Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Crows Nest Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Crows Nest Caravan Park Reviews

Crows Nest Caravan Park
Gristhorpe
Filey
Scarborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO14 9PS
Tel: 01723 582206
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: Tourers 50 - Tents 200
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 222 Reviews
                7/10 from 222 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 10 miles   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  222 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Squiff 4 reviews from this member

This is the second time we have stayed on this site and both times it has been extremely windy and quite a few tents were damaged. It is expensive when taking the facilities into account and the toilet block and showers were disgusting!

We stopped Friday to Monday and on the Saturday night there was a precession of Fire Engines trying to put out a fire which had started on the cliff. There were quite a few people gathered and before the fire brigade arrived, the site owner attempted to put out the fire with a fire extinguisher after shouting expletives at everyone within earshot, what a nice man!

The facilities for the camping field are run down and in desperate need of improvement, but I don't think they are bothered as they are more interested in taking your money.

Definitely will not be returning for a third time!

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bendandbreak 1 review from this member

The man in reception was not very chatty and told us what we needed to know and no more, with no repetition, the girl in the swimming pool seemed to think every question she was asked was amusing and confusing, but pleasant enough, however the maintenance chap couldn't have been nicer.

Pitches are a bit of squeeze, this was not a problem to us when we arrived at start of week, however on leaving this morning Good Friday, I can see it being a problem to those arriving.

The toilet blocks could do with an upgrade, I hit my head on ceiling due to the raised shower basin, there are no hooks or shelves in most, some don't have locks on door either and the curtains stick to your back. There was no soap for four days in the mens toilets. The recent grass cutting meant there was more grass in the block and showers than outside.

Although I'm told the womens toilets and showers were marginally better.

Plus points, children's park newish and kids enjoyed it, swimming pool ok but chlorine a bit stinging.

Nice location and good price for stay.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The Williams Family 7 reviews from this member

The site was clean and tidy and very reasonably priced. You were able to pitch where you wanted which was good for us as we were with friends.

The washing up areas were clean and tidy, but the toilets and showers left a lot to be desired as we thought they were dirty and had a tendency to stay that way for a while.

There is a small shop, chip shop, arcade, pub and swimming baths but to name a few of the facilities. Overall a decent stay for a good price.

The cliff tops in the morning were lovely on a clear day and the view was excellent.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kezlev 2 reviews from this member

Just had our first excursion for the one night to Crow's Nest. It was easy to find, showers and toilets were clean and functional and a tractor went around emptying the bins while we were on site. The chippy is fab!

The views from the cliff top, once the sea fret cleared, were stunning and the grass was clipped well. The kids loved the adventure playground.

On the minus side, it was a noisy site - other tent occupants were playing loud music, beeping horns and using very colourful language until well after midnight - not the thing when you have little uns.

It would have been helpful if the owners could have given us a hint about where the best place to pitch would be for a 'family area'. Overall a good first try at camping, but don't think we'll be returning.

Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Millet 31 reviews from this member

On the plus side, the site was very easy to find.

The pitches are very small, which has been mentioned previously, fortunately we were able to pick our own pitch. The area we were pitched in is surrounded by statics, which gave the feeling of been hemmed in.

The shower block was terrible on the Friday and Saturday, this I guess could be put down to the less then clean habits of other campers. Cleaners attended on the Sunday morning, after which we did then use the facilities, although the door to the shower block was left open, which made it rather chilly to shower.

We booked the site initially due to the pool there, so were disappointed that this was not open until Easter. This was not evident when booking. Therefore we had to drive to Bridlington to use the leisure pool there, after promising the kids a swim.

The area where the site is has good access to Filey, where we cycled to, then came back via the cliff top. To where you can access the camp site, although I have to say you need to be quite agile to climb the cliff face/slope.

Had all the facilities been open our visit would have been better

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Terry Williams 1 review from this member

We visited this site 3 times during 2010, the last time during October at the end of the season for a midweek break. Not the best time to go, we arrived and they told us we could set up anywhere as there was only one other tourer there. The shop was closed, the bar was closed (open at the weekend apparently) the chippy and pool also closed, the arcade the manager would open upon request.

When we visited during the season and everything was open we had a great time, The chippy was really nice and great value for money, The pool was very clean at all times and always 2 lifeguards keeping a close eye on everyone, the shop was surprisingly cheap for a camp site with alcohol at supermarket prices and a wide variety of other items from gifts to food stuffs all very competitively priced.

The Bar was nicely priced and the live acts suited a lot of different peoples tastes, some really funny adult comedians and great singers.

