Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Eisteddfa Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth > Eisteddfa Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Eisteddfa Caravan And Camping Site
Pentrefelin
Criccieth
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL52 0PT
Tel: 01766 522696
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 122 Reviews
                9/10 from 122 Reviews

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <10 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  122 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Reviewer: Markcrook 3 reviews from this member

 June 2005
We first camped at Eisteddfa in the 2nd weekend in June when we went with two other families. We arrived on the site on the Friday evening and were met by Drew who showed us to our pitch. I have to say that he is one of the friendliest and most accommodating site owner/managers we have met, top bloke!

The site is divided up into, different areas (almost terraced!) that are separated by grassy banks. And the numbered pitches are arranged around the edges of these areas, which leaves the centre open for ball games and the kids to run around etc. We have been in two areas at the top of the site, both of which had a very gentle slope – but it doesn’t bother us as long as you get your bed facing the right way!). Electric hook-ups were available if required.

The site is immaculate; with the grass all neatly mown (and collected) I happily walked around the fields with nothing on my feet as did the kids and never stood on anything.

The toilet block at the top of the site was very clean and looked fairly new, with 4 separate toilets with sinks and 2 separate showers also with toilets and sinks. The showers all ran off 20p (lasts approximately 4 mins) but we easily got all four of us showered for 40p and there is always plenty of hot water. There is a key press lock on all the toilet and shower doors.

The toilet block at the lower end of the site looked like it had also been refitted recently. The only downside was that the only washing up facilities were down by the lower block, so washing up was combined with taking the children to the play area. But plenty of sinks, hot water, there is also a freezer for ice packs and washing machine and dryer.

We have been back again the weekend just gone 24 – 26 June and still can’t recomend the site highly enough, this time we were with friends who have a camper van who also loved the site. There are also all the facilities for caravans and some static’s.

We love this site and will definitely going back again and again. 


Reviewer: Alison Fryer 20 reviews from this member

 March 2005
Its a nice enough site. We stayed on the first level, which I am pleased about, as I wasn't that impressed with the pitches on the next level, as they seemed to have less space between the next caravan. The panoramic view is lovely, mountains and sea.
The toilets are ok, clean enough but a bit old, and you have to pay 20p for a shower, which for the price you pay, in my opinion should be included. You need to be quick in the shower as the money runs out! not sure if the timer is set correctly.
The owner is very friendly and helpful, we would go back, as we visit Criccieth frequently. 


Reviewer: Robertson 4 reviews from this member

 August 2004
Back for our 2nd visit of 3 weeks duration. Not disappointed despite the weather's best efforts to ruin things! The new toilet / shower block is brilliant, thoughtfully designed for families, showers so hot our 2 boys wouldn't go in them, not often you can say that about a campsite shower! What more can we add to the other Aug 04 reviews other than we have booked another 3 weeks in Aug 05. Drew and his family make everyone so welcome it's hard to go home. Book early if you want space on Eisteddfa! 


Reviewer: Shropshirelass 1 review from this member

 August 2004
We chose this site after recommendations from a friend and it has certainly lived up to expectations.

The site is nice and clean and that pitches are marked out and well spaced. The toilet blocks are always clean, there's always toilet paper available and as already mentioned, the water is just the right temperature in the showers.

I would definitely recommend this site for anyone who wanted a family holiday. The site is very family friendly, the owners are wonderful (especially with the inclement weather we just had) and I have nothing but praise for them.

 


Reviewer: dvisor 2 reviews from this member

 August 2004
Situated about a mile and a half east of Criccieth and 3 miles west of Porthmadog, this 11 acre site is spread over 3 stepped levels & accommodates around 145 units. We stayed on the top level overlooking the rest of the camp site with a glimpse of the bay & splendid views of the mountains on two other sides. Immediately behind the tent was a field with grazing sheep & cows.
The site is well organized with clearly numbered pitches & many are separated by man-made grassy mounds, adding a little privacy & marking "territory". Our frame tent fitted perfectly in its allotted space with plenty of room in front for tables, chairs & windbreak etc.
Pitches elsewhere on the site cater for wider tents. The ground is a little stoney beneath the surface, so good sturdy pegs are necessary. It can get a little windy on the top field, so make sure everything is well pegged down.
Pitches are generally very level. In 2004 the proprietors built a new wash block consisting of 6 unisex cubicles. 4 of these have toilets & a washbasin, & the other 2 have toilets, washbasins & shower (one offering facilities for the disabled). Another wash block in the lower field has more cubicles, wash sinks & showers, as well as a laundry room & dish washing facilities. Its a bit of a trek from the top field to wash your dishes though. Showers are 20p for 4 minutes & kept very clean.
As with most good sites, it can become a little crowded during peak periods, but an entry barrier that is locked overnight helps to curb some of the late night noise. A small shop on-site is open for a few hours each day, stocking the essentials.
There's a good sized camping shop just before you reach Porthmadog, in case you forgot to pack anything, and next door to this is a Kwik-Save supermarket. In Porthmadog itself there is a Co-op & a large Tesco.
As well as the views, the big selling point of this site is the friendliness of the proprietors, which is second to none of all of the sites we have stayed at, & they obviously take great pride in their business.
As well as the beach at Criccieth, Black Rock Sands (Porthmadog) boasts a fine beach, particularly when the tide is out, and you can park your car right on the sand for £2 a day. A visit to nearby Portmeirion (filming location of the Sixties TV series "The Prisoner") is a must, especially on a good-weather day. 

Advertisement

Reviewer: evie squeezy 6 reviews from this member

 August 2004
It was our first camping trip so we studied all the reviews and thought that Eisteddfa would offer what we were looking for. We were not disappointed the toilets and showers were clean though there was often a long queue for the unisex/family showers, these are useful with a young family every one can go into together. The views were stunning especially from the top of the site. the site is well run and any little problems were soon sorted out. we would definately go there again. 


Reviewer: Gilyan 4 reviews from this member

 July 2004
Excellent site! Well set out so that even though the site is on a hill all of the pitches are level! Well run, very clean toilet blocks, and great showers (20p but nice and hot). Site went quiet by 11pm, so great for kids. Owners were very helpful and always on hand.

Congratulations for a great site.

NOTE: Open fires are NOT allowed during the summer holidays.

 


Reviewer: Norfolk-n-Goode 1 review from this member

 July 2004
SUPERB! Probably the cleanest toilet blocks and facilities in the UK! Drew is very helpful and is mostly always on hand for a quick chat and makes everyone welcome. We wholeheartedly recommend this site if your in the North West of Wales. You'll find a pitch, all clearly marked, that suits your requirements. Breathtaking views and ideally situated to explore Portmadoc, Criccieth and Portmerion.
For a fresh, clean site with all the basics and almost a family atmosphere, look no further.
10/10!

 


Reviewer: steve1300 7 reviews from this member

 June 04
Was our first time camping so nothing to compare against. The site is very clean the toilet block were spotless and the showers hot (20p meter). The site is well looked after by Drew and he is always willing to help. We took our pup who we could walk in the small woodland area. The shop is only small for essentials but local town only a short drive or 30 min walk. The local beaches are beautiful. Would recommend to anyone. 


Reviewer: Robertson 4 reviews from this member

 August 2003
Great site, very helpful owners, facilites very clean, fantastic views over the hills, best site we've been to so far. In fact we liked it so much we've booked for 3 weeks in Aug 2004. Criccieth is a lovely little town with a nice safe beach for the kids. Bit more stuff at Porthmadog plus the steam trains which our boys love. Totally recommend it! 


Previous     122 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Eisteddfa Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Eisteddfa Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Eisteddfa Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Criccieth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4770 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement