Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Brecon > Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park
Pencelli
Brecon
Powys   (Browse area)
LD3 7LX
Tel: 01874 665451
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 10th Feb - 30th Nov

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 144 Reviews
                9/10 from 144 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  144 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gaynor Jackson 3 reviews from this member

 Fantastic little site very close to the walking areas of the Brecons.
The facilities were spotless, and complemented by a full drying room which was essential, as boots and waterproofs took a hammering during our visit. Excellent little pub a short walk away. Is very close to main town for supplies. Very pleasant people who run this wonderful site, despite the fact that it was rather expensive.I suppose you get what you pay for, and it certainly hasn't put us off coming again. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Erikcat 1 review from this member

 This was the first camping trip I had taken for over 10 years and found the site fantastic! All facitilites were well maintained and clean, the owners were extremely friendly and helpful and the layout of the site was excellent. Would recommend to anyone! 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rachel Burstow 8 reviews from this member

 This site is 99% perfect ! The rule 'No noise or shouting ' may seem a bit draconian but it means the site is relaxed , friendly and allows everyone to enjoy what we're really there for - sitting on a chair with a glass of wine and a book !

There is an excellent play area for the children and the toilets and showers are fantastic- cleaned twice every 24 hours with classical music playing and family bathrooms with shower,toilet,hairdryer,baby bath and potty .

They've thought of everything a camper in Wales could need , there's a boot and coat drying room where tenters also dried towels , internet access and a useful information room where campers also swapped magazines and books!

The only downside was the shop which is poorly stocked , considering the nearest place to buy any food is Brecon 4 miles away and on alternate days only opens for 2 hours a day.

Overall though a quiet friendly site with spotless facilities where the owners have spent money on giving you a high quality stay 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MysticRaven 1 review from this member

 Our first real camping holiday and have to say that this site really helped to make it a pleasant experience I would want to repeat!
Our pitch in the meadow was a bit far from the loo/shower block (especially at night when you've been drinking lots of water during the hot days and bladder suddenly cries out at 2am!). However, the toilet/shower block was immaculate and absolutely perfect. Fridges/freezers for campers to use, a laundry room and family rooms all made the site very camper friendly.
Being on a bus route to the Storey Arms was a big plus as we caught the bus right to it and walked Corn Ddu, Pen Y Fan and Cribyn although the week we stayed was incredibly hot so we didn't complete the 10 mile trek and instead returned to bus stop to catch bus right back to Pencelli.
The only couple of niggles I have were not directly related to the campsite but more with the unfriendly/unhelpful staff of the local pub and we had managed to book the week when the nearby sheep farmer decided to separate his sheep from the ewes and thus ensued a week of baa baa baa all night long and in the early evenings the farmer was taking some kind of stress release therapy which meant driving around his fields on something small but noisy and cursing and swearing the whole time! haha

However, it just added to the fun I guess and we will certainly be returning to this site again! 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gloversgirl 9 reviews from this member

 This was our first camping trip to Wales and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We stayed for 4 nights in the Meadow field and bar 1 night when there were some excitable youngsters staying it was a very peaceful and relaxing break. At times you didn't feel like you were on a campsite with the amount of wildlife that was around, all you could hear was the sheep and a few ducks. Facilities were very good close to Brecon which has supermarkets and more traditional Welsh shops make it an ideal location. I believe while we were there it was the hottest July day ever and It certainly felt like it, but being on such a chilled and spaced out site we never got too hot under the collar. Overall excellent site and we can see why it wins so many awards. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Farmer-palmer 3 reviews from this member

 Pencelli Castle was a bit more 'commercial' than what we'd normally go for, usually favouring more of a farm/wilderness scene!

We stayed in the Meadow field, furthest away from the shop/facilities complex next to the house. A bike would have been handy, as it was a fair old walk.

Loos & facilities were great, and spotless. Went for a great walk along the canal to Talybont-on-Usk.

I felt we paid for the nice facilities in the entrance fee £8.50 pppn which worked out as £34 for two of us for a weekend. Still £££'s cheaper than a B&B!

Personally I prefer the showers & hot water to be included in the price rather than pay separately with change, so it suited me fine. Shop didn't seem to be open much, but sold some v. Nice local bacon for a Sunday fry up.

There was a farm shop 100 metres away from the camp entrance, but we didn't need anything & didn't visit.

Taxi to Brecon on the Saturday night was only £6 (£7 on way back) but cheap as chips for a car-free evening out.

Only bad point was some noise on the Friday night from a nearby barn conversion across the road from the site. Also the road along the side of the tent field can get a little busy. Both of course, beyond the control of the site owners.

Overall a nice site, immaculately kept, good buzz from international mix of campers and caravanners.

Saw tame ducks and hedgehogs, but didn't see any deer though, but maybe it was their day off! 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Marky154 1 review from this member

 Visited this site for the first time back at the end May (yes the very wet week!)
Despite the weather my wife and I had a fantastic time. The week started well with the owners of the park not treating you with suspicion as some sites seem to do with younger campers. In fact they were very friendly and helpful.
The site is quite small and very peaceful, just right if you are looking to get away from larger sites.
The shower block was fantastic, spotless with plenty of cubicles and private wash basins. The pitches were huge. The site is in an idyllic location on the edge of the Brecon Beacons with plenty to do and see in the area.
This was quite fortunate as original we planned to do a lot of walking however the bad weather limited our opportunities to do this.
I would recommend this site to anyone and plan on going back again and again, hopefully with a bit more sunshine!   


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dmag66 3 reviews from this member

 If you want to get away from it all, this site is for you.  Quiet, clean & safe.  No games room, entertainment or bar on-site, those who need these should look elsewhere.  Wonderful toilet / shower blocks kept spotlessly clean.  Plenty of room in the Meadow for tents only and the site was full.  Although furthest away from the facilities it meant cars moving in / out of site were few and far between.  Excellent for our 2 young children to play safely. Other areas for tourers and hook-ups also looked excellent.  Children's play area was very good.  Pub 2 mins walk.  3 more within 10 min drive in Talybont-on-Usk, where you find a shop selling all you need. 


Date of Visit: February 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Geraintrees 5 reviews from this member

 Arrived on a dark winter's evening to find a most wonderful campsite. Great views, great pitches, toilet block that is cleaner than most people's homes! Flexible and very pleasant owners. A wonderful Welsh welcome ........ Best campsite that we have ever used! 


Date of Visit: September 2005
Reviewer: Anajay 4 reviews from this member

 This is without a doubt the most incredible site we have ever visited. The site is so quiet and the views are phenomonal. The facilities are incredible, cleaned twice a day, with fee hot showers, free hairdryers, private basins, these are by far the cleanest toilets and showers I have ever seen.

In addition they have 2 disabled/family bathrooms with every feature you could possibly need, it's so incredibly well thought out. There is an information room which has maps, leaflets, charts and this contains the 4 upright fridge/freezers that are available to everyone.

There is a laundey room with 2 washers and 2 dryers, even an Iron! There is a drying room, for wet clothes, boots which is ingenious. The washing up room is spotless with even provided dish drainers. There are 2 Chemical disposal points which are extremely well thought out and clean. Drinking water taps sited areound the site, and in the big field even a bike washing point.

The lower field which seems to be designated for tents, contains picnic benches and huge pitches. There is also a shop on site, which is well stocked. The staff were very friendly towards us (which is unusual as we are younger than your average campers and have no kids, We usually meet resistance).

There is a childrens play area and also red deer(they are soo beautiful).

The nearest town is Brecon, which is very close and yet far enough away to not even know it was there. The pub is a 2 minute walk, and the food was lovely, freindly locals.

All in all the most incredible sit we have ever been too.! highly recommend it..... 


Previous     144 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Pencelli Castle Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brecon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6776 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement