Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lower Lacon Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Wem > Lower Lacon Caravan Park Reviews

Lower Lacon Caravan Park
Soulton Road
Wem
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY4 5RP
Tel: 01939 232376
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 270
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 145 Reviews
                7/10 from 145 Reviews

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  145 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Parsnip 9 reviews from this member

 Stayed here on Saturday and Sunday night over the bank holiday weekend.  Not a site we would usually pick, not having children, however we left it late to book and they were able to fit us in on a field without electric hookup.  To be honest, I was dreading what I would find being 'fit in' and imagined that we would have to squeeze the caravan into the smallest space left on site.  I was very pleasantly surprised to find that they hadn't overcrowded the tent field and there were lots of spaces between caravans and tents.
 
The site was quiet at night and we enjoyed the Sunday night in the adult bar (over 18's only).  This was quite an aged mobile building, but it served its purpose.  We had to leave the bar at 10.30 to walk up to the other end of the site where the chippy is (and the children's/family barn which appeared newly built) to catch it before it shut at 11pm.  However, we got there at 10.45pm and it was already closed.  Very disappointed.  The literature says that it can close early depending on demand, but there were others there with us who had wanted to get food.
 
We had a walk into Wem which is about 25 gentle stroll.  Would go back again to do more exploring off site.  Staff and wardens very helpful and friendly. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Houndwalker 9 reviews from this member

 Very large site with plenty of amenities. The staff were very friendly and the wardens were always on hand. The barn had a disco on which we couldn't hear from our tent in the red area. The barrier system makes the site feel secure. You need to leave on time or the barrier key will lock you in so be warned! Will be back again. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Natureboy99 1 review from this member

 I agree with other comments. The animals are noisy especially the cockerels first thing in  the morning. Toilets were very clean.
I went in a two man tent with my 2 young daughters for a 4 day break last summer. They enjoyed the disco although it was a bit empty. I believe they are building a newer extension to the club.
The ground is an old army base so yes the ground is very hard. The crazy golf could do with new concrete and the club needs to be open longer hours.
Cafe/takeaway is very reasonable and the pool is warm once the sun has been on it for a a while.
Electric hooks a plenty. Play area fine. Would go again. 


Date of Visit: April 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RobertsClan 9 reviews from this member

 Visited here for the Easter weekend. It was the first time we had been camping to a site with entertainment and were wary as to how noisy the site would be.
 
We were pleasantly surprised to find that when we chose not to go to the disco we didn't hear any noise from where we camped and once the disco had finished then generally the campsite settled down for the night.
 
My younger children loved the animals and now think we should only camp where they are animals to be found!
 
The owners of the site were fantastic and when our gas bottle ran out one evening after the shop had shut opened up and changed it for us. When we camped there was part of the field which was soft and even though it was signposted my other half got stuck in the mud. The owners very kindly towed him our with a tractor.
 
The only thing we weren't happy with were the shower facilities the site was very busy and you frequently had to queue.
 
Apart from that a nice site in a lovely area  


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Selina_chris 3 reviews from this member

 My family visited the site over the Bank holiday weekend. It was our first time using our caravan, so didn't want to go to far!  Got to the site, was welcomed with excellent staff, shown to our pitch, all in a matter of ten minutes. We had a hard standing pitch, ground was a little uncared for, but that was the only problem with our stay.
Showers were clean, noise was low (park was fully booked) and our boys loved waking up facing the animals. Overall a great place to stay. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tomo50 27 reviews from this member

 Booked 4 nights here and only stayed 1! The childrens entertainment and adult bar are miles apart! The adult bar wasn't open during the week (AUGUST!) The childrens 'barn' was a BARN. Cold, Damp, Dark and Dirty. The cafe only opened for breakfast 9.30am - 11.30am and the take away closed at 1.45pm! To get to the loo you had to walk through woods - children were petrified! Ouside (heated?) pool - it was warmer out than in! The only good point was the staff - they did refund our money when we explained we wanted to leave - after offering a credit note 1st!  


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kayleighc123 5 reviews from this member

 First impressions of the site were not great as there were many caravans and statics there that looked very untidy and various animals enclosures dotted about. But overall a very nice site.
The field that we stayed in was quite a trek to a toilet / shower block but there were always facilities available and they were cleaned regularly.
The disco seemed very popular with kids, teenagers and adults and there was food available outside. The music did stop at a reasonable time - around 11pm. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the shop was well equipped with food, cool drinks and camping items.
We were also given a swipe card to enter the site which made you feel that bit safer! I agree that the ground there is very hard, but some spots are ideal. I must admit that there is room for improvement. More toilet facilities, washing up facilities etc, but other than that a good site! 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: B.Reid 2 reviews from this member

 Having read the previous reviews we were a little bit apprehensive when we arrived at the campsite. As this was our first camping trip alone, we had decided on a fairly local site and this one seemed to have it all. Taking our 14 year old son and his friend, we were praying that they wouldn't get bored and that we could get a nice peaceful couple of days.

On arrival we were greeted by the friendly staff in the shop and were told that a steward would be waiting at our pitch to help us get sorted. The site security was very good with a "swipe" system for the barrier. We were also given an information pack with the cafe, take away, bar and club opening and closing times. We were a far way from the man entrance but were very close to the nearest toilets, waste bins ad clean water points. The steward was very good in that when we got to the pitch, it was still a little muddy from all of the recent heavy rain. The pitch next door was a lot better and he said that we could use that one instead. While setting up,we got the boys to check out the facilities which they approved of ( thank goodness!).

The cafe/takeaway was very reasonably priced as was the shop. Although we were quite close to "The Barn" and we could hear the music, it wasn't too intrusive and was promptly shut at 11PM. A bit of a moan now as we were woken quite early the following morning by a fleet of concrete lorries arrived. I suppose if they are improving the site, this sort of thing must be tolerated. Apparently they are building a new bigger barn.

We didn't fancy the disco that was being held that night so after a quite enjoyable meal from the take away we settled down for a quiet night with a couple of beers while the boys went out for a couple of hours. It got a little rowdy around 11 PM, again the disco finished promptly. But within 20 minutes or so all was quiet. All in all a nice pleasant site.

The toilets were cleaned on a regular basis the facilities in general were good and the shop wasn't over priced. We bought 4 cans of Stella for £4.36 which is only marginally more than we'd pay at home. The reviews which said about poor hygeine must have been really unlucky. Yes, the ground is hard, but we only had plastic pegs and as long as you have a bit of patience and are prepared to try different spots to hammer your pegs in then you'll be ok. There did seem to be a lot of vans that appeared to have been there a long time which had moss,/ mould growing on them but if you are only there for a few days this shouldn't deter you from going. As I mentioned earlier, this was our very first camping trip and we had a good time. Hope you do too. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Powly6742 3 reviews from this member

 High expectations from a £17/night fee. how wrong were we. My wife and I and my two cousins stopped for three nights over the bank holiday weekend and was disappointed from the get go. As with many other reviews the ground in places was rock hard forcing my cousin to take a trip out and buy new pegs. The site was very poorly maintained with some sections looking like a builders yard. With the strange menagerie of animals on site it sounded like a farmyard first thing in the morning. The swimming pool was advertised as a heated pool but was opened only when the weather was good. On a positive note the shop was very well stocked and the staff in there were very nice but this site was let down by lack of care and attention and a very strange layout 


Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: S.Ball 15 reviews from this member

 Just to inform everyone beware of the ground here, it is solid rock! We needed rock pegs. Great site for families though, play area brilliant and the children loved the out door swimming pool! There are lots of long term residents with trailer tents which seem to have been pitched for years! 


Previous     145 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lower Lacon Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Lower Lacon Caravan Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lower Lacon Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Lower Lacon Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wem      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1606 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement