Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Polruan Holidays Camping & Caravanning

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Site Reviews

Polruan Holidays Camping & Caravanning
Polruan By Fowey
Fowey
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL23 1QH
Tel: 01726 870263
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 35
Open: 01/04 To 01/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 115 Reviews
                9/10 from 115 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  115 in total, now showing 67 to 72                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Indimeg 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned home from 6 nights at this lovely campsite, sadly due to the weather conditions(delta pegs on order!) we had to cut our stay short but this is a fantastic site just a little exposed but that's a price you pay for the beautiful views of this rugged coastline.

The site itself is spotless & the friendly owners work very hard to keep it that way. We had a nearly level pitch with EHU, and quite sheltered.

Plenty of walks from the site, we caught the local bus to Polperro and walked the coastal path back approx 7 miles, spectacular.

Well stocked shop and great information room, the loos and showers again were always clean.

The pubs in Polruan are very good, yes the walk back is steep but not too bad. All in all we would recommend this site if peace, space and tranquilty is what you need, just lovely, shame we left it so late in the year to discover it.

We can't comment on the child friendliness of this site as we don't have any & there wasn't any children on site when we were there.

However very dog friendly - we even took him on the bus!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Levoh 16 reviews from this member

A beautiful site which is spotless everywhere. There are modern toilets and showers which, surprisingly these days, are free. The site has very spacious pitches and the owners couldn't do more to make us welcome and were on hand when we needed them.

There are some fantastic walks very nearby and Polruan, with it's Pubs, a shop, a cafe and a pedestrian ferry to Fowey, is only a 10 min. Walk down the hill. The walk back up the hill is quite demanding but we did it in less than the 20 mins. Quoted by the owner !

All in all we could not fault the site however I would make a small observation in that the tap for the hose on the chemical loo emptying station could do with raising a little so that the cassette could be washed out properly without kinking the hose.

I think that a site which comes out of a review with such a minor quibble has to be the tops. Try it for yourself and enjoy rural Cornwall at its best.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DannyandJen 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at this campsite for 6 nights in August 2011. Overall we had a fantastic experience.

The campsite was clean, toilet block well equipt and we never had to wait for showers, lots of hot water. The reception area was really helpful with a whole room full of brochures and leaflets. The shop was excellent and had a good range of food and cleaning items. There was also a washing machine and dryer which was very useful, and enough sinks for washing up.

The view from the tent was fab, pitch size big enough for a good size tent and a car. We unknowingly stayed at the campsite Fowey regatta week. As luck would have it the regatta was excellent we really enjoyed the atmosphere in the towns.

For the view alone we would recommend getting water taxis from Polruan to Fowey for 1. 50 each this was the easiest way to get around the bay. Botallack had a car ferry further up the river.

Be aware there is a really steep hill from Polruan port up to the campsite, which at the end of the evening was tough (and we like to think we are quite fit!). However, there is a pub at the bottom of the hill which we found useful before we started the walk!

The Eden project was definitely worth a visit, Fowey kayaks were also a great way to see the bay and from the campsite a walk to Great Lantic beach is highly recommended. Sam's restaurant in Fowey was awesome, just get there early! Red admiral mackrel fishing was also a highlight.

Overall the campsite just complemented a lovely part of Cornwall which we thoroughly enjoyed, we would definitely go back again.

An adult focused campsite, which for us was great, just make sure you buy all your food and drink in St Austell before you arrive as the drive from there to the campsite is quite long.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Geoff.G 2 reviews from this member

What a beautiful camp site everything about it is first class from the stunning location to the spotless facilities.

The owners are so friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble for them they work really hard to keep the site so nice with lovely flowers everywhere.

The on site shop is really well stocked and not expensive. Kev puts a weather forecast up on the notice board every day and there is one of the most comprehensive ranges of local information I have ever seen almost a mini library.

All these extra touches add up to one of the best sites I have ever visited.

The location is so peaceful with some lovely walks nearby. As previously stated the hill back up from Polruan is really really steep but you do get used to it especially after a few drinks or a trip on the very handy ferry across to Fowey.

All in all if you want somewhere quiet to relax but not isolated this is the place to go brilliant!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dragon2004 6 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a glorious five night stay at Polruan and yes the weather was fantastic which helped, but the site itself is lovely. We had a really restful and relaxed week.

There was a mix of couples and families there during our stay and with the few rules which are in place everyone respected each others space.

The owners are really friendly and helpful which seemed to rub off on nearly all their guests. The site is well run and always clean and tidy.

As the children on site are normally off with their parents exploring during the day the play area provided was more than adequate.

Would definitely recommend this site and hope to return in the near future.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DaveAndrea 7 reviews from this member

Neither of us had been to Cornwall before and found this campsite purely by chance. Our initial plans were to stay on the south coast for 4 nights then move to the north coast for another 4. But having found this wonderful site we decided to base the entire holiday here.

If you're looking for peace, tranquillity and beautiful views look no further than Polruan Holiday camping and caravan site.

Both the site owners couldn't have been more friendly and helpful, the site was immaculate, very generous pitches, all the facilities you need. A big bonus being the use of a fridge.

Nothing was too much trouble, we met some lovely people who were also holidaying on the site and the weather was great too.

The site rules clearly state no noise after 10:30pm and this was always adhered to. A good nights sleep guaranteed.

Not able to comment on child friendliness as we were a couple staying on our own.

When we do return to Cornwall this will be our only site of choice. What more can you say.

As regular campers this is by far the loveliest site we have had the pleasure of staying on.

Previous     115 Reviews in total, now showing 67 to 72      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Cornwall (East)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Babyhub SleepSpace Travel Cot worth 149.99 Win a OLPRO Knightwick 3 Tent

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2287 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017


Black Friday SALE
Black Friday SALE
OLPRO have masses of amazing Black Friday offers EVERY DAY throughout November. Prices slashed on inflatable awnings and tents





0.0898