Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Linwater Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > East Calder > Linwater Caravan Park Reviews

Linwater Caravan Park
West Clifton
Edinburgh
East Calder
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH53 0HT
Tel: 0131 3333326
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 146 Reviews
                9/10 from 146 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  146 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Phildunsford 4 reviews from this member

 I have returned to caravanning after a break of nearly 40 years - been boating!

I accept that the days of wild camping are over and anyway, I need a shower and electricity these days. Linwater really took me back in that although it was a middle sized site it gave one a real feeling of freedom. Jean is unique. Until I found otherwise I thought that she was in her first season and enjoying the 'honeymoon' period.

Needless to say, we shall return. Linwater is the only large site that is better than the tiny sites that are our usual choice. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Grahamcomrie 1 review from this member

 My wife and I visited Linwater this week, we just came back yesterday, and I thought I must pass on the good news about Linwater. After negotiating the Newbridge roundabout, the road took us through part of an industrial estate, which would lead you to believe that you were not in for anything special. Oh! how wrong you could be. On entering the park we were met by Jean and a more warm welcome you couldn't get; warm, welcoming and proffessional.

The site was always well managed during our 3 day stay. Contact could be made with Jean anytime as she carried a phone with her. Free calls were available to this phone via the onsite phone box, a great idea.

Although the weather wasn't great I'm sure that if Jean could have done something about that she would pull out all the stops.

Toilets & showers were excellent, info in shop for surrounding attractions was excellent. Produce for sale included, fresh strawbwerries, ice-cream, confectionery, hens & duck eggs. Newspapers and morning rolls, bacon, milk etc could be pre-ordered the night before.

Some reviews have mentioned the noise from the planes and the cockerel at sunrise, but this is a very minor issue, and come-on we are in a rural area that has all the amenities and places of interest that you could wish for a holiday either for families, couples or people passing through.

Linwater a must visit site.! 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Kikikiriki 3 reviews from this member

 What a brilliant site.

Everything is well laid out. The campsite is small and intimate so you don't feel like you are in camping city. The pitches are generous and the prices are a BARGAIN!

All facilities: loos, showers, dishwashing, were up to scratch and better including FRESH flowers in the bathrooms!

And, Jean was as everyone has described: hospitable, cheerful, chatty, helpful. We'll be recommending this one, for sure. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pam mcc pig 5 reviews from this member

 We first stayed on this site the year it opened - can't believe ten years later Jean is still as cheerful as she was then, she also does not look any older! This year we introduced our Photographic group to Linwater, all have years of motor caravanning behind them - they were all bowled over by the standard & facilities of the site. With recommendation from Jean, I phoned the local Chinese with a complicated order for 19, this was delivered to our pitch without a hitch at the time promised. Now, apart from The Castle, St Giles and various National Trust Properties, the royal yacht Britannia can now be seen in Edinburgh! WE WILL BE BACK! 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Capt Lightning 41 reviews from this member

 This site is a real gem and if you are visiting Edinburgh - this is the one to choose. If you want to travel into the city, the Park & Ride is only a few miles away, or you can walk to the bus stop. The Gyle shopping centre and Hermiston Gait are easily accessable and have loads of free parking.

For a great meal and/or drink, the Bridge Inn is only a couple of miles away in Ratho. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 2x40 plus+2teens 3 reviews from this member

 Linwater is a beautiful site, close to nature with a country park bordering it, walks for all and scenery to die for.
We stayed here three times in 2007 and were always welcomed and remembered from the previous visits. On site the facilities are second to none; immaculate is the only word to describe this site, inside and out. The owners are always smiling, whatever the weather but when you live in paradise I guess it comes naturally.

Locally there is the small town within 5 minutes drive providing all groceries, a chemist and the usual local take aways and if you're lucky you can buy fresh fish from the van by the Co-op. Excellent pub and restaurant too and you can walk the distance easily. We saw wildlife; rabbits, pheasants, jays, all kinds of birds and the journey to Edinburgh is within 20 minutes. We will definitely return time and time again and I recommend this site to everyone. 


Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gm0hcq 7 reviews from this member

 Just spent a delightful weekend at Linwater. Well signposted from the Newbridge Roundabout and good easy road (although busy during the working week)to access the site.

Owner could not have been more helpful or friendly, one of the best receptions to a site I have ever had. Small office/shop is open from 0800 to 2100 and owner only to happy to come and assist. The site will provide milk, rolls and papers if required, need to advise the night before.

The Calders (East and West) are only a short drive and there is a good range of small shops, pubs and take-aways should you not want to cook.

Facilities excellent, very clean toilet and shower blocks.

Easy access for Edinburgh, if you don't want to drive all the way into the city then you have a choice of two park and ride facilities, one near to the airport and the other at Hermiston Gate, adjacent to the A71.

I would highly recommend this site and whilst only living in Perth will be back the next time I am spending time in Edinburgh. 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sullivan2007 25 reviews from this member

 This is the friendliest site we've ever been to. Nice and small; brilliant shower block; tent pitches with EHU big enough for an Outwell Nebraska XL.

Only downsides are the noise and the washing up area. I worry that if the wind changed direction, there wouldn't be enough shelter when washing your pots. The noise comes from the planes (though you do get used to them and they're great fun for an almost-2-year-old plane spotter) and that blasted cockerel far too early in the morning! After you get over the initial shock awakening and realise that there isn't a small child being tortured in the next field, it isn't that bad - didn't bother me at all the next morning.

Highly recommended. We will be returning next year, possibly childless for one night to see the Tattoo & staying in one of the 'timbertents'.

Local attractions include a large climbing arena down the road. The site is also in a great position for visiting Murrayfield or the Zoo (don't miss the penguin parade at 2:15!). 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kaki 1 review from this member

 What a super little campsite. Jean, the owner is very friendly and helpful and keeps everything in the site ticking over and in great condition.
You would never know that the site is so near the airport and the location is perfectly placed just outside the city of Edinburgh.
Services and amenities are second to none and there are great pitches available. Traveling with young children, toilet and showering facilities are very important to us and we were not disappointed with a spotless and modern shower block.
Staying here was a pleasure for us and we would like to thank Jean for her hospitality. We look forward to returning soon. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jaydee55 10 reviews from this member

 Brilliant site - the best I have been to for a long time. Jean (the owner) couldn't be more helpful. We were on our way home from Devon and she kept a pitch for us even though we weren't sure which day we were arriving.
Site is level with a choice of grass or hard standings and the toilet block is spotless with domestic style shower cubicles.
I wish all sites were like this! We will be back. 


Previous     146 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Linwater Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Linwater Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Linwater Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near East Calder      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lothian

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5959 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement