Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of York House Hotel And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Whitby > York House Hotel And Caravan Park > Reviews

York House Hotel And Caravan Park
Back Lane
Hawsker
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4LW
Tel: 01947 880354
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 131 Reviews
                8/10 from 131 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  131 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Montymoo 1 review from this member

 Myself and OH stayed here with our 2 dogs recently. Sheltered camping area and the picnic benches and bbq areas are a nice touch. Hot showers and plenty of toilets, but toilet roll ran out in a few cubicles - I got the impression they weren't checked regularly.

Nice big field for dogs to run around in and only 10 mins from Whitby; village pub only 10 mins walk (although we were made to sit outside to eat as we had dogs, as we were leaving a local turned up with a dog and walked straight in!)

The hotel on site was not serving food at all which was a disappointment, it seemed that as the summer hols were over they had decided it wasn't worth opening although there were a fair few tents and tourers on site.

All in all, quite a good site and a good base for exploring North Yorkshire. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Angelamckay 11 reviews from this member

 Just spent a wet 5 days at this site! Was not looking forward to arriving as I hadn't mentioned when booking that we have an enormous tent - no worries on this score though as the pitches weren't marked so we were able to spread ourselves out (even though it was pouring down and we were getting eaten alive by the midges, as we were pitched in the field just behind the dog walk and next to the stream). Having said this, the field was extremely narrow and didn't leave a great deal of room for cars to get past, even if you have a smaller tent.
The ladies toilets were clean but think they definitely need to sort out the plumbing as the toilets were very hit and miss whether they flushed or not - some days you had to get buckets of water out of the shower to pour down the toilet to enable it to flush - not something you really want to have to do on your holidays! Also the sinks tended to get blocked up very quickly.
The washing up facilities were a little limited - 2 sinks for the whole site which quite often meant that you had to queue to wash up. My kids moaned about the fact that there was only 4 swings but as we were out and about each day it didn't really matter.

Fantastic walk though to Robin Hoods Bay (3miles) along the cycle track - well worth a walk - our 2 dogs loved it.

Nearest supermarket (co-op) was in Whitby which is about 5/10 mins away in the car - car park was a pay and display though so if you're only nipping in for a couple of things or using the cash machine its a bit of a rip off.

Left on Friday (after helping the people next door get their van out of the mudbath twice as the tent field had become extremely muddy, which I suppose was only to be expected after all the rain). Overall, not too bad a site - have stayed on much worse - but still don't think we would return although my husband thought it was ok and that I'm perhaps too fussy! 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sandra9 1 review from this member

 I stayed on my own for a week at the end of July, it was also only my second time camping.

This site was lovely, I had plenty of space and everyone was very friendly.

The quiet time between 10pm and 8am was observed around me.

Although there were quite a few tents onsite I didn't have to wait for a shower, got used to not using my hairdryer as there are no electric points in the shower block.

The Hotel on site is great if you fancy not having to cook.

I loved it and will definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JoeyA 2 reviews from this member

 Was lucky enough to spend 2 nights at this site when it was good weather which meant the stay at the local beaches turned out even better than anticipated! We stayed in the lower camping field. We really liked this site and wouldn't have any complaints at all, except for a group of ten males aged between 30 and 60 (they should have known better!) turning up for one night in a small field of family tents.

I went to reception the next morning and spoke with Reception (who I should add is lovely and friendly and helped us out with the area on our arrival). She stated she had no idea and said she wished somebody had buzzed her awake. Had only been in Reception once so didn't realise you could buzz after hours.

She did assure me that they did not take in groups. I did love the site (lower camping field) and its great location - would be inclined to try it again and feel it is worth a recommendation. Note: some campers said the overflow field was windy and had passing traffic noise. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alchresearch 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed here after a stay at nearby Middlewood Farm. What a complete difference! The owners weren't into overcrowding and it showed - plenty of space in a very sheltered field to pitch wherever we liked. I found the Gents shower block very clean and tidy but the missus said that the Womens wasn't such a high standard. Two toilets blocked for over 24 hours and no loo roll in most of them.

There was a bit of road noise in the morning from the nearby Whitby to Scarbrough road, but it was only from occasional lorries, cars couldn't be heard.

The only downside of our stay was an inconsiderate family who didn't respect the 10pm silence rule and had a noisy dog which barked at any other dog - and they had the lack of brains to pitch their tent right at the side of the dog walking field, so it kept barking at any dogs which passed.

Other than that, a superb little site, grounds well maintained (the picnic benches were a nice touch) and it felt very secure with the barrier entry. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Thomasshop 10 reviews from this member

 Great site clean toilet and shower area,litter cleaned up regularly, friendly helpful staff. Nice hotel on site with public bar and restaurant with children welcome. Handy shop for milk papers etc, bus route nearby into Whitby, Robin Hoods Bay, Scarborough if you don't fancy driving ,or a night out as taxis reasonable!
Only downside to site not enough for young children as only four swings in middle of site.

Overall a great site. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PICKY49 1 review from this member

 Just returned after our second visit to this site stopping 6 nights this time.

We asked for the bottom field near to the hotel. Our pitch slightly sloping and a bit rocky, the field could have done with a mow.

Plenty of picnic tables and useful BBQ areas.

Had a lovely stay until a large group of loud men arrived and kept us up until 2am, bad nights sleep that night. They obviously didnt read the notices about quiet times between 10pm and 8am. Thankfully they only stopped the one night.

The shower & toilet block kept clean, but the mens toilets were rather smelly.

Showers free and plenty of hot water, although the washing up water not always hot!

Good site but would recommend to owners not to accept groups, as the site is advertised as a family one.

Ideal base for Robin Hoods Bay & Whitby, where we spent most of our holiday rock pooling. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The cartwrights 5 reviews from this member

 We booked late and had to stay in the overflow section which isn't split into set pitches. There was a lot of rain and the puddle was getting closer to our tent as the weekend went on. It became very boggy on the grass but it would have been the same anywhere.

There was a portable loo in our section, because it is the furthest from the toilet / shower blocks but we preferred to walk to the main block. We found the facilities to be really clean, especially given the weather. We always judge sites by the shower / toilet facilities and these were very good.

There is a shop on site but there is a good supermarket in Whitby, and a good Tourist Information centre which is crucial when the weather is bad. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Boo+3 1 review from this member

 Just had a lovely weekend at this campsite, lots of other sites full but they were very accomodating and put us in the overflow field!

The toilets and showers were always spotless and lots of hot water in showers and washing up area - so I'm told by OH!

Staff were friendly and helpful!

Just booked to go back in two weeks 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: EML78 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for 2 nights at the end of May as it was well placed for visiting Whitby and Robin Hoods Bay and the many attractions of North Yorkshire.

I would say its a fairly large campsite. When you first drive on to it there are many pitches around a large field and then to the right of this is a bank which has been tiered for tents at three levels. There's not much of a playground, but the few swings on the site kept my daughter entertained. We also found the warden very friendly and helpful.

Toilet block was spotlessly clean whatever time of day you went and also appeared to be brand new. Inside there were plenty of loos and about 4 shower cubicles, with very hot water. The only thing I was disappointed with, was that there was not any separate sink cubicles and there were no hairdryers or sockets to plug my in, but this is just a girlie thing!

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and will definitely return again soon. 


Previous     131 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is York House Hotel And Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to York House Hotel And Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is York House Hotel And Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Whitby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3790 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement