Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Lyme Regis > Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park
Rousdon
Lyme Regis
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT7 3XW
Tel: 01297 442227
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 143 Reviews
                9/10 from 143 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  143 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TracyJerram 16 reviews from this member

 This was the second time we have stayed here with our friends and all of our children. This is a great site for people with young children. There is a good play area, which most of the pitches surround, so you can comfortably sit outside your tent happy that your little ones are safe. The staff are quietly helpful and non-obtrusive and the shop stocks the essentials.

Our only moan was the weather before we arrived. Two months of solid rain had left it's toll on the campsite. The barked areas under the swings and climbing frames were flooded over a foot deep. Our pitches were thick slime and we had no choice but to put the tents up on it. However, we were lucky the sun came out, and dried all the mud/silt to a fine white powder. However, a phone call from the site before arrival to for warn us would have been nice.

Convenient for Lyme Regis and Seaton. We will return again as the children had a fantastic time. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Allhappycampers 1 review from this member

 This was a great camp site with friendly staff, good clean toilets and showers with hot water. The pitches were level and some surrounded the safe childrens play area. A good idea if you have young ones to keep an eye on. This was our first camping trip as a family (2 young children) and we all really enjoyed it, this site had everything you need. Within a short drive you have lots of entertainment i.E beaches, rockpools, fossiling etc, a great site, we couldn't fault it. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dodo1 1 review from this member

 Very clean and flat site. Two sets of toilets/showers. Both always clean. Always plenty of hot water. The only thing was that the hairdryer wasn't working at that time. But hand dryers available.  We were in the non-electric area which was not very busy, therefore plenty of space. Drinking water taps all over the area which is very convenient. There is a nice little kids' playground a crazy golf ground. We didn't walk around the surroundings, so I cannot comment on the proximity of shops/pubs etc. By car, Lyme Regis is about 5mins drive. The site also has a small shop that sell all the basic stuff like milk, bread, toiletries etc. They also a freezer for ice pack. Overall lovely clean site and friendly, helpful staff. Recommended! 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Misstinkertrain 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a week in a touring caravan with friends in a tent. They were really helpful and pitched us next to each other. The site was really flat which was nice. All the staff were really nice.

There's crazy golf onsite for a mere 50p which is good fun.
The shop stocks the essentials and some treats too.

It's a big site, but really well layed out. There's a few shower blocks although the toilets are in the same room as the showers, they're like proper bathrooms so you find there's often queues in the morning. Push button showers, but they stay on for ages and you can press as many times as you like, they're lovely & warm.
The nearest pub is about a mile away, but we never went, we were happy around the site.

Lyme Regis is only a couple of miles away which is a lovely little town with a nice beach.
We will be staying here again in the future. Lovely well maintained site. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Schofield 2 reviews from this member

 Have to agree with all the previous reviews. We have already booked again for this year and for next (this campsite requires advance booking as they get fully booked for many weeks during the year advice book early.) We had the most amazing stay at the shrubbery.  We are a family with two young children and require a high level of cleanliness. This site ticks all the boxes, not only have they plenty of showers and toilets but they are also really clean. They also have a family bathroom which has a full sized bath which was great to use when returning from the beach (only £1 absolute bargain).
 
They also have a really fantastic large play area and crazy golf which the children loved.
 
Even though the site was busy, the tents are carefully spaced with a reasonable distance between them and the site is nice and level.  The shop is well stocked and they have a good laundrette.
 
The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and take pride in their campsite nothing is too much trouble.
 
The jurassic bus stops right outside and takes you anywhere along the coastline, regular service and extremely reasonable.  There is also a social club nearby if you don't want to drive or Lyme Regis is 5 minutes in the car. 
 
My advice would be book early to avoid disappointment, this site is very well priced and in a fantastic location to visit the jurassic coastline HAPPY CAMPING.            

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lucya 1 review from this member

 This was our maiden camping trip so I did heaps of research (mainly on this website) and luckily it paid off, this is a great site for families.  We have two small boys (aged 3 & 5) and they loved the large play area. The tent field surrounds it so we could see them most of the time and they loved the freedom of being able to run off and play by themselves.  The weather was sunny most of the time but rain the previous week did mean a lot of the site was very boggy. When we arrived though the friendly staff were very helpful in helping us find a dry pitch. 

There are three shower blocks, all quite new and there was never a queue. There is a shop that sells pretty much everything you forget including fresh bread and milk. A great bonus for us, a family bathroom (with bath) can be hired for £1 if your kids are shower-phobic like ours! The tent field is next to the road so there is some noise but we quickly got used to it. 

We loved Lyme Regis, but get there early in the day if you want to park close to town (though there is a park & ride).   It's much more chilled early on, and the boys loved fossil hunting there - plus they have one of the few sandy beaches in the area.  There are also plentiful cafes and a quaint dinosaur/fossil museum (Dinosaurland).  Lots of other great beaches but take your beach shoes as many of them are shingle/pebbly and pretty painful!  The caves at Beer are worth a look (but take a jumper) and Dorchester was great if you need some major shopping, we also went there for the cinema on a very wet day - not realising there was a cinema in Lyme Regis.
 
A great site, we'll definitely go there again when next down that way. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Sandbanks9 4 reviews from this member

 Outstanding site, friendly owners, clean, many great facilities including laundry, kiddies safe play area, lots of toilets and showers, shop selling basic but reasonably priced items, even a dedicated dog walk! I have to say that in 3 years this is the best site yet 10/10 (voted for by me (62 year old lady) a Westie called Harvery and Yorkie called Biorg). I forgot to say its mostly flat and the surrounding scenery is beautiful - and sunsets just gorgeous. The only downside is the bus service but if you have transport no problem. Lyme Regis is a unforgettable quaint seaside town but very hilly.
 
  


Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Happy hippy 12 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site, with clean facilities. The staff are very friendly and helpful. A lot of pitches over look the play park, which is a nice park with plenty to keep the kids entertained. We were on the non electric side which is by the busy road, but you get used to the noise which at night isn't very much. Very well placed site for the jurasic coast. Are going again this year, I would highly recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Patrick family 2 reviews from this member

 We spent a fantastic week at the shrubbery site to be recommended to any camper. We had an electric hookup pitch which was spacious, peaceful and private (on edge of site). All facilities extremely clean. New block for shop, laundry etc superb.
The biggest asset ( one of many) that this site has are the owners and staff- they are very friendly and helpful - nothing is too much trouble. They even found us wonderful kennels that day boarded our dog whilst we were on the beach!
The facilities for children are excellent and its a very safe site
Superb location for visiting both Devon and Dorset attractions. We will definitely be visiting again 


Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MPBurns 1 review from this member

 What a fantastic holiday! The site is clean and tidy with very friendly staff. Just round the corner is a socal club in the old church. We were made very welcome and they have a room full of FREE games for the children. There are two toilet blocks which were always immaculate. There was also a children's play area and mini golf.

We recommend you use the park and ride when visiting Lyme Regis. It's very reasonable and drops/collects from the Cobb. We have booked again for next August. Even though the site was full, there was absolutely nothing to complain about. 


Previous     143 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Shrubbery Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lyme Regis      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5969 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement