Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Woodland Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Woodland Caravan Park Reviews

Woodland Caravan Park
Windmill Lane
Snelston
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 2GT
Tel: 01335 300 598
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 15th March To 3rd November 2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 133 Reviews
                9/10 from 133 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (18)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  133 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Donna vosper 3 reviews from this member

We had a great weekend of peace at this campsite. Our two children aged 4 and 2 both had a great time playing in the woods and surrounding fields. It was our very first time caravanning and the staff and other guests were so friendly and helpful. This is a definate get away from it all site just what we needed. The toilets and showers were always clean and plenty of hot water at all times. The pot wash area is lovely. I was told to shower my children in the disabled shower as its much bigger allowing me to shower both at the same time, this was great as it had temperature control on the shower and a constant water supply compared to push buttons on the others. We really enjoyed it here and good weather helped we have already booked to return. The only way to improve it I think would be to have a play area.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: KarennJames 4 reviews from this member

What a marvellous site!

We chose this site due to it being far enough for our maiden voyage.

Beware if you approach from the A50 along the A515, The sat nav tries to take you a right turn to Yeavely this is wrong, carry on along the A515 towards Ashbourne, you will see Windmill Lane, on the left, on a sharp bend. Charles realised we were late and being physcic to the situation knew where we would be and came and lead us in.

As detailed in message forum, Charles the Site owner, must have a NVQ 16 in customer services, he was an absolute angel sorting my 'first time out hitches'.

The site is a gated site to which all visitors are issued 2 keys. One is for the gate so you can lock when you go out for the day and unlock yourself when you return. The second key is for the truly spotless showers and toilets complete with hairdryer. Showers have external changing rooms as an annex to the shower itself so you don't get your clothes wet. Separate utility room with Microwave if you need it. Site office has all local numbers on display so even if its not manned you can still get some information.

Lovely dog walk area which is enclosed with mesh to stop your dog doing a runner if he's that way inclined. But also to add to this there is a very large field to let him run loose in if he has good recall!

All hard standing, don't forget your rock pegs for the awning with night courtesy lights above the ehu unit. Water and fire points in the curves of the turning circle.

Sanitation Blue, is for the toilet waste area and rather nicely you can dispose of your own waste in a little shed, with the normal hose and requirements. Grey water washing up water and caravan waste waster, is disposed of up a little ramp and enables easy emptying of your waste hog.

Site is very peaceful, watching squirrels and other wild life is marvellous.

Charles the site owner, also gave us a local O/S style map with a circular walk on it and this can be as long or as short as you like with the minimum being 35 mins. Great photo opportunities for photographers. Large stand of monkey puzzle trees if you want something a little different.

Being camped in trees offers you a very sheltered site. We took all our own food requirements so had no need for food other than cheese and tomato sauce that we picked up from Marks and Spencers food hall not more than two miles away.

Nothing much for children to do, other than play in the woods and ride round on bikes, but I think youngsters with parents who love wildlife would find lots to see and do.

We would certainly return to this site.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Preg68 3 reviews from this member

We stayed at Woodlands for a long May Bank holiday weekend and what a treat. The owners were very friendly when we booked and so welcoming when we arrived showing us around a lovely woodland site

The toilets and showers were amongst the best we have seen and were always immaculate. The pitches were very generous in size, all being separated from each other with more woodland. My children, Twin Girls aged 7 (children under 10 are free and you don't see that much nowadays), loved it, climbing trees and dragging logs and branches around to make dens.

The site is in a great location, only 5 minutes away from Ashbourne and we all did a 16 mile bike ride on the Tissington Trail (10 Minutes away) which we would recommend to all. Also the walk from Dovedale to Milldale is great for a short hike which is also only about 20 minutes away.

I would like to thank the owners very much for a great stay and will definitely be visiting again, Probably in a couple of weeks.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Berliner Beer 5 reviews from this member

What a warm welcome from the site owners, Really nice site. The Kids loved snooping around the woods making houses out of sticks n stuff. Would love to go back.

Our first time out in the caravan. Easy to find. Really close to Ashbourne and the Peaks as well as Alton Towers. On site facilities were clean. Dog walking area was fab.

Very nice to be in the woods and not on a huge open site.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chophiemarax 1 review from this member

We stayed here for May bank holiday and it was our first trip out in our new caravan having upgraded from a trailer tent and we're really pleased we chose this site!

Booking over the phone in advance was easy as the owners were warm friendly and informative. Upon arrival we had a very warm welcome and we were shown where everything was from the spotlessly clean toilets and showers (best we've ever seen since we started with the trailer tent), waste disposal recycling points and even the stile to use out of the campsite and into the beautiful grounds of Snelston Hall (we were given a map to use by the owners whilst taking this walk!).

We had been allocated a pitch in advance next to our family who were also on their 1st caravan trip out but when we got there we found it was next to the entrance road but as we had small children in our party the warden very kindly changed both pitches over to the other side of the campsite. He was lovely and you felt like nothing was too much trouble.

The pitches are all hard standing (quite stony) and are surrounded by trees in a beautiful woodland setting, it was very tranquil and our 2 dogs loved it having the amazing fenced off dog walk that they were allowed to run free in, again something we have never seen.

The kids were not bothered about the lack of park ages 2, 4, 5 and 7. They were more than happy to take balls etc. in to the field behind us. Many children seemed to have great fun building dens in the forest.

I used the family room to shower the kids (free) - bags of room and lovely hot shower, could benefit from a seat but that's all! We also gratefully used the washing machine and tumble dryer (50p/30mins) after getting caught in the rain and soaked on the first day!

The site is 5min drive from Ashbournes gorgeous centre, Carsington water is about 15mins away as is Tissington hall and trail. There is Darley motorcycle race track over the road so if the noise bothers you check if they are meeting on your weekend away before booking. There is a link from the parks website. It didn't bother us but we were out for most of the day!

We will most definitely visit this clean friendly and peaceful site again!

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DaveyDave 26 reviews from this member

What a lovely site. Booked quite late and were amazed to get in. Set in woods the site is very quiet and picturesque. Lady who owns the site gave us a map of a walk to nearby Clifton and we loved it.

Lovely pub in Clifton where we managed a swift half before walking back along the country roads. Absolutely lovely walk that I would recommend everyone to try.

Ablutions were clean and tidy. Showers were hot but a pain to have to keep pressing the button every 15 seconds. You all have your own key to the site so very secure. All in all a great weekend break. We will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: VixMix 8 reviews from this member

What a stunning site! Looks fantastic from the minute you drive in. First impression is that the site is very secure with locking gates on the access roads.

The site is set out on a circular route, and although there are 40 pitches, the layout in amongst the trees will leave you feeling as though you have the place to yourself. Well lit without being obtrusive.

The toilet block is very modern and two double glazed doors keep the block warm. The showers are clean and pleasant - although the push button is annoying - you get about 30 seconds before the button needs pushing again. There is a recycling area and a laundry which has proper industrial units at a brilliantly cheap price. Only a pound for an hour in the dryer! The dog walk was closed - a temporary measure - but my labs were more than happy with walking around the rest of the forest and nearby empty field.

Location is good, only minutes from Ashbourne. An M&S Food store is nearest big shop. Nice selection of shops and pubs in Ashbourne. Very handy for Alton Towers.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Shooun 15 reviews from this member

This site is fantastic.

The wardens were lovely people who were always friendly and helpful whenever we saw them.

There is no on site shop but the toilet and shower block were spotless.

The laundry facilities were excellent and very well priced too.

There is a small dog walk within the park (in its own wood), this is fine for a very short walk, but if you fancy a longer stroll then there are lots of footpaths in the surrounding farmers fields.

There isnt much there for kids, perhaps a small playground area would be a good idea, but there is always Alton Towers or Gullivers Kingdom well within reach by car.

Ashbourne is about a ten minute drive where there are lots of shops, supermarkets, pubs, resteraunts etc.

The surrounding area of Derbyshire has some beautiful scenery, and fantastic walks.

All in all I cant say enough about this site, it had everything that we, as a family would want from a site.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tracy35 17 reviews from this member

We loved this site - the woodland setting is really pretty. The pitches are large, with room on most for caravan, awning and car side-by-side. The pitches give lots of privacy too as each has it's own clearing.

Our pitch was pretty close to the main road, but over the weekend the traffic noise wasn't intrusive. However on BH Mon the races at Darley Moor race circuit across the road were! Don't imagine this is used very often though.

Loos etc - immaculate. These are by reception, quite a walk from the furthest pitches. This was not a problem until the wee hours - its a very spooky walk if you don't have an on-board loo for night time wees!

The relaxed atmosphere and friendliness of the managers gives the site something special. Whilst high standards of behaviour are expected in terms of noise, pets etc there was not list of do's and don'ts' handed on arrival or stuck around the site. I get really fed-up with being treated like a naughty school child on some sites - none of this here - great!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JTZE 4 reviews from this member

This is a great site for a base. The wardens are helpful and the facilities are very good.

Loo's & showers are very clean and there is a dishwashing area indoors as well as washing machine & tumble dryer at very cheap prices. We stayed for 4 nights @ 18 per night which we found reasonable, electric hook up and close by water, waste facilities very clean. Dog walk was very useful.

Peaceful site, plenty of room between caravans.

Easy site to access, previous review are accurate.

Previous     133 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1944 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019