Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gwithian Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Gwithian Farm Campsite
1 Churchtown Rd
Gwithian, Hayle
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR27 5BX   See Map
Tel: 01736 753127
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 246 Reviews
                9/10 from 246 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Seaside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport 

Reviews:  246 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Write your own Review wo win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 1915 3 reviews from this member

Location fantastic, few different walks to beach that varied in difficulty. The hardest being half hour and down / up very steep steps. Gwithian beach is by far the best beach I've visited in the UK. Manned by lifeguards - our two teenage boys body boarded most days that weather allowed and they loved it. Sunset Surf cafe is excellent with home made cream teas, Jam Pot not as good but OK.
About the site: biggish site with reasonable sized pitches but very close to each other. Our last night we were joined by a tent very close, so glad we were leaving.
Toilets not brilliant, the floors were usually dirty. Family shower the same really, such a disappointment. We showered then changed in our tent. Only 8 ladies toilets for a site that has 139 pitches and only 6 showers. Our pitch was a long walk (for a 3 and 4 year old) in the middle of the night
Washing up area outside which was fine but had to queue most days. No playground for the kids but they had a large field to play in until 9pm. Table tennis table but was always very busy.
Fish and chip van comes on a Sunday and they are great but avoid the Curry man on Wednesday - the curries were dreadful. All in all we had a great holiday and loved the location but with the cleanliness of toilets and location of them we would probably not go back.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Brok02 6 reviews from this member

Once again a great time had at Gwithian Farm, Generous pitches, clean toilet blocks some queues but its peak time. Fish and chips from mobile van really good also Red River Inn across road offers great food and very friendly.
If you want to visit St Ives use the park and ride train service very convenient. Lovely walk to beach never get tired of it. Great site will return.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ads46 3 reviews from this member

This was one of the best sites that we have stayed at. The owners were very helpful to everyone and it was no trouble for them to stop and help anyone.

The pitches were huge compared to other sites we have visited. You are not overlooking your neighbours.

The facilities are very clean all the time, there are goats and guinea pigs which my daughter loved. The wetsuit hire is cheap and we were given a selection for us all to try on to make sure they fit.

There is the daily ice cream van/fish and chip van and curry evening which make for a nice change.

Overall this site was great and we will be booking again for next year.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lindsey32 1 review from this member

My family and I have just returned from a 5 night stay at Gwithian Farm Campsite. This was our first camping trip and I really didn't know what to expect! We had a great time and I was very surprised by all the facilities the site had to offer. The pitch size was great, more than enough room, only draw back was that we were next to a corner plot pitch and therefore lost the corner of pitch as we needed to allow room for them to get there car out. Was welcomed by Clair and Mike who explained the local area to us and directed us to our pitch.

The pitch was very well drained and great paths to toilets etc. Toilet and shower room was very clean and never really had to queue. Pot washing facilities were also very clean and plenty of sinks.

Access to the beach was a bit tricky with 3 children, one of which was in a pushchair, but once you are down there the beach is beautiful.

Didn't manage to sample the local pub as the night we arrived we thought we would go in but it was reservation only as they were very busy. The next local eatery was Sanf Sifter which was too long a walk with the kids but a very short drive, food was good, slight lack of choice for dessert but good choice of wine and beers. Trendy atmosphere and no problem with the children.

Overall a great location and with Hayle a short drive away we never had to travel for anything! A great Lidl at the bottom of the hill, which stocked pretty much everything we needed, but there is also a Large well stocked Co-op and a small retail park also not far away which has a large Boots and M & S food Hall! for all your luxury items.

A short drive to the beautiful town of St Ives which was well worth a visit, foodies & shopaholics dream!

All in all a great site and great location and fabulous scenery, will definitely be booking again.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sasababe 3 reviews from this member

Myself, my partner and dog booked to spend 5 nights here in the last week of June after a recommendation from a friend.

We loved it so much we stayed an extra night – the only negative experience was the strong winds and heavy rain on our arrival, which seriously tested both our tent erection skills and our relationship! Thankfully we passed both (with a little help from the grounds man ;) ) Also the weather picked up too and we had a fabulous time.

The pitches are large, thoughtfully spaced and divided by pretty trellises and planting. There are over a 100 pitches but it never felt busy – there is a large open space in the middle for ball games etc – which proved popular.

The beach was a good 15min walk away – though enjoyable once you knew the way through the dunes… we spent most of our time on the doggy part (which is a little further than the main) and wow – what a beach!

Facilities at Gwithian Farm were impeccable – toilets always clean and shop well stocked. (Though it was only open a few hours a day)

Within walking distance there are two cafes on the beach which served cream teas etc and one was licensed – though both closed around 5pm – opposite the campsite was a very busy but very good pub serving food. We had to book our table and were disappointed one night we tried on the spur of the moment.

Whilst we were there we visited St Ives (beautiful), Lands End (rubbish), Falmouth (lovely but busy) – all easily accessible.

It is the perfect site – big enough to have excellent facilities but small enough not to have that “holiday park” feel. However it is not cheap.

