Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Amerden Caravan & Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Berkshire > Maidenhead > Amerden Caravan & Camping Site Reviews

Amerden Caravan & Camping Site
Old Marsh Lane
Dorney Reach
Maidenhead
Berkshire   (Browse area)
SL6 0DZ
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 50
Open: Closed For 2019, Reopening 2020

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 161 Reviews
                9/10 from 161 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  161 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Roebuckfamily 3 reviews from this member

We stayed 3 nights because kids wanted to go to Legoland!

Was a mammoth journey for us but received a warm welcome with lovely clean toilets and showers. Pitched right next to the play park which suited the kids and us! Had lovely walks along the tow path with the children getting to open the lock gates for a party boat! One of the highlights!

Washing machine and tumble drier reasonably priced and worked much better than some camp site ones I have used. Showers were hot and very clean.

Vending machine with chocolate, crisps and juice a fab idea!

When we first arrived we were a bit worried about the noise level but even coming from rural Scotland we were used to it before bedding down for the night.

Will definitely be back!

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rob sheff 2 reviews from this member

Only stayed 2 nights to break up longer journey.

Beautiful site, all facilities excellent, Toilet and shower block very good, never had to wait. Fridge freezer and microwave for use, didn't get over filled despite camp being full. Excellent washing up area with plenty of sinks / space. Kids (13,11,6) all enjoyed the play area.

Only downside the M4 is on edge of site. You get used to the sound but it is a constant noise. Having said that managed to sleep through it OK. Probably worse if like us you are in a tent.

Would camp here again but only if we could camp at the end of the site furthest from the motorway

Excellent site for exploring Winsor area / london (rail links not too bad ).

Will probably use it again as facilities very good.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shelldean 15 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site.

Amerden has a campers kitchen which includes a microwave, fridge and freezer. Also available for use was a washing machine and dryer.

There was clean and spacious shower block. 3 large showers, with plenty of space to change and 3 toilets, for each sex. No queues that we saw, despite being busy with athletes and a young peoples hiking group

Wardens very helpful and friendly, but not very knowledgeable. They had only been on site under a week. They did plan to explore and gain local knowledge.

Playground was really too young for my two boys, 9 & 13,but there was plenty of space for them to play with their new friends, so this wasn't a problem.

There is also a vending machine on site, that sells noodles amongst other things. There was large selection of small sweets for 10p. My boys thought they was in 7th heaven when I gave them 50p each and told them to go and choose their own.

The main downside is the noise from the M4. But it never really bothered us. In fact it worked in our favour. When we returned from day out in Windsor, we found two pup tents very close to us.(too close in fact) It was the triathlon in Windsor on the Sunday. Lots of the athletes chose to camp, so site was busy. But the M4 noise masked them getting up breaking camp and leaving at silly o'clock in the morning for their 6am start.

No pubs within walking distance, and nearest Supermarket is Sainsburys about 10 mins drive away.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sally camper 3 reviews from this member

This was a lovely site with flat pitches and a very clean toilet block. We stayed in August when the site was full and there was quite a queue for the showers but quality of toilet blok made up for it.

We went to Legoland which was only a sort drive away.

However, the M4 was only about 100m from our pitch and the noise spoilt the weekend - we also had noise from aeroplanes but that didn't bother us as much. We're planning on going back to Legoland next year but we'll look for another site as the noise was just too much for us, although it didn't seem to bother the children.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cassini987 3 reviews from this member

We visited this site for 2 nights, as it was close to Legoland.

The site itself is lovely. Nice and small, a good little play area for the kids and spotless loos and showers. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Our pitch was spacious and surrounded by tall hedges to provide shelter and privacy from the neighbouring pitches. There is also a large Sainsburys about a mile away which is very handy.

The only drawback to this site is the noise. At the far end of the campsite where we were pitched, we were literally at the bottom of the verge of the M4. The noise was loud and constant, and made even holding a normal conversation impossible. We are not usually bothered by noise but this was really awful, and even kept the children awake. It was a bit quieter up near the reception and toilet block, so it might be a good idea to ask for a pitch at that end of the site. We would never return to this site or recommend it to anybody - it is a lovely site, sadly just in the wrong location.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mumshadenough 3 reviews from this member

This site would be absolutely perfect, apart from one thing. The noise!

The layout is lovely, small and large pitches mixed together, great little play area for the kids. Toilets and showers spotless (and they have lots of hooks in the shower cubicles. Essential for your towels and clothes when in there!)

The Thames is just behind the site, and the canal path is a great place to walk along and feed the ducks.Our friends had a wonderful time playing lock-keeper for the boats coming and going.Future retirement plans!

Easy access to legoland (when it's not busy) and windsor castle.

We really enjoyed the stay, now let me tell you about the noise.

We were pitched 2nd to last at the end of the site. There was a fence and a couple of trees between us and the M4. The noise was constant, and occasionally you forget it's there.But then a huge lorry trundles over the bridge joints whilst a jumbo jet takes off over your head, and then you remember where you are!

We found ourselves shouting to hear each other speak across the tent, and I had 2 really bad nights sleep! just when I got to sleep, I would be woken up by another lorry passing by.

As said before, if the M4 wasnt next door, this would be a perfect site, so if you dont mind traffic noise, this is the site for you.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Alisonn 1 review from this member

What a fab fab site, ok so it was near the M4 but the noise really was back ground noise, the little kids park was just such fun for my 2 little ones and the new wardens are keeping the site so clean and tidy. Everyone was so friendly and as the site is not to big it really has that wow factor, the kids loved the horses in the next field, my husband did some fishing on the thames, we stayed for 4 nights and could have stayed longer but sadly work just gets in the way heh !
We had a day trip to lego land and that just made the 4 day break even better, will defo be back hope to be next year thanks for such a lovely break away.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Philarcher 3 reviews from this member

We share the complimentary views expressed by others - this is a terrific site with excellent facilities. The toilets/showers are clean, there's plenty of washing up space and a microwave oven plus fridge and freezer. Our young children enjoyed the play area too.

The M4 noise is constant but not oppressive. We stopped here overnight on a longer journey as did others - the location is perfect for that - and would happily return for a longer stay.

Follow the described route not Sat Nav - we did the latter and drove over endless sleeping policemen through Eaton which is no fun when towing.

Final note - the Fish & Chip shop just down the road in Eaton Wick (The Jade Garden) is superb.

Top site.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Peter Leath 1 review from this member

We have been using this great site for years since 1995.

Every year the site gets gets better with new things added for the comfort of the camper and caravaner (this year a micowave and freezer).

It is an easy site to get access from the M4 and is always clean and tidy.

Amerden is near enough to stay for Windsor and Lego Land and a train ride away from central London via Taplow station. The owners are very friendly and keep the site extremely clean and tidy.

Plenty of hot water for showers and washing up. Kids play area.

The site is near to the river Thames for riverside walks or bike rides into Maidenhead or Windsor / Eton. A short distance to local supermarket for those thing you forgot to bring.

Bike hire, Gas bottles exchange, a vending macine for snacks all available on site.

All I can say is that we and our family love it and always use Amerden site when we want to get away from it all.

Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jomace 2 reviews from this member

Clean toilets, showers and good washing up facilities.

The down side is being right next to the M4 the traffic noise is constant.

I thought it was expensive especially for this time of year (16 a night for my husband and I, in October)

Otherwise a very clean well looked after site.

Previous     161 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Berkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3130 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019