The Caravan spaces where very close together, you had no chance of reversing into your slot without un-hitching and pushing it in yourself although even though they where close we still had just enough room for van, awning, car and small wind breakered off area for the dog.

The toilet/shower room was clean most of the time but was very small in the height of season for the amount of people there.

Lovely walks along the cliff top although the brambles could do with being cut back in places, plenty of walks for the dog.

A petrol station is a close walking distance with a free cash machine.

All in All a good camp and great value for money

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Cj01 1 review from this member

We stayed on the site for a week commencing the bank holiday weekend. The weather on the Sunday became very windy to the extent that a number of tents were 'blown away' over night. The staff were helpful and supportive.

The shop was well stocked and relatively cheap. Booking in took seconds and was friendly. The toilets were adequate, however some of our 'fellow campers' had personal hygiene problems which cannot be blamed on the staff (1 caught smearing excrement.)

The bins were emptied at least daily, the children's play area was lovely and more than necessary. Our children loved the pool and went at least daily, all in all we would more than recommend this site and will be returning.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Amandajane_x 7 reviews from this member

We stayed at Crow's Nest for 4 nights end of august/beginning of september and we had gorgeous weather even though the man on site told us they had picked up a fair few tents that had been broken / damaged in the wind the week before.

The campsite itself has a swimming pool, conservatory with wi-fi access, a fair priced shop and a fish and chip shop and on site bar with entertainment. We stayed in a tent with EHU and these pitches are set around the children's play park. The tent without EHU pitches seemed to be more towards the cliff top and more vulnerable to the wind and bad weather. The pitches are quite even and flat and we had a pick of EHU points when we booked in.

Booking in was quick and simple and we soon found where we going to pitch up. The large play park was fantastic and our 3 year old daughter loved it. There is quite a walk to the toilet and shower block so I would suggest taking a potty or camping toilet for any young children. We enjoyed our stay and made the most of what was there to take part in we sampled the entertainment which was just as you would expect for a campsite.

The swimming pool was small but had a slide for the children and our daughter loved it. There is a small amusement arcade expensive but serves its uses. The shop is large and sells quite a lot but some things are more expensive than they would be off site. We ate from the fish and chip shop once and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Our main bugbear with this site was cleanliness and tidiness - the showers and toilets although functional left a lot to be desired in the cleanliness stakes. We also appreciate that there had been horrendous winds the weekend before but for the 4 days we were there, there was no effort made that we seen to empty bins or clean up the litter or some remaining tent and equipment debris that was lying around the park.

We visited local area filey and scarborough and its in close proximity to both areas. The site is well located and there are some gorgeous sea views.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lobsterjojo 1 review from this member

Just returned back from this site and can honestly say we had an awesome time!

This was our first camping venture as a family of 5 and I'm sure it won't be the last.We spent 3 nights there and didn't want to go back home, I believe the weather helped.

Checking in was simple enough with friendly staff.

We camped on the field overlooking the sea which had spectacular views of Scarborough and surrounding areas and was able to pitch our tent overlooking the view.

The campsite itself has everything you need from a well stocked on site shop, chippy, pub with entertainment and swimming pool.

The shower and toilet blocks are just right for your needs (remember you are camping it's not a hotel!)

Pot washing facilities with hot water.

Plenty of bins

Children's play area.

Can't wait to return there.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Insigniades 1 review from this member

I've looked back over many reviews on this website and disagree with a lot of the negatives. We stayed 3 nights (which was meant to be 5 nights, more on that later) and enjoyed all facilities on site. The shop was well stocked and had very informative helpful staff, the chip shop was better than the 'Famous' magpie in Whitby. Checking in was really simple and the reception staff (who I think was the manager?) was very helpful.

The site is situated in a good location (perfect if you have a car) right between Bridlington, Filey and Scarborough. Filey is about 3 miles from the site and all locations are within reach via bus.

A lot of the reviews on here state that the showers are run down and 'grubby' - again I disagree - they weren't exactly the ritz but they were far from grubby.

The park was very clean and well kept and the views from the clifftop were amazing.

The only problem we faced while on this site was the wind - on the Sunday night (29th Aug) the winds were extreme and managed to take down many tents including ours and unfortunately we were unable to recover our tent - which lead to us stopping in a hotel in Scarborough town centre. None of this can be blamed on the camp though, obviously! Just a warning during high winds there is a good chance your tent poles will snap / tent will rip.

All in all, really enjoyed it and will return next season (potentially in a caravan this time!).

Previous     222 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Scarborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6060 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019