Should we ever be lucky enough to holiday in Cornwall again – we will be staying there.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Spuds+blobbys 1 review from this member

Don't think the website does full justice to the campsite. We had a lovely holiday didn't want to come home made all the better by Gwithian Farm. Ideal location great facilities everything clean and tidy,large pitches,nice and quiet after 11.00.
Ten minute walk to the lovely beach which even on a busy day isn't crowded, life guards on beach. Will use this campsite again. A must if you come to Cornwall.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Millberts 5 reviews from this member

This is a wonderful campsite. We chose it for its proximity to the sea. A short (10min) walk through the sand dunes to the most amazing beach. Brilliant for surfing and admiring the views of St Ives.

The site itself is well laid out and the pitches are a good size with hedges/plants to divide them. The facilities were modern and clean, we experienced some queuing but it was the busiest time of year and time of day, so to be expected.

The shop is small but well equipped. We particularly liked the evening visits from ice cream van, fish and chip van and curry stall.

We didn't visit the pub opposite but definitely will this year on our return visit.

Finally we found the staff very friendly and helpful and booking was a pleasure.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ed_pete 3 reviews from this member

Overall location very good. Close to A30, shops and supermarkets in Hayle, St Ives (if you can bear the crowds). Gwithain beach very good with separate area for dog owners. Lifeguard monitored (probably holiday times only). Excellent farm shop/PYO/cafe/restaurant a couple of miles away.

Pitch size adequate, though not much space between you and your neighbours. Well drained I assume it must be the light soils as we had plenty of rain. Toilet block newish but in spite of what others have said I felt I could have still done with a really decent clean (check out the cobwebs and what looked like soggy toilet paper on the veluxes - kids !). Non-concussive taps in the showers mean you don't linger as you have to keep pressing it every 15 seconds, water was warm enough. Only six sinks for washing up which are outside, but protected from the rain. Had to queue at popular times, probably not an issue outside of peak season. Take your own plug as some were missing. No facilities for handwashing in the laundry though we used the washing up sinks and no-one objected.

On site hire of wetsuits and body boards much cheaper than from places on the beach. Could do with a large tank for rinsing wetsuits as it was a slow process using the hose or one cold outside shower (try holding up a full size wetsuit when its wet - it makes your arms ache !).

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Scarab15 3 reviews from this member

What can I say,still one of the best sites I have visited in Cornwall.

The reviews already written say it all. The showers clean and water always hot. Most pitches are big enough for any size of tent.

The shop had all the basics and you can hire wet suites + bodyboards.

Lidl/marks and spencers/co-op or tesco close by.

10 minutes walk to beach which is fantastic- great surfing and bodyboarding, and when you have done call in at the sunset cafe have a gorgeous hot chocolate or a beer.

Don't want to cook no problem: fish & chip van or authentic indian currys visit the site over the week,ice cream van visits daily.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SimonIG10 3 reviews from this member

We are just back from Gwithian Farm and were very impressed with the site. Others have mentioned the visiting vans/curry and Icecream van. We really liked the Fish and Chips from the van and the Curry deliveries. Bob the Icecream man visited most nights and the kids (and us) enjoyed more than a few '99s'. The owners are really friendly and laid back.

We hired body boards and a wetsuit for my son and bought one for my daughter from the site shop. I was surprised that they took little details and no deposits on hires but people did not abuse the situation. For buying adult wetsuits there is a small industrial unit just near St Erths station called Tombstone Surf off the A30. The guys in there are very helpdful. We didn't find the walk to the beach too bad via the path next to the OAP home although we tended to park in the NT car park at Godrevy and walk to the beach that way. The trouble with the beach is that it is absolutely huge and the lifeguards only patrol a small area for body boarders etc which tends to be to the left of the beach. We decided to join the NT while we were at Godrevy and made good use of our membership visiting mines, Gardens etc plus lots of carparking.

The walk to the beach via the Sunset cafe is very nice of an evening to watch the surfers and the sun set from the lifeguard station. The Lidls is an awful shop and the Co-op in Hayle is much better and not much further away.

We ate at the Red River Inn and the food is very good although not cheap.

Regarding the site, we had an electric pitch which was fine and reasonably level. We had some terrible rain during the first week and the site stayed okay with not too much mud. The wash block was kept very clean with good washing up facilities and even a family bathroom. There are also areas to wash down wetsuits etc. There are Goats and Guinea Pigs for the kids plus an outside Table Tennis table and a sandpit. No swings etc here.

Overall we very much enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting a beach holiday away from the hussle and bussle of a typical seaside resort. If you want this then St Ives is only a short trip in the car and well worth a visit.

Previous     246 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review wo win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (West)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Kampa Portaflush 10 Portable Toilet! Win a 655ltr Waterproof Rooftop Bag worth £239

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 16th to 19th August, E Yorks
World's biggest tribute band festival. Family friendly. Discounted tickets and a chance to win some ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2560 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




1.8633