Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Flodabay Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Isle Of Harris > Flodabay Farm Reviews

Flodabay Farm
4 Flodabay
Isle Of Harris
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS3 3HA
Tel: 01859 530353  or  07767 751847
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 3
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 131 Reviews
                10/10 from 131 Reviews

Photos (15)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  131 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rexxie 30 reviews from this member

 This site is unique!

3 pitches with electric hook up as previously described. Chemical toilet disposal available but no wc/shower facilities Felt like wild camping with luxury extras!.

We had a pitch overlooking the sea -lots to observe-saw seals but not the elusive otter in the Loch. You feel as if you are on the moon -the landscape is so different.

The owners are working hard to provide a fantastic experience for their visitors. Fresh herbs planted near to the pitches for use of campers. Tony's own sausages and salmon were delicious-the salmon presented ready to cook in foil -what a treat! You can also buy eggs, bacon which are home

Produced. Tony will also do evening meals at the farm b and b if given sufficient notice.

The roads to the site are hilly and windy with rather sheer looking drops at time but well worth the journey.

We also enjoyed lunch at a cafe/gallery near Geocrab- a few mies away.

Would highly recommend -think larger caravans would struggle getting up here-ideal for motorhomes. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: IBeck 1 review from this member

 Great site, overlooking the sea (ask for a pitch at the front). On a good day Skye is visible - we never saw it!. Our host, Tony, was very approachable and nothing was too much trouble. The site has space for 3 vans with electric hook up, water and waste facilities. Dogs are accepted - there are 40 acres of fenced off moor with two lochs for fishing and otter watching if you're lucky. The site is near Tarbert and Leverburgh, so handy for the ferries.

Despite the weather we enjoyed this site and we were certainly made to feel very welcome. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Johnandsueh 1 review from this member

 A truly wonderful site-magnificent views and magical position overlooking the bay. We had booked one night and stayed for three. The owner could not have been more helpful and attentive. He even delivered an excellent evening meal which he had prepared himself (he was a chief in a previous life) to our van -shellfish and locally caught salmon and pollack, not to mention home made chocolate brownies. First class! We enjoyed walks and bike rides around this quiet and enchanting island - I'm sure we' ll return. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: JohnRW 4 reviews from this member

 A fascinating site with great views. Perhaps a bit windswept but very quiet.

The owner cannot do enough for you. We ran out of gas and he sent us off to enjoy ourselves whilst he got us a cylinder. What a great guy.

We arrived on site on a wet afternoon and it started to snow. Fancy waking up next day with snow on the hills and a cuckoo singing!

We can recommend staying here.

The eggs are good too.

Pity we did not see any otters but the seals were playing in the harbour. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Army 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 3 nights over the Easter holidays. The site is absolutely fantastic, there is hardstanding for 3 caravans or motor homes, two of the pitches over look the Minches and the Isle of Skye. The views on a clear day are stunning, and so is the wild life. We watched seals basking in the sun down in the bay, and there is a resident eagle that passes by almost every day.

There is electric, water, and chemical waste disposal, and your own picnic table. What more could you want?

The owners of the site are very friendly and accommodating and made sure that everything was OK for us. They sell home produce including eggs, sausage, and bacon and it's good!

The Isle of Harris provides some very contrasting scenery from the amazing Caribbean like beaches on the west and the very harsh rocky moonscape on the east. Never been anywhere like this before ever.

Would highly recommend this site if you find yourself in these parts. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Iain Trayner 1 review from this member

 Great site, absolutely beautiful. It's got everything you would want in a Hebridean campsite, 23amp hook ups, water supply, waste disposal. The trout lochs are very peaceful and a pleasure to fish - they are also suitable for swimming in the summer, as is the bay itself. The view from the 2 front pitches is astounding, it was our first trip in a caravan and we will definitely be back! Tony was very helpful, met us at the gates and guided us up the steep gravel road to the site. Thanks for a great weekend. 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stewandjan 1 review from this member

 Incredible location, to die for, perched on hillside overlooking the Minches. Waste disposal, water on site and electric hookup. Just room for two places on the front. Lochs for trout fishing close by and sea fishing possibilities close by. Owner can't do enough for you - home baking, fishing rods, advice and word of a small golf range among the heather and an upcoming toilet facility! It's a must. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Katedrew 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed at Flodabay farm for 5 days. The site is at the top of a steep drive but the views are stunning - overlooking the Minch and Isle of Skye.

The site is in 30 acres of unspoilt scottish countryside, together with two lochs which can be fished if required. There is Water and Electricity available and Tony is currently arranging for Chemical Waste disposal point to be installed.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, as did our two little dogs. The owners really looked after us, supplying us with fresh farm eggs, prepared fresh Herrings and home made Oat Cakes - best we have tasted - he once was a Chef!

For anyone visiting Harris we would certainly recommend the site. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mrs kelly 1 review from this member

 We stayed at Flodabay farm for three nights in June of this year. It is a small family pitch which can take three motorhomes. The little site is at the top of a steep hill but the motorhome climbed it easily. On reaching the top you have the most stunning view over the bay to the mainland.

The site has electricity, and water is provided by Tony and Sharon from their croft at the bottom of the hill whenever needed.

At the moment there are no elsan facilities but that's not a problem as the ferry terminal at Leverburgh has chemical toilet facilities and is only a 15 min drive, so not a problem.

Tony and Sharon are very friendly and accommodating. They have fresh eggs and we were given mackerel freshly caught which was delicious. Would return again with no hesitation. An excellent base for exploring the island. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Loulou56 1 review from this member

 We stayed at Flodabay farm for six nights, and as the previous review said the access was very steep, but once on the site the views are magnificent, the site has only two EHU and Tony was adding an extra one when we were there.

There are areas for camping and as previous review said Tony has further plans in the pipeline.

Tony and Sharon were very welcoming and could not do enough for us, if we needed water he would fetch it for us, (he also lent us his fishing rod - for which we lost his spinner in the loch)

The produce that they sold - home reared bacon and sausages with free range eggs the colour of the yolks being almost 'orange', we were also able to buy freshly caught fish.

As previous review no local shops, the nearest was approx 15 mins away or if you wanted to shop at Tescos it is in Stornaway approx 1 hour +

The highlight of the week for my husband was swimming in the bay with Tonys son and the seals, a tad cold but worth it.

If you are happy with peace and quiet, and golden sandy beaches, little and at times no traffic then you should give it a try.

A fantastic holiday from the welcome, the views and the peace, all run by a Peter Kay double, both Tony and Sharon deserve to do well and success with their venture 


Previous     131 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Flodabay Farm child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Flodabay Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Flodabay Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Isle Of Harris      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4407 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement