Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Longleat Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Warminster > Longleat Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Longleat Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Longleat
Warminster
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
BA12 7NL
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 164
Open: 16/03/2021 to 03/01/2022
           16/03/2022 to 03/01/2023

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 136 Reviews
                9/10 from 136 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  136 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Roger10 14 reviews from this member

 Well what can I say, it is a Caravan Club site and they are always wonderful, this one is particularly so in that it is situated just behind Longleat House and if that wasn't enough you have the sound of lions, wolves, etc. in the background how many places do you get that !
There lots of organised things to do e.g. look around the house, the safari park etc. But if you want to do your own thing you are free to go for long walks around the grounds. Nearby is Shearwater which is a large man made lake where you can just sit and watch the yachtsand ( native ) wildlife.
The staff were friendly and welcoming and we were pleased to find that the site rules were enforced thus making it better for everyone, I wish I could say the same for all sites.
The nearest towns are Warminster which is a garrison town but very pleasant with good shops or just over the border into Somerset and about the same distance is Frome a historic place with good independant shops 5 supermarkets inc. M & S Sainsburys and Asda, worth exploring if you can tear yourself away from Longleat but be warned it is VERY hilly. 


Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Elofaname 3 reviews from this member

 What a wonderful site, very large pitches. You can walk into longleat park from a back entrance, turn left at the site gate 150yds on foot and you're in longleat grounds for free. A must for the kids, there is so much to see and do it takes longer than a day to fully appreciate all the attractions. You can either buy a pass for the attractions or pay individually for your favourites.

There is also a wonderful dog walk on this site, and we were visited by the local ducks who come to your van door to be fed.

The wardens are really helpful and informative, we originally booked for 1 night but stayed for 4 even though we didn't have any kids.

There are two large toilet/shower blocks with staggered cleaning times so you're never caught out. This must be one of the best Caravan Club sites. 


Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scarletsfan 91 reviews from this member

 This has to be one of the best approaches to a CC site. Once waved through the barrier control at Longleat the splendour of Longleat House and Estate opens up before your eyes. It is quite a feeling towing your outfit past the front door of Longleat House.

The site is located immediately adjacent to the attractions Longleat has to offer and lies alongside the lake where they keep the Sealions which you can clearly hear from the site.

A well appointed CC site, with 3 toilet blocks, set amongst the Oaks and a reception that sells a bit more than the norm. All the amenities are kept to a very high standard by the busy team of wardens, and on a full site in October they never struggled to cope. TV reception is poor and the surrounding Oaks make getting a satellite signal pretty difficult, TV hook ups are however provided on the pitches (they sell the leads in reception if you don’t have one).

The majority of the pitches are hard standing, and only pitches of this type are used early or late in the season, so rock pegs are required.

For food shopping and fuel Asda is only a few miles away on the outskirts of Frome. The town of Frome itself has an Argos, Woolies, Boots and WH Smith’s.

Longleat has so much to offer you feel little need to leave the estate, everything is within walking distance, and if you don’t fancy taking the car through the Safari, the Safari bus stop is just outside the site entrance.

A superb club site set in impressive surroundings and well cared for by the team of Wardens. Little wonder it’s nearly always booked up. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kimmitubbs 24 reviews from this member

 This site is obviously a base to visit the house, grounds and safari park of Longleat. We stayed here for 4 nights and had plenty of time to visit everything, (get a passport ticket, a real saving if your wanting to get everything in!) and leave a day to look in wonder at Stonehenge that was only about 15 miles'ish away. A large supermarket is only a couple of miles down the road but the shop on site was great, the best we have come across so far.well done to the wardens! 
I'm having to remind myself that reviews are about the sites and not the people staying on them. Because of the location and time we visited we knew that a lot of children would be staying the same time, (we took a 15 year old and a 9 year old ourselves,) and perhaps we have been lucky so far but the behavior of some of the children was disgusting. Perhaps you may be able to hear the sea lions but we could only hear screaming while water fights took place, screaming while running between the pitches, and more general screaming.
Because of this I wouldn't visit again at this time of year but outside peak times it would have been a lovely place to be.  


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Munca 1 review from this member

 The best site that I have ever stayed on.  I am a CC member and have stayed on some of their other sites. 
 
Access was easy which is always a bonus when towing a 26ft twin axle.   As I was towing without my husband this always makes me a little anxious.
 
Chose a pitch but struggled a little to park the van, the Warden came around and offered to pitch, which he did.  This was gratefully received.
 
The site was immaculate and child friendly.  My daughter could safely ride her bike around as all vehicles kept to the "dead slow" (unlike other sites I have stayed on).
 
The facilities were second to none, the showers were fantastic!
 
Obviously having the safari park so close was lovely, I genuinely woke to the sound of lions and sea lions (& crows and cows too)!
 
Taking your bike is a bonus.  Big thank you to the wardens for a wonderful stay, will definitely be back next year. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 76 reviews from this member

 I stayed on the Caravan Club site at Longleat with my elderly mum for 5 days this August.  This was the first time I had been camping without the OH and initially I had been a bit worried about 2 women camping alone but the site at Longleat felt so safe and secure that my fears were quickly removed.
 
We got a grass pitch for our trailer tent but there were many hardstanding pitches as well.  The pitch was reasonably sized and nice and flat.  The EHU was nearby and as well as an electric connection there was also a TV point on the bollard to save you having to take your own aerial.
 
The toilet blocks were up to the usual high standard of CC sites and were kept spotlessly clean.
 
The wardens on site were very friendly and helpful and even opened the small shop for me one evening when I arrived just as it had closed.
 
The site is perfectly located for visiting Longleat as it is only a short walk away from all the main attractions.  You can also walk and cycle on the Longleat estate even when it has closed to the rest of the public which is lovely.  The city of Bath is also quite close and there is just so much to do in the area you could easily stay here for 2 weeks without getting bored.
 
Overall, I thought this site was excellent and I hope to return soon with the OH rather than my mum! 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Colincorker 5 reviews from this member

 A large site, but the usual high standards of the Caravan Club.
 
So close to the main attractions of Longleat that unless you want to go and have bits removed from your car in the safari park - you need not drive too far.
 
Shops are a little thin on the ground, about 5 miles away is the town of Frome with both an Asda and Sainsburys supermarket.
 
The site is well spread out and despite having two toilet blocks, a seperate laudry block and a few service points it can be a long walk to any of them.
 
The noise of the animals / train is not a problem once you are used to it, we however were very close to the waterfall coming out of the lake and did find the noise of constant running water took some getting used to.
 
The wardens were quite strict on some of the rules and chatting with people on-site it did make them quite unpopular - the most common complaint was no help with finding a suitable / recomended pitch for people's circumstances (meeting friends, close to water etc.)
 
We will most definitelty be back in a couple of years time. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Lynn and ray 15 reviews from this member

 First time we have used a caravan club site and we weren't disappointed, pitches are very large, facilities spotless, the baby/toddler room is brilliant and there is also a children's park on the site. We were welcomed by friendly staff at the reception and the site also takes non members as well.
A 10 minute walk from the campsite will take you to the heart of Longleat house where there is loads of things to see and do, train ride, pets corner, maze, postman pat village, boat ride, shops,etc.
If you don't fancy driving round the safari in the car, there is a bus that goes round and costs £4.00 pp, sitting at our trailer tent we could hear the lions and sealions brilliant. 


Date of Visit: March 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Budhabelly 12 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from this lovely site. The amenities were spotless, hot showers, great washing facilities. The pitches were a lot larger than expected, and the small but well stocked shop with friendly and helpful staff made our stay a memorable one. Longleat house was something else and with the passport ticket that we purchased is not only got us into the house, but also into all the other attractions e.g safari park ,minature train ride,boat on the lake and more at a discount price of 50%. There was also 3 good routes for walkers. Me and the OH would definitely visit again with the grandchildren but as a one or two day stay.
 


Date of Visit: April 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sparry63 19 reviews from this member

 We have visited this site a number of times. Typical high quality caravan club site but set in superlative surroundings. We and our dogs thought the woodland dog walk was great but muddy In the rain. The house and park must be the best in the UK and there is always something new to see.
if you have a caravan you just have to go but book early it can be difficult to get in- when you finally get there you will see why 


Previous     136 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Longleat Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Longleat Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Warminster      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3319 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement