Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Formby Point Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Merseyside > Formby > Formby Point Caravan Park > Reviews

Formby Point Caravan Park
Lifeboat Road
Formby
Merseyside   (Browse area)
L37 2EB
Tel: 01704 874367
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 119 Reviews
                9/10 from 119 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  119 in total, now showing 111 to 119                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alison Fryer 20 reviews from this member

 We spent Easter here. The site was full but not over crowded. It is a basic site, reminded us of a 1960's version of caravanning, but that said it was very relaxed with not too many rules and regulations. Visitors were allowed at no extra cost. We didn't have to pay a deposit even though it was Easter. The site faces the beach and huge sand dunes and is ideal for us to walk our dog (its just a shame alot of people do not pick up their dog poo). The beach is huge and sandy, watch out for the horses! they look fab cantering along the beach. The toilets are old and basic but clean. It's only about an hour from where we live and we feel we have found a little jewel. On arriving we thought we had taken the wrong turning as the site is at the end of a residential area. It's an ideal base for Southport, Crosby and Liverpool. We are going back at the end of August. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Teemyob 8 reviews from this member

 Stayed again Second may Bank Holiday 2007. Busy but not full as many people had obviously seen the weather forecast and made some excuse not to turn up. Shame really because whilst the wind and rain hit elsewhere we were spared the brunt of the poor weather and had a Nice weekend yet again, thanks to Margaret and co @ FPCP. Nice quiet site.
Great spot for tourers. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: JaneH 63 reviews from this member

 Stayed here with my Sister Friday afternoon till Sunday lunchtime. Used it as a base to go to Crosby beach to see the Antony Gormley 'Another place' statues.
It is a basic site with mainly static home owners, the touring section is at the back of the site near to the dunes so very quiet and private. Handy for dog walking straight out onto the dunes/coastal walk. There are a few under the trees pitches but we opted for the hard standing around the corner as I did not fancy pine resin etc all over the van. The hardstandings are level, all with hook up. Onlyourselves and 2 caravans which was great but the down side is that there is only 1 water tap so would imagine on a bank holiday it could be fun filling up.
The toilet block is basic, clean with several showers - a 2 deposit is needed for the key to the block and the showers need 20p coins but they are hot, powerful and last long enough for you do the neccessaries not many places to hang stuff so be warned.
Entrance to the site is barrier operated out of hours so a 20 deposit is needed for the barrier key.
No facilities for kids as such and it does say 'No ball games' throughout the site.
The site is a fair walk (10-15 mins) away from any shops/railway station but there are good rail/bus links to Southport/Liverpool. We walked to Crosby via the beach/countryside - had to divert at Altcar as they would not let us walk through the firing range - spoilsports! picked the coastal path back up at High town. Beware the mud on the beach at Crosby as you can't always see it and I went down in it mid shin level only 15 feet from the edge of the beach! Luckily there are toilets for cleaning off (20p). Caught the train back - they run approx every 15 mins Mon to sat.
Will use this site again. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Teemyob 8 reviews from this member

 To think just an hour from the hustle and bustle of Manchester and even less from Liverpool and surrounding areas you could find such a quiet site. Margaret was very helpful in our booking and they even let us stay on late to have an afternoon BBQ. The Touring area is right next to the dunes and unspoilt beaches. Hot clean showers, nice staff and in an area unspoilt by overcrowding. The area is very quiet and suits couples seeking peace and quiet or families on a low budget who just want to let the kids run free in a safe area without the pull on the pockets of Fairs and fish and chips shops. Love it and will be back soon only thing missing amongst the pine tress? One or two flower beds. 


Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rwhites1 5 reviews from this member

 Nice big pitches hard standing with grassed areas 13 a night with electric. A short walk to beach plenty of paths in sand dunes no road noise. Quiet when we visted about 6 units. Toilets, showers adjacent to pitches.
Pitches on the edge of static site very private. Would go again 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bookchr7 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Formby Point after a trip around the Scottish Highlands and Islands and this was by far the least value for money. The cost of showers was extra - not included in the price! There were no laundry facilities or recycling facilities. The owners were very inflexible with the arrival time, we had to arrive before 6pm or would have been locked out, despite having informed them that we were travelling from Scotland and there was a possibility we may arrive after this time. It is rather unfortunate that this site has the monopoly for this area as the surrounding beaches, sand dunes and Red Squirrel reserve are unique to the area and well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pauline 4 reviews from this member

 Visited this site during our visit to Southport Air Show, and we simply didn't want to leave! Although hard-standings are provided, we chose to park our motorhome underneath the trees, just a few metres from the dunes. A gentle stroll (about 15 minutes) brought us to Formby beach, deserted apart from ourselves and our dogs - it truly was another world!
Toilet and showers were spotless, the site is mostly static holiday homes who's owners were all sociable and friendly. Lovely lady in Reception made us very welcome. The site itself is immaculate, extremely quiet with no facilities or play areas for children, however the few children who were on site were content playing in the dunes.
This site really is a haven of peace and quiet. Before we left we asked when the site would reopen next Spring - we really must go back. 


Date of Visit: July 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dfer 9 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a weekend and enjoyed it more than we thought we would. Site is mainly owner occupied but everyone was really friendly. Touring pitches were all level with hard standing for caravan and grass for awning which is ideal in my view. As it was quiet we could choose our own pitch and when we asked what time we had to leave the owner said it was entirely up to us so we managed to have an extra few hours in nearby Southport. Toilets/Showers fairly old but clean and you needed a key.No kids area but a 10 minute walk takes you to the sand dunes. Good base for Southport etc. 


Date of Visit: June 2004
Reviewer: Terry Bleasdale 2 reviews from this member

 Used the site as a base whilst we visited relatives nearby. Site is at rear of residential mobile home Park. Site comprises two main areas. One which is amongst trees and a slightly higher area nearer the beach which can be exposed to high winds.

Site is convenient for long walks along the beach or the nearby dunes. The rare red squirrels are housed in spacious compound adjacent to the dunes. Southport and Blackpool not too far away.

Facilities are basic but clean so own facilities are recommended. No childrens play area. Ok for "oldies" to relax for a few days but not ideal for families in my view. 


Previous     119 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 119     Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Formby Point Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Formby Point Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Formby Point Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Formby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Merseyside

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


42180 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement