Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sykeside Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Sykeside Camping Park
Brotherswater
Patterdale (lake District)
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0NZ
Tel: 01768 482239
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 111
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 132 Reviews
                8/10 from 132 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 10 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  132 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Reviewer: Terrybnd 4 reviews from this member

April 2005
Excellent location!!!!!!

You dont get much better than this!

Sure, the shower block is not too well looked after. but it does the job. the pubs excellent for ales and food but can be pricey.

You're not far to explore further afield in the lakes.

Staff are generally helpful and pleasant.

It has the feel of being part of the landscape and unspoilt.

But the location!!

They say when buying or selling a house.. location, location, location. Any nit pickings are forgiven.

Not too good a site for families. kids may get bored as there are no real facilities for them here. so more a place to relax and for the discerning camper really.

Definately coming back.

Reviewer: Knottrigg 2 reviews from this member

June 2005
Not a good site for those with children. No facilities for kids (swings, slides etc). I came away with the impression that children were tolerated rather than welcomed. Midges are a major problem with this site (my young son was bitten to distraction). The on-site bar was friendly but somewhat overpriced. There was a disgusting smell from the nearby chemical toilet which (along with the ever-present midges) permeated the bar. In view of the facilities, or lack of them, I would say this site is overpriced. On the plus side, it has to be said that, as a base for exploring Dovedale and its environs, it is well situated. I would not use this site again.

Reviewer: Mikbelluk 2 reviews from this member

June 2005
It is a pleasant setting but can be wet in the larger fields, however there are smaller areas which are better drained for smaller tents.

The Barn Door bar has a noisy jukebox and the food is the same price at the Brotherswater Inn across the road [same owners].

The toilets showers are only adequate for the cost [10-25 pn] and there could easily be more taps around the field.

On the 2 occasions I have been to this site [weekends] the stay has been spoiled by drunks carousing into the early hours without any intervention from the site owners. If you are taking children I would advise you to carefully consider where you pitch your tent neighbourwise if you visit this site, certainly dont pitch near the bar or toilet area as it will be noisy.

Reviewer: Jimmy1980 29 reviews from this member

May 2005
The views from this site are absolutely magnificent. It is set amongst many mountains and pretty central to popular places such as Ambleside, Windermere and Keswick.

There was about a 5/10 minute walk along a very well maintained footpath, through a couple of farmers fields to Brotherswater, which is absolutely gorgeous and amazingly relaxing! Never got round to bringing a bottle of wine along to it, but would be ideal thing to do on a lovely summer evening!

The camping field we were in was not waterlogged at all and although the site had signs saying it was full there wasn't a hint of overcrowding.

There are 2 bars on the site. One called the Brotherswater Inn, a very nicely set bar which offered a very good menu although meals were on the pricey side. They serve an array of whiskies and cask ales, which weren't badly priced.

The other, which is linked to the main reception, the Barn End Bar, was also very well presented, again offering a range of ales and a food menu, although we didn't sample or see it!

Probably the worst part of the site was the toilet block. While this was clean; the sinks were very close together with only one small mirror.

The toilet cubicles were a bit small and claustrophobic.

The showers were powerful, but absolutely freezing. Although there is a notice, warning that this may be the case at peak times and the water tanks need to refill, it was beyond being luke warm and was rather unpleasant. The water was so powerful it shot all the way across the shower cubicle and soaked anything on the floor (such as my shoes!) - so make sure your clothes are hung up! This problem may be associated with it being a bank holiday weekend though, so water may be alot warmer when not as busy.

In summary, an excellent location with magnificent views and a lovely walk to Brotherswater, and handy excellent bars - although toilet block could do with a bit of changing!

Reviewer: Debsy 110 reviews from this member

February 2005
This site was just right for us - we were in our motorhome and once we had negotiated the Kirkstone Pass it was all plain sailing! The toilets and showers were fine - didn't go in the pub. The view is great - you are nestled in the valley and the mountains look like ancient volcanoes (which they are aren't they?)!! When we woke up they were usually covered in ice.

There were quite a few hardy souls in tents - you'd have needed to be hardy - it was freezing, raining a bit and really windy - tents were being blown all over the place. I would definitely recommend this site - it was 15 - two kids and with electric.

Reviewer: Rich and linz 1 review from this member

August 2004
Looks like a lovely campsite but not totally sure due to the fact we were only there a few hours (tent poles splintered).

If the weather is hot and dry this campsite would be lovely but not one to go to in bad weather as it is very open with little shelter and quickly becomes very boggy and floods.

Reviewer: JannDave 2 reviews from this member

July 2004
Stunning location with the site being set on the valley floor.
Toilet and shower block is adequate but would benefit from additional cleaning especially at weekends when the site becomes full.
The site is very quiet during the week, but there was some late night noise from adults at weekends.
There is a pub attached to the site with a reasonable range of beers. The meals, however, were overpriced and of a poor standard.
We would return to this site, but only mid-week.

Reviewer: salikj 1 review from this member

August 2004
Just returned from a fabulous holiday in the lakes! We stayed at this site because we stayed here on our last visit 4 yaers ago. The site is very well maintained, the toilets / showers are accessed using a security code, inside they are very clean, and the water and electricity for hairdryers/ shavers are free. The laundry houses washing machines, tumble driers, and the sinks for washing up. There is also a freezer for your ice packs which is also free! The shop is quite expensive, but then you expect that!The 2 pubs on site are very friendly and the food is great.

The camping field is nice and level, there are some more hilly bits around the edge of the field. It was our first camping trip with our 2 year old daughter and she loved it, we found it to be a really friendly site, and really peaceful, nestled between mountains, there are lots of walks you can go on straight from the site. The only negative thing i can say is that we only managed to stay 3 nights out of the 4 that we had booked, as we had some very heavy rain on the last night and the campsite flooded! so we had to pack up at 10.30pm and travel 250 miles home!

Other than that we thoroughly enjoyed it, after all you can't do anything about the weather! We are planning to return next year.

Reviewer: Kevo 2 reviews from this member

September and December 2003
Excellent location. Toilets and shower block good with plenty of hot water, however not cleaned daily and got a bit messy. Food OK at the Inn; ale generally good. Stunning views of the surrounding fells and plenty of walking direct from the campsite. Campsite can get a bit waterlogged - very heavy rain the last weekend of September and the site was badly flooded. There are however tent pitches on higher and slightly sloping ground around the site.

An absolute must for animal lovers - the campsite hosts badgers. They feed on scraps from the pub and can be watched from the inside of the pub. Fantastic! Be warned, however - I lost a packet of chocolate biscuits and a loaf of bread before learning to hide everything away in the car from the black and white chocolate thieves!

Reviewer: Karen S

July 2003
This site has a really good relaxed feel about it and the setting and views are fantastic! The facilities were clean and functional. Loved the on-site Barn End bar for a good cool beer (& they served a mean breakfast!) and Brotherswater Inn makes a nice alternative for more upmarket food.
We'll definately be back...!

Previous     132 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1708 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019