisex rooms which were wet room showers with toilets. There are also another two shower blocks on site.

The staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly

There's a shop on site that sales everything that you would run out or forget to take on holiday with you

Cider tasting on certain is good

But the best part of the day is the home made cake that is baked by a local lady 4 different types of sponges a day not to be missed

Thanks OldOaks you made us welcome and what relaxing holiday and James thanks for getting rid of the wasp nest

We will be back

Previous     313 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Atera STRADA DL 2 Tilting Bike Carrier worth £457.50 Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets to the Into the Trees Festival

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet England's Medieval Festival 24th to 27th August, E Sussex
Discover the magic of history and celebrate the past at Herstmonceux Castle. Camping packages available ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


10798 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1470