Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Highlands End Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Bridport > Highlands End Holiday Park > Reviews

Highlands End Holiday Park
Eype
Bridport
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT6 6AR
Tel: 01308 426912
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 180
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 132 Reviews
                9/10 from 132 Reviews

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  132 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Reviewer: Moomin2 1 review from this member

 August 2005
Just returned from a fantastic week at Highlands End. I was a little worried about some of the reviews I had read about high winds at the site. However we were lucky, the sun shone for the whole week.
We were in a tent.
The site was spotlessly clean. The groundsmen and cleaning staff were continuely working to maintain the very high standards.
Reception Staff were very helpful.
Shower block was immaculate with excellent free hot showers. One of the blocks even had music playing!!
Large level pitches with fantastic views.
Leisure centre was clean.Nice Pool. Childrens play areas were great with lots of grassy areas for games etc.
Club room provided entertainment. Large airy room that did allow dogs in. (good for us because we had 2 golden retrievers with us.)
Excellent dog exercising field. Direct access from site to coastal paths. It's about 15 minutes each way to either West Bay or Eype.
This was probably one of the best sites we have visited and we will definitely be returning next year. 


Reviewer: Morag MacDoodle 20 reviews from this member

 July 2005
Stayed for four nights in our tent.
Great site with lots of attention to detail. The local town of Bridport has a good range of shops, including an outdoor shop in case you forget anything.
Take windbreaks if the weather looks like it might get a little less than perfect.. It gets a little bit windy from time to time.
I have no hesitation in recommending this site to anyone, whether they have small children or slightly older children.
Enjoyed my stay and would go again. 


Reviewer: MadFrank 21 reviews from this member

 March 2005
I've just come back from Highlands End after a week away at Easter in the caravan. A perfectly good site that I would happily go back to.

With all the rain that we had some of the tent pitches got VERY wet with standing water to the extent that a couple of pitches had several inches of water because it couldn't run away.

The swimming pool is a traditional up and down with no slides etc. to keep the kids happy......

The bar and restaurant are a little dated in decoration - but perfectly clean and tidy. Menu reasonable - bar OK - try the Golden Cap Whisky if that is your thing - it's not a bad blend.

Those of you with large caravans beware that the hardstanding plots are NOT that generous in length. It took a good three or four attempts to get my van on the plot (and I'm quite good at the old reversing lark) because the rows of caravans facing each other are quite close. My van (7.5m nose to tail) overhung the concrete pad by a good 2 or 3 feet.

The access to the site has now been dramatically improved - the old access was up a 500m single track road with no passing spaces and a sharp 90 degree left turn up a steep hill. A new road has been built through an adjoining field that cuts out all these problems. If you are coming from the Bridport by-pass (turning siged for Eype) make sure that you take the 4th left up the lane rather than the 3rd left in the older brochures. They haven't put a sign up for the new entrance yet so you are still directed up the old road.

Great views from the campsite of West Bay and the whole coast in general.

Eype is easily walkable - West Bay is a 10 minute walk along the coast path - Bridport is about a mile away by road - turn right out of the capmpsite entrance and go down the hill (safeways is at the bottom.

Only two toilet blocks which may get a little busy in peak periods.

Area 2 is the bit immediately below the whote rows of static caravans. Bar and restuarant are at the top of the picture. 


Reviewer: Hodgson.clan 2 reviews from this member

 May 2004
My family and I have stayed at Highlands End three times in Bridport, Dorset and I would highly recommend it. As the mum of teenagers it has good facilities, exceptionally clean toilets and shower facilities. Lovely walks and reasonably priced. I hope to return again soon. 


Reviewer: Piggy49 14 reviews from this member

 June 2004
What a great site and the views are outstanding. The facilities were kept spotless and there are plenty of showers and toilets. The tent pitches are very spacious and level. Site has a bar / restaurant which seemed very popular with the other campers, only visited once though just to see what it was like. All in all a great site and I would definately recommend it.  

Advertisement

Reviewer: Claire

 August 2003
What a fantastic site!!

Just spent four great days there and didn't want to leave.

Spectacular views, great pitches, loads to do.

Can't wait to return, would recommend this site to anyone.. :o)xx 


Reviewer: Jeremy Booker

 July 2003
I must agree with all the other reviews. It is a fantastic location - views are awesome in good weather. Facilities are great too.
However, I must stress, the weather is such a huge factor with this campsite. We only managed two nights of a 7 night holiday on this site due to high winds - WHICH MUST NOT BE UNDERESTIMATED. If weather can be guaranteed then its fabulous. 


Reviewer: Mark Glenn 7 reviews from this member

 July 2003
This park is as clean, well presented & picuresque as all the other reviews state. We especially enjoyed the walk along the coastal path into West Bay for a pint & fish & chips in the evening.
The on-site club provided reasonable quality food (especially sunday lunch) but was a little thin on entertainment for children.
We only used the swimming pool once as there is a ban on diving, jumping-in & any type of inflatable toy, so our four year old was soon bored.
I don't think that the other reviews emphasize enough that the cliff top location does attract extreme weather conditions. Speaking to the staff, they maintain that it is a beautiful location; in the nice weather. Indeed, the notice in reception states 'NO REFUNDS DUE TO POOR WEATHER'.
We would consider going back to this park, but would keenly keep an eye on the forecast before setting-off. 


Reviewer: laura 51 reviews from this member

 march 2000
would just like to add... amazing dinosaur fossils on the beach! my son brought home about five 


Reviewer: Bill 2 reviews from this member

 June 2003
Got got back from 2 days at Highlands End and the site is everything the other reviewers have mentioned.

Views are terrific and the shower blocks clean and tidy. The site itself is well maintained and the club a good size for family groups though we never got to use the pool or other facilities. If you are going at short notice and know it is going to be very blowy, then be prepared as it's at the top of the cliffs and exposed, but the payback are the views. We had no such problems and had two good evenings barbecueing outside and will be going back again. 


Previous     132 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Highlands End Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Highlands End Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Highlands End Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Highlands End Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bridport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4216 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement