Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sea Barn Farm Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Fleet > Sea Barn Farm Camping Park > Reviews

Sea Barn Farm Camping Park
Fleet Road
Fleet
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT3 4ED
Tel: 01305 782218
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 15/03/2024 to 01/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 131 Reviews
                8/10 from 131 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  131 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pineyboo19 1 review from this member

 We have just come back from 2 weeks at sea barn, and really enjoyed it. We went for a really relaxing holiday and got it. Luckily the weather was great.  We had no rain which we were expecting, so like all camping holidays it would have been different if it had been wet.  All other campers were so friendly and the staff.  We have put a deposit down for next year.  It was our first camping holiday and so far we are hooked! It is a basic site, but that is what we were expecting.  Again shower blocks old but kept extremely clean.  The views are breathtaking.  


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tdejnnings 3 reviews from this member

 We were there over a weekend, had a fantastic time. The fields were quite empty of campers due to poor weather but pitches were of a good size. Nice and quiet, good spaces to play, my daughter liked the play area. We used the restaurant at West Byfleet which was good, only a short walk away.

Shower blocks are old but very clean, hot water every time we took a shower. We didn't really use the shop so can't comment on that. Spectacular views, great walks near by.

All in all we thought it was a good campsite and would certainly consider going back there. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Peggit 3 reviews from this member

 This was our first experience of camping and although the site was very basic, ie, the showers were draughty but clean, the laundrette was at the end of an old cattle shed, however we still had a great time.  The views were pretty and the area was peaceful with some lovely walks.  Hedges separated tenting areas  which gave it a friendly and cosy feel, it was also good for when the wind came up off the sea.  The site felt safe enough for us to allow our daughter the freedom to run around and play. Even though the site may have been below some standards, the basics, which is all that is required, were there, after all isn't that what camping is about.  We as family would certainly contemplate returning to this site 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Delllie 1 review from this member

 Just returned from our 3rd visit to this site - we absolutely love it.  Fair enough some of the facilities are old BUT they are always clean.  We have always received a warm welcome and used the shop many times and have never experienced any hostility. The views from this site are breathtaking.  Also used the West Fleet pool and club which were great as well. 


Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Duncansteele7 7 reviews from this member

 Stayed over the Easter B.H. weekend '06. The weather forecast hadn't been great, and the site was only about 10% occupied. Beautiful location, genuinely spectacular views.. but be prepared for 1950's facilities & 'customer service'. Other reviewers' (negative) comments on credit / debit cards, showers, attitude, etc are spot on.

We didn't experience any post-booking price hiking, nor were we asked to pay the infamous behaviour 'bonds'.. but when I called in at reception during our stay, I was told we faced a £10 'fine' for not settling our bill in good time.. we owed £2.

Not entirely sure what prompted the owners to go into the 'hospitality' business - apparently Traffic Wardens are quite well paid these days..(!) Despite the great location, wouldn't stay there again by choice. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Ellenhalden 1 review from this member

 Spent 12 nights here in August. Found the campsite to have everything we wanted - I know the toilets need to be updated, but they were cleaned out regularly during the day to quite a high standard and we always had plenty of hot water. We had a bit of problem with noisy neighbours, but that was dealt with by the manager and the owner, quite efficiently. Di and her husband who both manage the site work hard and very long hours to make sure everybody are looked after. Great access for walks and liked the way the site was partition off with hedges gave some level of privacy. All the children seemed to be enjoying the freedom and had plenty of space to play. 


Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Daniel_p 1 review from this member

 A real shame. As a family group we have been visiting this campsite and sister site for over 28years (up to 4 times a year) and in all that time I can honestly say that no significant improvements have been made apart from the odd loo roll dispenser and washing up facilities.

This site has the potential to be something very special however we have vowed never to return.

Pre booked the B/H weekend with full payment(Credit Debit Cards not accepted pre paid booking by cheques take photocopies prior to sending and proof of money withdraw).

Upon booking in an £80 bond was demanded CASH ONLY of which no prior warning was given on website or booking forms. If we were unable to pay we would be asked to leave and not receive our already paid booking, some £78.

A Mother, Father, son and girlfriend group IS NOT recognised as a family group. Another fellow camper was querying a booking charge and for no apparent reason thrown out of the shop and told to speak to the "management".

More recently our stays have been over shadowed by the fact that we are not loyal customers but merely in the words of one employee last year "privileged to stay on the site".

A terrible shame as the site really could be something with fantastic views. The Fleet in a storm is truly amazing! 


Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Draig69 6 reviews from this member

 Had a pleasant week there. Unfortunately, the prices we had to pay was not what was quoted on the web site – it seems that they arbitrarily put up prices as the bank holiday approached, for example, my lad’s tent was charged at £17 and not £14.
Also, we were charged for the electrics at £17 not £14 (should be £2 per night according to the web site which we used to pre-book).
Obviously, these little ‘extras’ are a nice little earner for the site and as most places are full for the bank holidays, they have a captive audience but morally, they really should have been publicised.

The toilets and showers are old but functional. However, you need to take carrier bags for your clothes in the showers as there’s no shower curtains so your clothes will get wet if you simply hang them up. As it was a bank holiday, the site was packed, with people being forced to camp next to the rubbish bins as the site was trying to fit as many units in as possible.

A ‘nice’ point was the site having the rubbish bins right by the water taps! Not very hygienic and I’m sure this could have been thought out a little better by the site. Although we found the staff both friendly and helpful, and the views and dog-walking area brilliant, I don’t think we’ll be returning to the site due to the above comments 


Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Mikeandroz 2 reviews from this member

 We booked up in plenty of time for the bank holiday weekend. Arrived after a long drive in the dark,and was eager to pitch. So rushed to book in and pay the remaining bill, only to be asked for a CASH ONLY bond of £20 per person. The reason for this was because we are not a family, just a couple. Seemed strange, having never come across this at any other site we have been too. Not having £40 cash on us, asked if part cash and cheque would be ok. Unfortunately not, so recommend if a couple, have plenty of cash on you! Was faced with a night in the car then, but managed to find someone willing to help us in out predicament at another site. 


Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Paul Barlow 5 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a weeks camping there. Noted the mixed reviews before I went but decided to give it a go.

Very nice camp site if you like peace & quiet. Comes with the option of using the other site (West Fleet)down the road for the pool and entertainment and that is a lot more noisy.Has lovely views of Chesil Beach and a farm walk if you like that sort of thing. Has an 11pm curfew which is rigorously enforced so you won't get people keeping you awake into the early hours with noise - good if you are trying to get kids to sleep.

Real downside to Sea Barn is the toilet facilities - To put it bluntly they are dreadful. They are in need of knocking down & rebuilding with bigger boilers that provide more hot water. I didn't get one hot shower all week!. They are converted sheds - very cold, draughty and basic. There is nowhere dry in the shower cubicles to keep your clothes or dry yourself so everything gets wet during your shower. Can also get a bit dirty when the site is busy.

Had a basic playground for the kids but the site was quiet enough for them to play in the fields with balls etc. without worry.

One other major drawback is that they don't take debit or credit cards so take plenty of cash as the nearest cashpoint is about 3 miles away towards Weymouth. 


Previous     131 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Sea Barn Farm Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sea Barn Farm Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Sea Barn Farm Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Fleet      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2690 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement