Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays)

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Flookburgh > Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays) Reviews

Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays)
Moor Lane
(Lake District)
Flookburgh
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA11 7LT
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 132
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 152 Reviews
                7/10 from 152 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  152 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cheryl.mark 91 reviews from this member

 Just come back from a Bank holiday weekend at Lakeland. We went with a group of us with various units some in tents, vans and motorhomes. The site was fully booked and the facilities could not cope with the people. There was no hot water in the showers, or for washing up so the tenters were stuck! The cold water also broke down several times during the weekend so our basic needs were not met. I have been going to this site for 20 years and never experienced this before. The facilities are in need of up grading and they need to invest in the touring field. The pitches are not very well marked out and they pitch you anywere! They need another toilet block as the one they have is not adequate. Haven seem to invest in the owners exclusive but still want the money off us campers! Several of us complained about the facilities. They did not have enough staff on to cope with such a busy weekend, the queues at the bar were horrendous. The site has good points but Haven need to decide if they want tourers/tenters if so, spend some money on the facilities, if not, put your statics there because thats what they are more interested in!  


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Newportfamily 6 reviews from this member

 A very small quiet site has the usual entertainment provided by Haven. The swimming pool was a little on the small side however when we used it (twice)there wasn't many others so you could still move around.

Surrounding area there is lots to do we visited Morecambe(not reccomended)dirty etc, Visited Barrow in furness (much the same) however also visited Windermere etc where you can take a boat trip round the lake.

Shower block (Awful) shower dripped and as I have long hair it took approx 45 mins to get the shampoo out (really not impressed)!

We did our dishes in the caravan as my husband went to the designated area to find it at the toilets (how nice)!

We only paid 70.00 for 5 nights and this included entertainment passes therefore cant really grumble however wouldnt return it appears that Haven are not bothered about facilities for tourers! 


Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cbarsted 5 reviews from this member

 From Thursday before Easter to Easter Sunday no electricity for about 5 hours per day - fixed later in the week as site emptied. Staff thought it was some form of overload so hope its fixed. This was the first week the site had opened but even so 1 Gents (25%) and 2 Ladies (50%) of the showers out of order. Toilet blocked relied on electricity for hot water so only the most hardy were using the shower block. Gradually the cleanliness of the toilet block improved over the week as less units on site but still really the waste water, washing up sinks and toilet point not up to scratch.

For those who thought they would warm up in the indoor swimming pool then think again - it was freezing. 5 Changing rooms only, steps into the pool go into the deep end not the shallow so beware if you have toddlers (as we did). We were in for 5 mins only then came out and never went back for another swim.

The kids loved the evening entertainment and adults be prepared to take your dancing shoes because you will find its the only way to keep warm - not much sign of heating in the bar/entertainment area.

The worst bit however was the rubbish - by Easter Monday all bins were overflowing and a good breeze made sure everyone got some of their rubbish back. Bins still hadn't been emptied by the Friday morning when we left and made what was already a muddy, uneven,tired, rough camping field just that bit rougher.

On the plus side they did offer a 50% reduction on the days we had no electric and I note we have received the refund. We traveled from Norfolk and won't be going back anytime soon. Can't fault the entertainment but beware the rest of the facilities 


Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: C.matty 2 reviews from this member

 4 nights at Easter £130.00. No electric for hours on Good Friday night, Sat night same story, and yet again on the Sunday. Very cold so we went inside to the club, guess what just as cold in there as outside. Showers dirty and only 2 working and these were freezing. Staff during day as helpful as could be but at night you were in the hands of security no manager to speak to after 6 pm, which is no good when you need the electric sorting. People were offerd full refunds if they left on the Saturday, we were offerd 50% to stay. The entertainment for the kids was good as you expect on a haven site. 


Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Camper_cruz 23 reviews from this member

 Booked 2 nights on an offer for only £18 including entertainment pass.

Well that was probably the best thing we did get as the site is not up to the standard I would expect of a Haven site. Firstly the organisation of the touring pitches was non-existant. Campers were supposed to pitch next to numbered paving stones on the field but this was widely ignored. Probably because the warden only told 50% of the campers. We were given a map of the pitches with the broken electric pitches marked but not the already taken pitches. So imagine our displeasure at chosing pitch 63 only to be told somebody had taken the pitch even though there was no unit there. Guess what? People who had not been told where to pitch had pitched near the numbered hook-up boxes(which were mainly nowhere near the pitch in question) and not on the slabs. Well DUH!

The toilet block was average without being amazing, with no plugs in the plug holes which made shaving a right royal pain. Cleaning was minimal if non-existant whilst the washing up facilites were a disgrace. The lighting was extreme low level which made washing up after tea an impossibilty, then because no bins were provided children or lazy adults left the plug holes full of cornflakes or scrambled egg which was a really nice thing to get up to in the morning. Lazy people!

The site seemed to be having some slight work done to it which meant we had to walk through a pool of mud to get to the entertainment block. A new path was being constructed which seemed to take people away from the entertainment block so they had to go the long way round past the supermarket and static caravan salesroom??! Once inside the entertainment block it was a glorified amusement arcade with a 5 square foot facility dedicated to a rather poor soft play area for under 3's.Or under 17's seeing as it was never enforced. The main hall was like ice station zebra. Our request for the heating to be turned up was followed by the revelation that no heating exists and that people should complain so maybe one day they may get round to fitting some. Considering that the park is situated on an exposed spit of sand on Morecambe Bay and the entertainment block is nothing more than a pre-fab heating is surely a must! The entertainment was not too bad with the usual mix of cheesy acts and angry parents shouting at their kids to shut up and keep still after allowing them to get tanked up on coke and sherbet!

After all the above cynicism we did have a good time but that was largely down to the great company we keep and the fact that we had only spent £18 for the weekend. Plus the weather stayed fine, meaning that the day we left we were able to do a nice walk up a fell. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ang/Ken 18 reviews from this member

 In my many many years of camping & touring I have never been to such an awful place.

We booked several months ago & basically choose this park because of our 8 year old son, thinking he would enjoy the facilities. It was Scotlands half term and there were several children on park (mainly in statics). However, on our first morning when we went to what was advertised as 'breakfast club' - oh sorry its not on until 11am - brochure etc states 9am - but a poster on the door states its been moved to 10am. Basically no organisation.

We had booked for 12 nights but only stayed 3. There was no warden on the touring field and although you were told how to pitch at reception, nobody was around to see who had pitches where. There were several seasonal caravans scattered all over the field and a lot of the remaining pitches were just mud, where awnings had been up for several months. Some of the seasonal tourers had awnings half down because of wind, it made the place look a shambles. It meant it was almost impossible to pitch as requested because of the mud patches.

At the entrance to the toilet/shower block there was a notice from the Warden (who had already left) about cleaning the toilets etc., but in our 3 nights there we only saw the toilets cleaned once. They were not just dirty they were down right disgusting. The showers had paint pealing off on the ceilings, many of the fold down seats were broken with sharp edges left where they had broken. In the Gents there was no toilet paper for the whole of our time there, the ladies had some. On our first morning there was no hot water, so we reported it to reception, who were not at all interested. On the 3rd morning one guy said he managed to have a luke warm shower at 7am but by 10am - no more hot water.

Only saw 1 water point for the whole park which was situated by the toilet/shower block.

The bar food was adequate, didnt try the take away. The evening club for the children was basic with prize bingo twice a night inbetween.

Most sites with machines take into account that they are attracting Children but this place had two 2p machines all the rest were .10p or more.

This site doesnt want tourers/campers etc.

The touring part is in a small corner of the park compared to all the prime areas being taken up by statics. We felt all they are interested in is selling statics - everywhere you look (on the back of all toilet doors, as you enter any building etc etc there are notices about holiday home ownership). No matter where you went on the park the notices were in your face all the time. 


Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: JiLLIan 16 reviews from this member

 We have been to this site twice now with the Sun holidays. The caravans are very good although we do upgrade to gold. We have never used the facilities onsite but used the site as a base to explore the southern lakes which are great.
There is a great fish and chip shop in the village of Flookburg and up the road a great pub called The Engine, serving great home cooked food,the best lasagna I've ever had.
Also, there are some great places around, Ulverston, Coniston and Wrynose Pass and Hardknott Pass are great drives. We had a great time all for £38 from the Sun Paper plus £72 upgrade to Gold plus £16.50 fuel. £126.50 for Friday to Monday. Took own bedding and took off entertainment passes. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Unique0151 10 reviews from this member

 This isnt going to be a good review.

We visited here as first time caravaners this year

It was a year when we,friends and family decided to go caravaning.Our first visit in our touring van was lakeland a couple of weeks after both my friend and my sister in law both bought vans last minute and both (as they had no where to store )paid to put them on seasonal ptches at lakeland.

The end of the season upon my wife and I have been everywhere and loved every minute and the people who stayed at lakeland are sick of caravaning.We will rescue them by getting them touring next year.

Basically Lakeland a great site for static vans but the camping is field based not pitch based and you cant help feeling second best to the holiday homes.

Facilities left a bit to be desired to say the least 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jjptfc 1 review from this member

 This was our 3rd time camping. 1st in the sunshine. We booked this site for £38.50 for 2 nights, last minute online. We arrived around 4 pm and we just had to find our own pitch as there were no set pitches. People just set up randomly with as much space as they could get using there windbreaks to claim even more land, but it wasn't really a prob and we found a bit of space for ourselves.

Toilets, showers, dishwashing facilities, were of a high standard(plenty hot water, toilet roll, clean)only criticism was no sockets, hair dryer wasn't too good either according to OH.
Having been to various different Haven sites in statics before, I knew the club was expensive. But the weather was really good so we spent most time outdoors. They have 2 tennis courts, football pitch, swing park, outdoor pool(it was freezzzzzzing)all free. Pitch and putt, 9 hole golf course were not, £12 for a round of golf £3.50 for p+putt. Indoor pool was good, very warm, bit crowded, not a prob its only for splashing around in with the kids.

The reception put ice blocks in the freezer which was handy. The shop is well stocked with groceries etc. Its expensive but we only used it for bread and milk. Its wise to take as much with you as you can.

All in all for the price we paid and the facilities on site it was well worth it. We all had a great time and I didn#'t have to dry the tent out when we got back . 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Steven77 7 reviews from this member

 We decided to book this at the last minute and got a great bargain on line for £40.13 for 6 nights.
 
We received a call from Haven on the Saturday as we were just about to get into the car, advising us of heavy rain the night before and would we like to cancel our week and receive another of any date in the summer, this I found decent of them to do. But as hardcore campers we declined and headed off to Haven.
 
We arrived at 12.30pm and found Frank the warden no problems. He advised us of the rain the night before and wished us well in finding a suitable pitch. We found one on an even surface which looked not to bad and put up our tent and went for a walk around the site.
 
We went for a meal in the Aqua Bar and I will not advise anyone to order food in this place as it was absolutely disgusting. We were told that it will be 45 minutes before our food would be ready which we were happy to wait for. When it arrived I was puzzled, as to how it took so long to cook when you could clearly see it was MICROWAVED. I chose the Lasagna and it was crispy round the edges. A clear sign of over cooking in the MICROWAVE. My wife ordered 3 times and it was off the menu so opted for a sweet and sour chicken, This was chicken nuggets and was strangely accompanied with curried rice. My daughter wanted mashed potato and the "chef" couldn't even mix the water into the smash to disguise the fact it was SMASH not potato.  We could clearly see the powder!  The chips were not the best and to pay £39.00 with 4 drinks and 3 of them being soft drinks I was not impressed.
 
The rain came on Monday evening and we were well flooded out. (Will put some pictures up soon) At least 6 inches of rain in our tent and everyone's around us. We couldn't really complain as we were advised of how things were before we left. I was informed that the site was an old airfield and it has only 6 inches of top soil and no drainage and this was confirmed by locals.
 
Not a bad site really. Shop staff, Reception staff, Security all very helpful and polite. Aqua staff and all Bar staff were not the best. I do give 100% for Polish workers but when English isn't there 1st language and your trying to put a point across like having the wrong drink, being short changed or even complaining about the quality of food can be frustrating.
 
Would I go back? NO 


Previous     152 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Does Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays)?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Flookburgh      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3396 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement