Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Merthyr Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Harlech > Merthyr Farm Reviews

Merthyr Farm
Merthyr Farm
Harlech
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL46 2TP
Tel: 07779579225  or  01766 780897
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15 EHU pitches, 20 Non-electric
Open: 17/05/2021 to 30/09/2021
           01/05/2022 to 20/09/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 124 Reviews
                10/10 from 124 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  124 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: LOWDENJ 1 review from this member

 The view from the campsite is breathtaking. We planned to stay 2 nights but stayed 5 and did not want to leave. The owners were very helpful and offered to place or caravan for us with their pickup and were always on hand to help.

The facilities were basic with a small toilet and shower block but clean (and hot showers) and for the price we paid it was extremely good value for money. Will definitely go back again. Make sure you follow the directions as it is high up and others roads are not suitable for caravans. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fiona+keith 2 reviews from this member

 This was the perfect site for relaxing - stunning views from all the pitches, you won't want to watch TV with views like this! Lizzie and Bryn are really lovely - friendly and welcoming and would do anything to help. Toilet and shower facilities are basic but clean and there are enough for the size of the site.

It is great if you want to walk - you can start from the site and a short drive to many more. It is a short drive to Harlech or the beach and there is so many other things to do as well. We will definitely return in the future. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 5uz1e 3 reviews from this member

 This is a phenomenal campsite with really friendly owners. The use of a fridge-freezer is an excellent bonus. The views and sunsets are the finest; they really are. Our three children (7,5 and 1) loved it and really appreciated the environment.

I hate to have to report that we were driven out by a storm; when the weather turns it really does. I have camped all my life and have seen some bad weather, but this was something else. The wind literally obliterated our tent around us; it was quite horrifying.

It is such a shame to have to be negative because this site is amazing, but in order to see those sunsets you must accept that you really are at the mercy of nature's fury up there.  


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Juanban 1 review from this member

 Stayed for 3 nights at the end of August. Site owners are lovely and very helpful. We stayed in a tent in the non hook up field and it was extremely windy. So much so that I slept in the car one night as I was convinced that the tent was going to take a trip in the Irish sea - which is just down the hill from the site.

Will definitely go back next year with my caravan because the site itself is just beautiful and is in a good location. Can only reiterate what other campers have said about the views - astonishing. Very reasonably priced and just a short drive to Harlech castle, Portmeirion, Porthmadog.

Toilet block is basic but very clean and the showers were not powerful at all.

The local shop is open until 10o'clock - this is in Harlech and it sells a good range of those camping essentials you are likely to forget. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Davilla 8 reviews from this member

 Just stayed for 4 nights, and we loved the place, the views from our tent were breathtaking and the owner was very helpful. The facilities were basic but ok for a farm site. We stayed in the non hook up field and had a fairly good pitch. Good walks from the farm and had a fridge for keeping things cool which was good. The cost was very reasonable as well, we paid 40 for the 4night. We enjoyed our stay so much we will return soon. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paulieccc 1 review from this member

 I stopped here on a solo bicycle tour at the start of July.

After cycling 100km that day I was not at all pleased at the size of the hill getting up to the farm, I thought it would never end.

I must say when I got to the top the views were absolutely breathtaking! Well worth it.

Owners were very friendly and I even got a spin to the town for a beer after my long day.

At 5 pounds a night it was a bargain too.

I will return one day, but hopefully with a wife and kids and not a damn bicycle! :) 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Louisecroome 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site up in the hills away from the busy coast. But not too far to drive down, about 10-15 minutes down to Harlech.

Amazing beaches all along coast and short drive to Portmeirion and Portmadoc. Great views of the coast from up high and very safe for children to run around and play.

The showers and toilets were very basic, but I think they were goingto update them this year. Cows all around in the fields which was lovely to look at.

There were a few hook ups. Would definitely go back again. There is two ways in so if towing a caravan just check which way in would be best as it is a narrow lane with no passing places. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wet Waters 4 reviews from this member

 Despite timing our stay for possibly the worst weather in months, this has to be one of the most picturesque sites we have stayed at. High up above Harlech, the site has amazing views across the bay to Port Merion, Porthmadog and beyond to Cricceth.

The facilities though basic are warm, clean and more than adequate and the showers are hot and have both stools and hooks for clothing which is a rarity. There is a handy and large fridge freezer for everyone to use and there is plenty of hot water for washing up.

The couple who own the site are welcoming and were more than willing to help us put up the awning (I think they felt for a 6 month pregnant woman trying to haul an awning up!).

We will return to this site (though we may wait for better weather!), and our 3year old daughter loved seeing the sheep that kept appearing in the field. My husband and I also got our amusement from a fluffy tabby cat that shouted hello through the awning to us.

All in all a lovely no frills site. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andrea baker 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site for 5 nights and had a great relaxing time.

Every pitch is spacious and all have fantastic views and ever changing scenery.

The owners are very friendly and more than willing to help you should you need it.

If you follow your sat nav you will turn onto a little country lane that is very narrow a steep which is fine if like us you only have a tent, However if you are towing a caravan or trailer then you ignore the sat nav when it tells you to turn and carry on through Harlich and out along the cost road where your sat nav will send you up a much wider country road that is fine to tow up. This adds a few miles onto your journey but is a much better option.

Being ex-caravan owners we would have found this 2nd route no problem.

I promise you will not be disappointed  


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daveycrockett 2 reviews from this member

 This site is a true gem. As soon as you leave the main road and start to climb towards the farm, you pass through a small wooded area. When you enter the clearing the views take your breath away. After about a mile and half you reach the farm entrance where you are met by sheep and cows roaming freely

The site is spread over 2 fields electric and non electric, there are no worries about space as it only has 14 pitches and each pitch has a view to die for.

There is a plaque on 1 of the pitches from someone who camped there for over 30 years sadly they have passed away it reads "Just what the doctor ordered" never a true word has been spoken.

The site has 2 showers with red hot water, toilets sink area for washing and also a fridge freezer to keep the beer chilled. Bryn and Lizzie who run the site are 2 of the nicest people I have met they cant do enough to help, as this is a working farm they are out working all day but still have time to stop for a chat and a drink {lol).

You are only 3 miles from Harlech and the beach so even though you feel you are on top of the world civilisation is on your doorstep if you want it, but once you hear the silence and see the views,staying put is the best option.I could go on all day about this site there are no minus points. The best thing is to go there, I promise you wll not be disappointed. 


Previous     124 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Merthyr Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Merthyr Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Merthyr Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Harlech      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2931 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement