Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Duke William

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Peak District & Derbyshire > Matlock > The Duke William > Reviews

The Duke William
91 Church Street
Matlock
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE4 3BZ
Tel: 01629 583111
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 135 Reviews
                9/10 from 135 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  135 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Grimmy 5 reviews from this member

 We were a couple of childminding grandparents looking for a weekend off, and we have just had a fab 2 nights at the Duke William. Basic toilets, shower, but we were in the motorhome so don't need to use them, but would need a tap on site to fill up with water if we stay longer than a weekend as the only tap we could see was in the play area. Church bells! no problem to us.

Great views from the field, lots of room as it only takes a few units, with a super 5 minute walk to Matlock, shops, park and chippy.

Saturday night we had a meal in the pub which was very tasty, we were entertained by a singer and guitarist, a very good night was had by all.

The landlord is very laid back, friendly and efficient.

WARNING! If you have a caravan or motorhome and are arriving via the steep hill, do not attempt to swing into the site on the bend, go past the entrance where the road widens turn round and enter from there or you may join the many (including us) who have added to the gouges on the camber.

You will be seeing more of us, and next time we will aim to walk to Matlock Bath. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shanparkes 1 review from this member

 We visited this site for a weekend at the end of June 2010. The site was a field at the back of the pub, the grassed area was a reasonable size and fairly level around the edge. The campers (and a couple of caravans) were sited around the edges with room in the middle for the children to run around.

We arrived at around 8pm on a Friday night and the pub was very busy, we went into the pub to book in and the barman was efficient and friendly and we asked about food for that evening. We booked a table for 9pm which gave us enough time to set up our tent and when we went back to the pub at 9pm a bus had dropped off a coach load of punters so had to wait a little while for our food, but well worth the wait and the barman was very friendly, telling us where to go the next day for a good cooked breakfast and what to do in the area.

There were a ladies and a gents toilets (one of each) which needed a little more cleaning than they got over the weekend and there was one shower (Shared for ladies and gents). I counted 19 tents (caravans) in the field over the weekend so getting a shower was a case of watching the flow of people to the facilities and timing it right. Not the cleanest of shower rooms and the floor got very wet but for a weekend away it was adequate and the price and the friendly staff made up for it.

Pub was busy on sat night and there was a private party too in an upstairs room but it was far enough from the field to not bother the campers.

All in all a very good site and would definitely visit again as it is very close to Matlock and Matlock Bath. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Scribblescampz 1 review from this member

 We decided to use this site as everywhere else was fully booked over the bank holiday weekend, the pub landlord was very helpful, and even made our 6 year daughter feel very welcome!

After reading the reviews we took plenty of toilet paper just be on the safe side, but found there was no need as the toilets were kept fully stocked, the toilets themselves were kept clean, and the shower was really nice and hot, much cleaner than I anticipated. Yes there was a cold puddle on the floor, but what is better, cold feet for a few minutes or smelling? we found that with careful navigation and good mother / daughter team work its possible to avoid the puddle and not get the bottom of your trousers wet! besides as it was cold a trip to the toilet was a good excuse to get warmed up and sit on a comfy seat (yes there are really comfy chairs in the ladies!)

The field is on a slope, but where we were (next to something that resembles an old train carriage!) we didn't feel like we were sleeping on a hill! and we loved having a good look in the old caravan that's in the field!

The play area was unfortunately too wet for us to try out, but with a bit of imagination the slide can be anything the kids want it to be!

The short walk into Matlock was made even shorter by exploring all the little nooks and crannys that are set away from the main road, and the short walk through the park brought us out in the middle of town.

We hardly noticed the church bells, and found they weren't really offensive! There isn't any washing up facilities or electric points, but as long as you have a washing up bowl and a hair brush who needs hair dryers and a dishwasher?!

The entrance to the site is quite steep, so I wouldn't advise taking a lowered car, but there's loads parking available.

We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be visiting again, at 10 a night for the 3 of us you cant go wrong! 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Suziecraig 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed here over the bank holiday weekend the site is lovely and the owners are friendly. The site is very good value for money and good walks can be done from the campsite.

There is only one shower and whilst I was there I did not use it as it was not clean. I think it would help if the owners had a mop and bucket then users could clean the floor after use.

The views are beautiful from the campsite and I will definitely be going back. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kj2302 1 review from this member

 As a young couple we stay here a lot, its a brilliant place to camp, we always have the far end by the tree which keeps us sheltered and also means you can people watch ;-)

The pub does amazing food especially the giant toasted cheese and mushroom bap followed by mixed grill!

Toilets are clean and for us more than enough for the amount of people, as for plug sockets who needs hair-dryers and / or straighteners when camping!

The village down the slope is pretty has several shops and pubs and is lovely in the summer to stroll down! We absolutely love the Duke Williams pub and will be back again next year! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RRLS 1 review from this member

 This was our first 'real' camping trip myself and my daughter (6) stayed for 3 nights.

Other than having a leaky tent we really enjoyed our stay,the food in the pub was delicious and great portion sizes too!

We didn't have to wait for shower/toilet on any occasion, although I can imagine it does get very busy during peak times.

Very friendly helpful staff,short walking distance (although quiet steep)into Matlock which for us is good news as I don't drive.

High peak trail starts just across the road from the site.

Very enjoyable stay I'm planning to return with the whole family in better weather hopefully. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wsseaman 67 reviews from this member

 Spent 5 days here. Like others have said, its a basic site with no electric but there was a shower in the pub and a water tap. The pub itself was very good with live entertainment over the bank holiday weekend, screens football matches and is dog friendly.
They do pack you in on this site so it can get very cosy and as pitches are not marked out, caused some amusement. A very friendly site and very close to Matlock (10-min walk) We walked to the 'other' Matlock which took about 40 minutes.
Managed to find the local rugby field further up the hill from the pub to exercise our dog which was very useful. Good value for money as well. We would definitely go there again. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: K1FCD 1 review from this member

 Arrived friday 19th,received a warm and friendly welcome.(4 of us male and female arrived on scooters, staying in tents). The site is more than adequate for camping with toilets and a shower (the only improvement would be more than 1 shower but I had no problem and can only use 1 at a time anyway) these are attached to the pub at the entrance,they are open 24 hours a day and are kept clean.
Adequate parking for scooters, bikes or cars in a separate car park if preferred. The pub is open late, the staff and locals are very friendly and could not do more to help you / make you feel welcome. Food is also served which is very good.There is a small beer garden with a children's playground next to it.

The walk into town is only a few minutes down hill(at the bottom is a 24hr garage and another pub opposite).You then come to picturesque gardens including various walks,many shops and cafe's.

All in this is a fantastic place to stay, give it serious consideration if you are in the area and all for only 4 per person! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pappajohn 2 reviews from this member

 We visited the site a couple of years ago and will definitely return one day. Very friendly and good food.

Never used the 'facilities' as we are self contained but the toilets were clean.

Because the weather wasn't too good and the field was very wet we were allowed to use the carpark on theis occasion.

Just a word of warning/caution to motorhomers and caravanners.

The approach from Matlock is very steep and the pub entrance is even steeper.

My advise is to drive past the pub, turn around and approach the entrance from the other direction. Face downhill.

We attacked it from uphill and the rear of the motorhome grounded damaging the corner steadies. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Full Monty 1 review from this member

 We stayed here last weekend and I can confirm it is much as others have described.

Whatever you do drive up the hill and turn around - there is plenty of turning spaces. The Church bells rang only for a wedding (Saturday) and to call the faithful to church from around 10.30 am Sunday morning.

One shower and one male and one female toilet clearly get busy first thing in a morning and I assume it is the same in the evenings.

Motorhomes now seem to be encouraged to park on the car-park. Pub seems good with real ales, and a friend who lives locally says the Sunday carvery is value for money.

There is a kiddies play area (looked good) and it is handy for Matlock. Taxi to Matlock Bath is about 6.00. 


Previous     135 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Duke William child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Duke William?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Duke William dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Matlock      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


59954 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement