Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Drumroamin Farm Camping & Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart > Drumroamin Farm Camping & Caravan Site > Reviews

Drumroamin Farm Camping & Caravan Site
1 South Balfern
Kirkinner
Newton Stewart
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG8 9DB
Tel: 01988 840613  or  07752471456
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/04/2023 to 31/10/2023
           01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 132 Reviews
                10/10 from 132 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  132 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Teegee579 1 review from this member

 WOW! What a fantastic campsite this is! I arrived as a single tenter but couldn`t be more pleased with what Drumroamin Farm had to offer. As before reviews have mentioned the owners Leslie and Ralph do everything to make your stay the most enjoyable, they`re an absolute delight.
Local attractions too are plentiful, no matter whats your taste. From bird spotting to 'coastline hugging' for a drive to Sranraer. To Wigtown (Scotlands book town) to gentle forestry walks with dedicated trails for deer or woodpecker spotting. The list is endless, believe me.
May I also add that the local pub, The Kirkinner Inn, is a great place for a 'shandy' or two an also has a does excellent sit down and take away food at a very cheap price.
All in all, a stay well worth it, Thank you Leslie n Ralph, Thank you Drumroamin Farm. Your a little gem!. Ps thanks also to the lady in the caravan who found my sunglasses and hung them on my tent for me! 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Raynor 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for four nights on our way to the Highlands for a month and we found the site to be fantastic, with a fantastic Lady owner that nothing was to much trouble for, the toilets showers, washing up and laundry room were as new and spotless all the time every time.

There was a lovely family room to wash in private also for disabled, Tv and rest room and the view over Wigtown bay was fantastic.

Lots more we could say all good but try it you will not be sorry. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Korkytoo 1 review from this member

 My wife and I spent five nights here. Everything turned out as previous reviewers had promised.

What I particularly appreciated, as a tenter, was the fact that there is no distinction between caravan and tent pitches. Each pitch can take everything; there is no dreaded 'tent field' situated farthest from the facilities! The pitches are clearly marked out by little posts so you don't have to guess which is your space.

We had a wonderful holiday in this unspoilt country so full of natural beauty. From the Galloway Forest Park to the Rhinns of Galloway this is fabulous country to explore.

One word of warning though - the local takeaway food can be pretty awful, although the 'Steam Packet' restaurant at the Isle of Whithorn serves up great grub - but at a price. Mostly we bought cooked and uncooked food in Newton Stewart and prepared it ourselves onsite. The butcher shop has fresh meat, cooked, deli and bakery sections. Try flinging a few of their spicy sausages on to your portable barbecue. Yummy! 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: S_Parker 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent flat, well drained site. The toilet block was cleaned several times during the day and night; so was the cleanest I have ever seen.

Child friendly with activities come rain or shine. Plenty of walks nearby to keep the dog happy.

The owners are very friendly and some of the most helpful people you can meet.

The site is in a lovely peaceful area of Scotland with lots to do.

If you haven't been then visit, there are very few camp sites this good that haven't been overrun by static caravans. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fitboe 2 reviews from this member

 A wonderful Site set in a lovely idyllic location. The pitches were large and flat all the facilities were spotless with loads of little personal touches like spare freezer blocks, ice cubes, hairdryer, and much more. I agree with the comments on other reviews but in my opinion the best way to appreciate how good this place is is to stay there. Absolutely FAB! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Arabella 1 review from this member

 We really liked this site - very well designed facilities, the owners clearly thought about what campers want, not just what they could get away with! My partner is disabled so we were given a space close to the toilets etc; no problems with steps, polished floors, or any of the other hazards that we often find when camping.

Dog-friendly too - nice walks close by.

Friendly, helpful & clean. Recommended. 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nickyjane 1 review from this member

 This site is amazing! The owners couldn't do emough to make you feel welcome, and they take pride in their site. The facilities are so clean and spacious. There is a small play area for the children, but no swings or slides (sandpit, basketball and swing ball only). I had 4 yr old twins and a two year old, and felt completely at ease with them walking around and exploring. There is no shop, but a van comes once a week selling essentials. You are really in the middle of nowhere here, and there is little to do but unwind and relax. EXCELLENT! Would recommend to anyone, except those with older children as I expect they will bore of it easily! 


Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rdt2 4 reviews from this member

 Having just spent three nights here for the Wigtown Book Festival, we can only agree with the other reviewers. It being October, the site was very quiet but the high standards were still maintained - the hot water was still hot and the heating was still on. The owners are seasoned campers and it shows in the facilities - sensible shower cubicles with quality fittings and six hooks in each. No more having to hang towel, clothes, specs, etc all on one hook. One of the best sites we've visited - and open almost all year round.

No shop or pub within walking distance - so take in what provisions you need and enjoy the peace. Being adjacent to working farms, expect to hear the animals in the distance. Idyllic. 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Liz Wade 6 reviews from this member

 Arrived home from Drumroamin Caravan Park on Sunday 9th September after a wonderful week. Thought we were only going Sunday to Friday but decided to stay Sunday to Sunday. Tired out and stressed when we arrive but came home still tired but more relaxed. Wished we could have stayed longer.

All facilities were always spotless at any time of day. Leslie and Ralph a great couple and Snowey, our Beardie, fell for Mags the Brown Labrador.

Well worth a stay.

Liz and Malc Wade and of course Snowey 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DavidKirsty 1 review from this member

 Great site, Lesley and Ralph the owners are great, shower/toilet block all ways clean the showers are huge and free, plus the water is always hot.

Next to the showers is a room with washing machines, dryers and sinks for both clothes and dishes plus a freezer with FREE ice cubes and if you don't have your own you can use some ice pack's FREE.

All the pitches are flat lots with electric hook up, all pitches are marked and are huge, we had a 6 man tent and large car and still had plenty of room.

When you pull off the main road on to the little track down to the camp site you think that you have made the wrong choice, but when you do pull up outside the reception and you get the guided tour you know you did make the correct choice. Anything you need to know just ask Lesleyor Ralph and they are more than happy to help.

Great site there should be more out there like this. 


Previous     132 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Drumroamin Farm Camping & Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Drumroamin Farm Camping & Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Drumroamin Farm Camping & Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newton Stewart      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan Motorhome and Holiday Home Show 01/02 to 04/02
Held in Feb 2024, caravans, motorhomes, campervans, holiday homes, lodges, tents, boats and accessories all in one destination. Find out more!

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5635 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2023


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
2023 Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £200 each PLUS a 2023 Christmas Day Star Prize worth £919

Open Today's Window



Advertisement