Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Greensprings Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > South Yorkshire > Barnsley > Greensprings Touring Park > Reviews

Greensprings Touring Park
Rockley Abbey Farm
Rockley Lane
Worsbrough
Barnsley
South Yorkshire   (Browse area)
S75 3DS
Tel: 01226 288298
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 139 Reviews
                9/10 from 139 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  139 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AFK968Y 4 reviews from this member

 Nice peaceful area with superb walks.

Water driven working mill a few miles away and many good markets in nearby towns.

Nearest pub - Cock Inn - over a mile away but CAMRA award with superb meals and real ales. No shops within walking distance.

On the down side, the toilet / shower block was clean but everything old, rusty and dilapidated.

There is a new shower block that has been under construction for years it seems.

Necessary to drive to reception as it was half a mile from the field so not too convenient for leaving ice-packs.

Despite the rule stating no ball games, I had to tell one group of campers to stop kicking footballs near our car and tent in the late evening.

Overall impression is that the owners considered campers were just a necessary evil.

We've camped all over Europe for half a century so could be considered seasoned. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mrmotorx 89 reviews from this member

 Having just spent the weekend on site because we had made plans locally. First impression's are great you are greeted to a wonderful entrance to the site loads of space to book in, you have to walk up the drive to the big house where you are warmly welcomed.

Once signed in and have all the paperwork there is quite a drive to the actual pitch, which is a great thing as you are well away from any traffic noise.

We paid 17.50 per night which at today's price's is great value for money, however I think that what we got charged was a fair price for the site and its facilities. Toilets/showers are a bit on the old and shabby side and there is no play area as such for the kids, but the size of the site there is plenty of room for the kids to explore and not be a nuisance to other site users.

To be truthful I really enjoyed this site and it served our needs perfectly, close to home, good price and safe for our son to play and explore.

We will return in the near future, and if the new toilet and shower block is completed then it would prove to be a real gem of a site.

Keep up the on going hard work ! 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kes Graham 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a weekend camping at Greensprings. This is a fabulous site. The views are spectacular and there are interesting country walks all round the area. The tent field is immaculate, peaceful and a real find! We will definitely be coming back.

I noted the previous reviewer comments on the shower block & toilets. I am a seasoned camper and thought the facilities were more than adequate, spotlessly clean with hot showers - what more do you need? Pot wash facility also clean with plenty of hot water. I had several interesting chats with the seasonal cavaranners who were very complimentary about the site and its owners - all seemed more than satisfied with the service at Greensprings!

We had wonderful weather and feel like we have had a proper get away from it all holiday! Looking forward to more trips to this lovely site. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bfcol 15 reviews from this member

 Although this site is set in an ideal location, it beggars belief that after nearly 5 years the owners have still not got around to finishing the toilet / shower block off.

I know if I was one of the resident tourer's I'd be a tad mad as to why I was paying a lot of rent for the year whilst this place was unfinished.

The older Toilet/Shower block is, or has become an eyesore, you would think with today's standards these would have been condemned years ago. So come on owners, get your act together and bring your site up to what you would expect to receive yourself for the prices you charge. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TrumpetMender 1 review from this member

 We went for a couple of nights because my daughter wanted to spend her 17th birthday in a tent with her friends. This is about the nearest site to our house in Sheffield that I could find.

A picturesque site with a well manicured Tent Field; lovely surroundings where we sat in peace, watching bats and swifts in the evenings.

New toilet block not yet open but current facilities are fine, with warm showers for 20p.

Within easy reach of Barnsley - best market in the area - and Sheffield and Leeds are only half n hour in each direction 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Diewithyourbootson 5 reviews from this member

 Stopped here for just one night to test out an new (old) campervan.

Great site, with well spaced out plots.

It helps it was glorious weather when we were there.

Didn't use ths showers, but the pot washing area was big enough and useful.

Lots of space to run around in, a few kids on bikes who all played together well.

The walk up to Wentworth Castle and grounds is worth staying here for.

The herds of deer (although captive) were still a sight to see as they timidly sunbathed at the edge of the woods.

The rules on leaving at 12:00 seemed a little strict, with signs saying a surcharge would be made for staying over.

Unfortunately we got a little lost in the Wentworth woods and were 30 mins late back, but luckily they either didn't notice or didn't bother to charge us. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kerrysykes 10 reviews from this member

 What a hidden gem, though with its close proximity to the M1 it would be noisy, but we felt like we were in the middle of nowhere.

A beautiful site, in woodland, plenty of space for the kids to play. Toilet block not open, but in progress. There are a few long stay caravans, but well kept.

There are duck ponds near the entrance, and a wild pond over then fence with wild ducks and other birds, so plenty of wildlife.

2 mile walk to Worsborough castle and gardens, which were lovely, worth a visit. Deer farm nearby, and also an equestrian centre.

Lots to do in the area.

Well kept. We will return ! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tentguy 8 reviews from this member

 Well, as we said, we've been here, again.

Same high standard and same warm welcome as before :-)

When we arrived, we found that our three pitches had been roped off and 'reserved' (a nice touch, I thought).

The owners were more than helpful and even provided encouragement as we tried to pitch our friends' new (well, 1980's) trailer tent for the first time (4 hours in to it, we just 'made do').

Site was as clean and tidy as before. This time we were in the electric field with the caravans, which I presumed were on seasonal pitches, and it was just as lovely as the other field.

We went to the Cock Inn, again and this time we enjoyed a meal. Lovely food (with proper chips) and very reasonably priced.

One word of warning, though, make sure you've taken your torch with you for the walk back through the trees, as it was VERY dark and we only had one torch between the six of us and our three dogs lol

We'll definitely be returning here, next year, hopefully for a longer stay. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JustineS 3 reviews from this member

 This site is a real find! Set in tranquil countryside, rolling green fields with lovely views. We stayed for two nights on the tent field. The pitches are large and the field itself is huge. Immaculate site, with lovely long grass at one side where my children played for hours. Safe, secure, quiet with lots of spectacular walks. The site is walking distance to several pubs serving decent food.

There is a new toilet block under construction, however the current one is more than adequate. The showers are great, (20p gets you seven minutes of piping hot water at a good flow)and the toilets always clean. The tent field was in high occupancy whilst we stayed and the toilet block was clearly cleaned very regularly.

Campsite owners very pleasant and helpful.

I will definitely be returning and would recommend it to anyone looking for a true taste of Yorkshire countryside at its best. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gempf 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for one night for our very first camping trip and will definitely return! We only live 20 minutes away but it felt like we were in the middle of the countryside. It's 12 per tent to pitch.

There are several fields within the site to choose from, surrounded by trees and long grassy areas. The toilets are basic but clean and there seems to be another block in the process of being built.

We went for a walk to the Cock Inn (go over the sty into the wooded area and walk that way as there is no pavement and there are some bas bends in the road so it can be a little scary when the cars are tavelling past) which is a lovely pub that serves food and also allows dogs.

If we hadn't got plans for the following day, would have definitely stayed another night. 


Previous     139 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Greensprings Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Greensprings Touring Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Greensprings Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Barnsley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in South Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet National Outdoor Expo 23/03 to 24/03
Held at the NEC in Birmingham, bringing outdoor enthusiasts all of the kit, tech, nutrition, activities and advice under one roof for a jam-packed weekend of outdoor inspiration Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5077 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement