Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sleningford Watermill Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Ripon > Sleningford Watermill Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Sleningford Watermill Caravan & Camping Park
Sleningford Watermill
North Stainley
Ripon
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HG4 3HQ
Tel: 01765 635201
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 131 Reviews
                9/10 from 131 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  131 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Davidmann 12 reviews from this member

 This is a very good campsite on the banks of the River Ure. There is plenty to do and even more now that www.Go2h2o.Co.Uk are based there where they offer climbing, kayaking / canoeing and archery.

Toilets and Showers are reasonable and they do their job. It does seem quite strict with regards to arrival and departure times. But nevertheless a gem of a site. 


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hippo65 2 reviews from this member

 What a fab site (really shouldn't say that - you will all want to go now!). Very peaceful by the River Ure - we had a Premium Pitch on the Millhouse section with electric hook up. Plenty of space between caravans, good shop on site for essentials, clean toilets/showers (a must!). Not too expensive we had a three night break and enjoyed the surrounding countryside.
Fairly close to Harrogate/Ripon. Fab market on a Sunday at Catterick Race Course (free entry & parking!). We are NT members & managed to get to see Fountain Abbey and there were plenty of other places of interest for all the family. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chtd 12 reviews from this member

 Very spacious site with good location by river. The site was full when we stayed, but if you were prepared to go down the far end of the field then you could get loads of space for your tent. There are hedges separating the different areas of the site which creates some privacy. It was therefore very peaceful at night, although if you had been nearer the facilities, then there were quite a lot of large groups. The main toilet/shower block was not really adequate for the numbers staying and there were problems with the boiler when we were there so there was no hot water for a while. However, there is a smaller toilet block near reception which was always quiet and clean with a good hot water supply if you were prepared for quite a walk from your pitch. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tcat 4 reviews from this member

 This is just an excellent site. It is set in a beautiful location next to a river that suits for paddling, swimming, boating, canoeing etc., and will keep the family entertained all day in good weather.

The site itself is beautiful, with lovely fields interspersed with trees stretching down the river, as a great access road winds through the middle. There's just loads of space to pitch your tent, including some serviced tent pitches if available.

The toilet and shower facilities are good, although if you pitch right down the bottom you've got a bit of a distance to get to them.

There's a small playground, but really it is not necessary: our kids enjoy the river and exploring the wooded areas far too much to be interested in anything else, and there's space to get your cricket or rounders set out for some family games.

The site has a good little shop with very friendly and helpful managers.

And you're a stone's throw away from Lightwater Valley, the car boot fair at North Stainley on the cricket pitch, Ripon and Masham around the corner, a short 1 mile walk along the river to West Tanfield and there's a superb pub by the river with a wonderful beer garden and great food.

We live only 25 minutes away, and come here time and again for weekend breaks, because although it is a little pricey, it is worth every penny and we have found nowhere that compares to give us an excellent family time. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lover of life 4 reviews from this member

 What a good site ! Very friendly staff and helpful. Well drained camping area, bearing in mind the wet weather we had before we went. Showers and washing area were fine, quite busy when went.no waiting .Fridge in the info shed which is very welcome when under canvas, telephone , shop with basics , check out the local Masham sausages( I don't do sausages,but have to say they were good.) Great for messing in the river, my daughter loved the site and we will be back again, with a dingy. Very quite on a night after dark. Great for touring the local area. Play park is a sand pit and small slide for toddlers. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bantam Paul 1 review from this member

 Last minute booking for 2 families with largish tents. They managed to fit us in. Although the site was then full we had loads of space on a perfectly flat site. Kids really enjoyed it (Age 4 - 10) played on bikes , cricket and were able to muck around on a small beach next to the river. Toilet block was excellent and although the site was full plenty of free hot water and no queue for showers. Great weekend. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pbillingham 1 review from this member

 Perfect site for visiting surrounding area, not much for children, playpark rubbish. Shower block not big enough when site busy had to queue for a shower!. Staff friendly and helpful. Visit the Staveley Arms in North Stainley  for a great meal and a warm welcome, great chipshop in nearby Masham. Visit Lightwater Valley and the Forbidden Corner - great for kids and adults.
  


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: De88ie 2 reviews from this member

 This is the first time me and my family have been camping and I can say we all thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The camp site was spot on, toilets and shower block were spotless at all times of the day.  I liked the fact we could pick our own pitch, every one was very friendly and helpful, will definitely visit again!  


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chris1980 2 reviews from this member

 This was the first time I camped outside of the lake district, I found the site to be excellent.  A nice private pitch was easy to find on a bank holiday weekend.
The facilities on the site are good although it would be far better if the shop was open all day and served food.
 
The showers etc were good and clean, although busy.
 
The only thing I didn't like was the scenery, it was bland and the site its self is in the middle of nowhere.  I am used to the fantastic views from the Scotgate park in cumbria and the views on this site were very dull.
 
Overall a good site for a short stay, I will try again. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Streets 1 review from this member

 A warm welcoming site with fabulous views over the nearby river Ure. We were kept entertained by the brown trout that could be viewed easily from within the 'van. We found it to be well kept, with warm, clean facilities. Plenty of room - good grassy pitches. Well signposted. As we were there early in the season it wasn't very busy and was also therefore quiet. Just how we like it.
An on site shop supplying essentials as well as a kayaking facility for the water sports enthusiasts.
Children would need to be kept busy with the river and local wildlife spotting as there is not a huge amount on site for them.
However this is a safe and well maintained site, great for watching the bird life on the river. We had a great time. 


Previous     131 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sleningford Watermill Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sleningford Watermill Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Sleningford Watermill Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ripon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2800 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement